Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Eiradirian Wormfare

by blay09 - Jam Entry

Important: Go say hello to Old Pierre. Seriously. He'll give you the minimap, which is essential to beating this game (I know, that's bad design, it was a last-minute derp I made)

Note: I added a post-jam tutorial screen that appears on ESC as people were getting stuck before even reaching the first level. Feel free to consider that during rating.

=== Controls ===
- Movement: A & D or Arrow Keys
- Jump: Up, W, Space
- Active Ability: T
- Passive Ability: G
- Aim: Mouse
- Shoot: LMB
- Quick-Ability: Right-Click
- Reset Level: Hold R for 5 Seconds

== Jump/Climb Techniques ==
Blay09
- Shotgun-Jump: Aim down. Jump. Right after jumping, shoot.
- Optionally, stand on a teammates head
- Optionally, activate the Gravity Manipulator (Passive Ability)

Konrad
- Jump against wall. Walljump.
- Optionally, use your sword (Active Ability) right after jumping to boost it.
- Activate shield (Passive Ability) to cross a force field without dying instantly.

Marius
- Activate Rocket Boots (Passive Ability). Jump infinitely.

== Fighting Techniques ==
Blay09:
- Shoot shotgun. Kill.
- Activate Gravity Control. Absorb turret fire.

Konrad:
- Shoot pistols. Kill.
- In close range, use swords (Active Ability). Destroy.

Marius:
- Shoot machinegun. Kill.
- In close range, use smalltalk (Active Ability). Have a nice conversation with the enemy. Have your teammates kill them.

== Background Story ==

In a world of never ending virtual warfare, the Illarion Corporation had suffered from increasing attacks by a high tech terrorist team of virtual reality hackers, calling themselves Eiradir.

The Eiradirians technological mastermind, Blay, invented a device which allowed his partner, a cybernetically enhanced warrior, Konrad Knox, travel the timestream, and be many places at the same time. This devastating attack allowed them to destroy the fortified headquarters of the Illarion corporation, and forced the leadership to retreat.

With assistance of Rico, Blay's virtual android, and the charming corporate spy known as The Romanian, the Eiradirians gained financial support and resources for their battle.

Base after base, the Illarion megacompany was losing ground until there was nowhere else to go... but underground!

Falsely believed to have been destroyed, the Illarion forces established a massive underground network of power plants, research facilities, and security structures, razing everything in their path.

When Sebastian, a friendly young worm, of the WormsWeave Village, gets lost and emerges on the surface, he meets The Romanian and tells him of the evil invaders.

The Romanian has no idea that Illarion is behind this, but decides to take pity on the cute friendly worm and promises to help.

He contacts his deranged, psychotic partners.

== Credits ==
Programming: Blay09
Writing: Konrad
Graphics: Konrad (+ others)
Music: Konrad (+ Others)

Intro Song: "Heart of Machine" by Alexandr Zhelanov (OpenGameArt.org)

This game uses assets from the Kenney Donation Pack:
http://kenney.itch.io/kenney-donation

This game uses assets by the following artists from OpenGameArt.org:
SpriteAttack
para
bart
scenna
nkorth
Alexandr Zhelanov

Rude Bear belongs to Alex Rose (don't sue me dood).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#154Humor(Jam)3.19
#252Audio(Jam)3.33
#305Innovation(Jam)3.16
#316Overall(Jam)3.30
#358Mood(Jam)3.08
#388Graphics(Jam)3.35
#441Fun(Jam)2.88
#477Theme(Jam)2.95

Comments

thegunmaster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:27pm

really nice game although i didn't play it much as i am really only into puzzle games it seems really cool, the intro scared me away a little though... and it was a bit anoying that esc stopped the game instead of showing a menu screen

Konrad Knox says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:52pm

A bit of flavor to help better understand what this game is about: Well, the name "Wormfare" is a play on words "worm" and "warfare", so expect plenty of gunfights, as this is a 3-character tactical puzzle-shooter.

Albeit being written in haste, the plot of this game is a meta-plot that tells, in allegoric form, a story from real life, about three naughty gamers who were exiled from a certain online roleplaying game for doing naughty things.

This game offers a different perspective on the event surrounding a ban of a troublesome player, presented as a villain. In the Eiradirian franchise, you step into the villain's shoes, and from that point of view, you are the liberating hero, and everyone who plays the game by the rules are slaves to the almighty oppressor.
(Creators of this game do not promote, support, and/or endorse hacking and/or terrorism in real life :))))

----

Abilities in the game that each character has represent the actual abilities we were able to give ourselves in that other game.

Each character has a unique set of abilities.

Konrad is the tough and mobile fighter. He has more health than others, and an inherent ability to parkour up the walls.
His Active ability (T) - is a sword, allowing him to deal very swift justice in close range, and also boosting his jump height if you time it right. It has a cooldown.
His Passive ability (G) - is a short duration personal armor buff, that makes him even tougher, allowing him to tank through a single force field (which kills other instantly) and only take half damage. Also has a cooldown.

Blay is a utility unit. He has decent mobility in terms of jumping, by using his shotgun to recoil him off the ground. As long as the ground is flat and you got the geometry right, it's easy.
His Active ability (T) - is team teleportation, which lets him "summon" the other two instantly to his location. Cooldown.
His Passive ability (G) - is an instant gravity field, which has dual functionality: first, it alters gravity around blay, letting him jump even higher (stacks with shotgun jump to utterly rediculous results), secondly, it acts as a single time ballistic shield against energy cannons, but it's useless against lead bullets.

The Romanian - crowd control / ranged sniper dps.
Limited in jumping mobility, this unit is a dichotomy. He has highest gun range and packs the biggest gun, the machinegun. He is fairly weak on health and hates being upclose, but has a potent close range ability, that forces him to go upclose to use it.
His Active ability (T) - romanian charm, which pacifies enemies around him, causing them not to return fire for a limited time, allowing Romanian or other teammates to kill them off.
His Passive ability (G) - is a limited duration, on-cooldown rocket boots, letting him effectively fly for 3 seconds.


A bit about the antagonists: they are all mostly inside jokes and easter eggs.
One particular admin is a pro skier in real life, so he has a thematically proper level :)
Another admin is recognizable by his unique hairstyle, I'll just leave that there.
And also the bioresearch lab has a cameo of Rude Bear and his creator at VorpalGames, as he was part of this story in real life, it's where we met.


Some levels can seem really hard, but trust us, they are beatable. Enjoy!

Nicoll Hunt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Impressive amount of content! The intro is quite long though, and doesn't really prepare you for the gameplay. I didn't really get anywhere once I started playing unfortunately, I fell down some holes then couldn't work out how to jump high enough to get back out :(

Konrad Knox says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Nicoll, the Intro only plays once, it will not play next time you launch.

To precaution against being stuck, leave Blay at the starting point, and explore with the other characters until you get used to jumping. Just use Blay's T-skill to teleport the teammates back.

The first map you enter is the Worm Village. Not all content in there was finished. The point is to discover 10 wormholes scattered around the map. Each wormhole is a portal into an actual combat level.

The old worm Pierre at the entrance gives you a map. You have to make it towards the green marker on the map, which indicates the next wormhole in the story progression.

Once all wormholes are open, you can replay all the levels at will.

Ragzouken says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:36am

the intro is amazing

Jed T. says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:06am

Love it! the intro got me pumped up! Audio and the story are well made. NPC's are really funny! However, the controls could get a little more tweaking as it's too fast for me. It made me a bit nauseous when I tried playing konrad and I was trying to back up. He is like bouncing off the walls. I wish there were more killing rather than jumping. (metal-slug-like?) Just my 2 cents. But overall it's a great game. Good job! :)

conno1234 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Hilarious intro! The worm OMG it's so cute!

f7f5 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:33pm

This game seems to have a lot of work into it (I like the audio), but somehow it didn't appeal to me. The intro is a bit too long for my taste.

May 2, 2014 @ 11:29pm

That's a really complex entry and the kind of game i love to see around here. Awesome character design regardless of the sketchy art. And the intro was really funny. Good work on this one folks :D

Garris says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:16am

There's a staggering amount of content in this given the time constraints. That said, I think it would have benefited from scaling back a little bit. All the individual aspects are well done, but it's pretty overwhelming from the start, although the help screen is useful. I'd like to see where this goes if you decide to work on it more.

ceosol says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:24am

There were just way too many keys to play with a touchpad. From what I could see, it was pretty amazing.

vigrid says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:58pm

I couldn't figure out the controls, even after looking at the tutorial screen. I haven't managed to encounter any enemies. The game seems to be more complex than the graphics suggest.

Cirrial says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 12:39am

Controls were overwhelming, as is the content. I'm sure the game is great but it's way too complicated for me at the moment. Great effort and work put in, though.

Penguincat says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 11:34pm

This was pretty cool, but the voice in the intro was very loud and annoying, and couldn't be skipped.

Alex Rose says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:44pm

All this needs is a tutorial level. There is a shit tonne of content in here that it's sad people aren't experiencing because they're giving up too fast, but it is information overload with all the controls/map etc. and people in jams often don't like that.

Like, if I had to give protips on what to watch out for: Everyone can jump up quite high, if you use Blay you turn on gravity manipulation and then, importantly, shoot your gun and recoil ahead. The other abilities are fairly self explanatory I thought, although Konrad has a walljump it's worth noting.

Again, game is absolutely ram packed with content, really enjoyed it, especially my cameo in it and the Rude Bears, had a wide array of areas, the graphics and animation were really nice. Some visual cues would be nice like the bullets stopping against stuff you're shooting, but these are minor tweaks which could be fixed pretty quickly.

This is by far your best game so far, it feels really good to advance, I really enjoy Lost Vikings style games with multiple characters to take control of. The graphics are really sweet, as is the soundtrack (level 2's soundtrack in particular I found really cool). I kept thinking "this must be the last level" and then there was more and more. And obviously, it's funny to me given I know the history behind it. Great mood as well, fits the theme with the whole underground thing. Found it really enjoyable. Nice one.

udo says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 6:16pm

This was fun, and the graphics are awesome! Well done!

bvssvni says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Great game!

Jason Lay says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 7:16pm

I got to give props to anyone who posts a tutorial for their game. This was pretty cool.

May 13, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Wow! awesome game! Great work :D loving the sound effects and the graphics, and the story and ... everything xD

Jiddo says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Really great looking game. I like the puzzle aspect of finding and disabling security switches to get further. The enemy agents were much more powerful than I expected. Personally I really would have needed some sort of heal ability.

Still, lots of cool graphics, backstory, sounds and level content. Really impressive!

frogcheese says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 5:17pm

It's a really cool game, but I was seriously put off by the overly long intro cutscene, the text messages popping up over the middle of the screen and the constant chat between the characters that I didn't have time to read because I was trying to play. Graphics-wise it was really, really good, and gameplay was interesting if a bit difficult. A really good effort that's a bit rough around the edges, and impressive for an LD game.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]