Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dig Beneath The Surface

by ItsSacraficed - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A diggy resource game.
With some random element.

Patience required.

Enjoy the game.
It Didn't turn out like I wanted to tho.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#854Audio2.14
#860Theme2.88
#936Humor1.89
#980Overall2.73
#984Innovation2.48
#1051Fun2.40
#1072Graphics2.33
#1079Mood2.32
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

thristhart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:02am

I like the idea and it's a strong execution - most of my complaints are just minor nitpicking. I wish the shop automatically paused. The audio beeps were rather shrill, so I had to mute pretty soon. I found it hard to remember which ores were most valuable. Overall a strong game, just needs time and polish.

ItsSacraficed says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:13pm

@thristhart thats very awesome to hear, the shop doesn't pause the time because it's a choice you have to make will you shop or will you do stuff. and I agree with more time I could polish it up and make a better game out of it :).

dartsdev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:19pm

maybe quantize the movement, and make fuel cheaper. Nice game tho. Very small also which I like :)

Kragnir says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Game is pretty slow. Seems like it could be interesting but there is too much waiting. It seems like fuel is a bit expensive and overall like the game is relying too much on luck and conserving fuel.

igwb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Just a little bit faster gameplay...
Besides that, I totaly like it. The graphics are pleasent to look at.

daandruff says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Fun idea but a bit too slow. Took a while to find the shop :)

YSelf Tool says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:43pm

The game crashes when you try to move beyond the screen border.

jomomomo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Can't play windows games, any chance we could get a web version?

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:59pm

I really like the concept, maybe some more sounds and mechanics would be great, like breaking walls or something, but it's quite fun!

Neonian says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:22am

Nice, reminds of motherload in a way.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]