Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Doug: A Miner Inconvenience

by Aaants - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Wow, 2 very different days this weekend.

On Saturday, I tried (and failed) to make a defense game. The idea was too big and there was no real fun factor to it. You can play what there is of 'Salvation' here: http://www.fastswf.com/RkSwxkQ

After sulking for the morning on Sunday, I fired up some Mario 3D World for inspiration. Needless to say, bright colours + jumping around = fun, and I hope I achieved that with what I made with the last 12-13 hours of the competition. It's a little bit uninspired but I'm happy I at least got something out there (or 1 and a half somethings).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#113Fun3.68
#147Overall3.68
#194Theme3.68
#206Audio3.37
#225Graphics3.73
#241Humor3.00
#309Innovation3.43
#385Mood3.18

Comments

ruerob says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:26am

This is a nice game. I like the idea with the changing gravity.

eatsleepindie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:26am

Made me want to grab an NES controller. I'll definitely be back to beat it.

CastEclipse says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:19am

Loved the concept! Addicting and visually attracting (since I like pixel art). Great work!

Grafter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Awesome Game!!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:09pm

I saw a picture of this game on twitter. I love it! The graphics are awesome!

anbreizh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Very good use of the theme. I found the double jump a bit too short (horizontally speaking) to be really useful

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Nice concept - nice graphic - nice game, but really hard. THX ++

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Cool! I like it.

bakpakin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:25pm

The graphics are simple, but the game is surprisingly fun. The mechanics are interesting and work pretty well.

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Nifty endless runner we have here. Liked the changing gravity and the retro music.

trueyomic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:07am

Nice simple game considering it was your second go. It should definitely be ported over to mobile as the simple controls would work well there.

alvarop says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:56am

Flappy Bird meets what's beneath the surface.

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:53am

Nice little game! :) The gravity changing was cool and the pixel art was cute. Solid work :)

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Very nice! Particularly given the time constraints. I want to give you extra stars for the pun as well. ;-P

namuol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Nice music and graphics. Jumping feels good.

A tad frustrating, but we're living in an age of Flappy Bird, so I'm not sure that's a bad thing, anymore.

sam101 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:03am

Nice concept, I like the whole "inversed gravity" thing with the water, and the execution is well done.

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:25pm

I really like the concept, clever use of the gravity! The graphics are very nice too. Good job! :)

rnlf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Cool physics. It lagged a bit for me, but that might be caused by the ads on newgrounds.

Sheepolution says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:26am

Really fun! And challenging too! It's the good old gravity switching, but still different, and I like that.

May 2, 2014 @ 4:13pm

This was an entertaining game to play. I like the gameplay, as well as most other aspects. Good luck!

May 3, 2014 @ 1:58am

a miner? for water? simple mechanics, solid physics. nice. :)

bazld says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:46am

Loved your game. It is indeed really tough, but I hear thats cool these days... :)
Great retro graphics and very playable.

May 4, 2014 @ 4:53am

Awesome game! Very impressed you made this in only 12 hours.

AlexFili says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 8:44am

Quite tricky but it really does feel like an older game. Brilliant job and please do make more games like this in the future!

King_Mew says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 1:12am

I liked the concept! I found it pretty difficult though!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]