Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Snake Intuition

by JokerDen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play at Newgrounds with Leaderboards, ad and fixed bugs or without at other web.

***Description***
Elegant and original redefining of classic snake-game.
Use arrows to controll snake. Every time when you collect green items you grow snake's length (and amount of bonus) but it cover game field so you can't clear see whole situation. Avoid walls and own tail.

***Instruments***
Adobe Flash CS6
FlashDevelop 4
FL Studio 10
tired brain

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#71Audio3.73
#221Overall3.56
#224Fun3.46
#336Graphics3.51
#374Mood3.19
#444Theme3.39
#445Innovation3.22
#483Humor2.53
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

xk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Pretty much best interpretation of a theme i've seen so far! Great job.

ruerob says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:04am

Great combination of the theme with the classic snake mechanics. Thank you for that game.

Foofur says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:08am

I like the concept of the blue thingeys, it gives the game a twist but overall it looks quite much like the original game, so nothing really new here. I love the graphics and music though

avalonknight says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:55am

This is a great variant on the classic Snake game. The theme here is executed nicely and it added to the challenge. I also like how you can repeatedly tap in the direction you wanted to go to speed things up, and in some way, gives you more control as to the space and direction you want to go. I can't much wrong with this. Excellent job.

Reposted from Newgrounds

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:10pm

I love what you've turned the classic snake into. added some great features which makes the gameplay more interesting.

lightsoda says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Clean and nice graphics, also a nice twist on the snake style gameplay. Overall a pretty solid game, nice work!

Jools64 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:19pm

This game is really cool twist on the classic snake gameplay. The presentation is great and I love the music. My only suggestion would be some kind of powerup that could temporarly make the whole area visible in order to extend the game a bit more for noobs like me. ;)
Great work!

nicso says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Simple yet super effective.
My only complain could be the speed increase that affect the ability for the player to become used to his position (even if the sound can help). But really, this is a little detail ^^

Aaants says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:49pm

A really stylish re-imagining. Love it!

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Very polished, i like it! Better than the original snake :)

LeReveur says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Fun, smart and well done.

garygreen says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:26am

I thought that was a nice visual reworking of the original & I love the music.

Teesquared says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:46pm

I like the mood and music. Obscuring your snake added a fun extra challenge. The snake's rhythmic movement was a nice touch.

ThingoStudios says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Clever reinterpretation of Snake. I didn't quite understand what was going on at first, but when I did I laughed. Great music too.

ioboi says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Cool interpretation of the theme :)
The blue "umbrellas" are adding a nice challenge to the classic game.

Raiyumi says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Slick graphics and neat gameplay. Felt a lot different compared to other snake games which is a +.

Erkberg says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Simple, clever and really fun, great job!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]