Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Life Beneath The Surface

by xk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A sneak peak into the life beneath the surface, which only true dwarfs can stand. Are you ready?

WASD - Move
Space - Jump
X - Use

Have fun.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#43Humor3.86
#62Theme3.94
#139Graphics3.91
#187Audio3.42
#203Overall3.58
#225Mood3.45
#330Fun3.30
#562Innovation3.06

Comments

JokerDen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Brilliant.

Jools64 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:23pm

This game was really enjoyable, fun game-play and excellent graphics and audio. The ending was fantastic too. Great work!

Zanzlanz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Nice game! You did really well with the graphics and humor (that ending was so random xD)! I just wish Unity had a more stable physics engine to work with, since it made jumping seem a little inconsistent.

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:03am

I really like the graphic style you used. It also has a nice mood, although the death sound was a bit abrupt.

madflame991 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:15am

+ immersing, mine-y atmosphere
+ original graphics style
+ liked the ending and the dwarf fortress reference
- the physics could use some polish as jumping and the collisions between items look awkward

Aaants says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Very nice mood to this one :)

May 2, 2014 @ 3:07pm

This is an interesting game that captures the theme of the LD very well. The ending is, well.... Let's not spoil it. I just wanna say, good job ;)
The art and the music are cool as well :D

rujo says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:29pm

the visuals and the style are amazing.. maybe a little unfinished in some aspects.

May 18, 2014 @ 9:47am

Great Artwork, great mood!

May 19, 2014 @ 11:30am

Liked the graphics and the ending was a nice surprise, very clever.

littleball says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Nice game, with some nice dynamics. The only issue I had was trying to read the signs near the beginning. It was too dark to read.

borrismoose says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:36pm

A nice payoff at the end, loved how you presented it too.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]