Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dig or Die

by Joror - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A quick LD entry, made in just 14 hours!

*******

We finally pushed it too far.

The rest of the world is making sure their destruction is mutual. We try to survive - out here in the bare tundra, far away from all.

But the clouds are coming. If we dig, we might survive.

*******

Tips:

*Dig* into the soil beneath your first camp, and further onwards. Digging costs no resources.
*Mine* the ground for resources to survive.
*Build* new camps on, or underneath the surface. It costs 100 resources & 100 'worker' power to build a camp.
*Transfer* your people from the surface to camps below - they will bring resources, but don't forget to give the new camps orders too, or they might starve quickly.

Notes:
* Each camp can perform one action per month!
* Each 10 workers eat 1 resource per month
* Radioactivity will rise & kill on the surface, and even beneath the surface, to lesser effect. Until your seal your entrance.
* Refugees/fugitives bring enough food with them to survive for 2 months

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#92Theme3.89
#272Innovation3.48
#324Mood3.26
#544Overall3.19
#626Audio2.63
#686Graphics2.96
#856Fun2.67
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:29am

I wasn't quite sure how to not arrive at extinction, but I did find the experience interesting. I figured you had to dig and eventually choose to seal-off before radiation struck, but never found how to make myself survive. Still, I liked the concept and even though sort of spent a few rounds simply jumbling around with it, had a nice time.

Joror says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:53am

@AestheticGamer Thanks! Explaining the mechanics a bit more is probably something I should add to the game page.

Jod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Died. A lot.

minibutmany says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:27pm

This is a good starting concept, with extra development a similar game could be super cool. It would have been nice if you could keep digging off to the left or right too.

MonsieurS says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Liked the concept very much. The music was simplistic but set the mood. The camp selection was a bit awkward, especially if you were transferring people between camps. I honestly still don't know if I actually transferred people. :) But overall, this was a great concept.

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:46pm

That's a great idea - some polishing and that could be a great game, it even is right now! Good job!

grayhaze says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:48pm

An interesting concept, but even with the instructions I found it difficult to know what to do. I'd like to see this developed further, perhaps with a tutorial at the start.

atombrot says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Cool idea but I had trouble getting the game right. It is a bit confusing how to execute certain things. I could not get them to move down (once I did it but then they started going up again).

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:58pm

That's a pretty neat mechanic, though I had a bit of trouble figuring out exactly how it works. The behavior feels like it's not exactly predictable if you don't know the exact rules. For example, if I just selected my main base and set it to transfer to the one a few tiles down, the population down there would stay at zero and just drain the surface population, unless the surface base was selected.

phi says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Seems like it could be a game I would like to play... But try as I might, I could not figure out how to use all the features. Sometimes it wouldn't let me build or mine somewhere and I don't understand why (maybe you should explain in-game if the player wants to do something impossible). I kind of knew what I was doing, but I didn't know if it was what I was supposed to do. The interface is quite intuitive though, and the idea seems like a good one, I'm probably just too stupid for this. :D

jellymann says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Cool idea :) The music was a bit harsh, though.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Nice game, but it would really be better if it was more explanative.

ccglp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Audio and gameplay are cool, I died a lot

miwuc says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Very interesting concept and awesome use of the theme. The music fits the mood perfectly.
Lots of my workers died and I only scored 280 :/
Took me a while to figure out the controls though, and even then, I was often not sure what I was doing.

Joror says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:20am

@miwuc 280 is still a good score! :) Escaping encroaching death is the main theme. Controls & interface still the main thing to improve.

MrBlade says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:56pm

After starting that game, I can't seem to do anything? The is responsive and fine, but none of my actions seem to be doing anything. Because I don't feel like I know how to play, I am not rating this game, sorry.

SyBen says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:00am

Seems like a deep game but how to play it is really hard to sort out. Maybe more explanations on commands, goal and ressources would help.

elefantopia says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 4:17am

Interesting game with a lot of potential. A bit confusing at first, perhaps more explanation is needed.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]