Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Stickleback

by DustyStylus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a modern day Captain Nemo, skulking beneath the surface in your fancy Stickleback Mark II booty acquisition vehicle. Ram your enemies as near perpendicular as you can with the afterburners on.

W/S - Speed Up / Down
Arrows - Control Vehicle Nose
L Shift - Afterburner (3 secs, needs full power)
Tab - toggle camera chase/track

HINTS
- Check the Youtube video if you want to see a playthrough
- Speed up to max to avoid gunfire.
- Sneak away from the 3 destroyers first to get outside guns which can hit you while speeding up.
- You can afterburner straight after cool-off. This is a bug... which feels wrong to fix at this stage. Use this to escape gunfire.
- Hit ships side-on, for Destroyers, charge towards them then do an L turn right into their sides.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#275Theme3.59
#320Innovation3.41
#393Graphics3.41
#515Audio2.84
#639Mood2.90
#736Fun2.82
#745Overall2.98
#776Humor2.14

Comments

bzizizi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:24am

I'm having a hard time killing ships. Do I need to ram them more than once? Nice game though, it's fun and innovative.

enosshenk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:24am

A really cool concept. Very tough to play though, the armed ships are very unforgiving and the camera seems to make things harder than it should be.

Karmalis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:43am

Agree with the praise on the fun and innovation. Not very easy to grasp though, but hey, more challenging and more fun.

spotco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:40am

Took a while to get used to the controls (could be simplified?) But pretty fun!

Biggest problem I feel is the camera - you need to dive in order not to get shot, but if you dive you can't see anything. That was super annoying to deal with.

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:31am

Hi guys, thanks for the comments! Just back off the train, so will record and upload a video which probably works best!

- You have to hit them reasonably perpendicular and above 12000 speed. (just after afterburner)
- You don't need to hold down W to keep speed up and you can use afterburner immediately after it stops... which is a BUG. :( (which I probably shouldn't fix post-deadline)
- Use an 'L' with the red ships. At high speed charge towards them, and then at the last minute hang left/right and hit them side on.

Hopefully the FRAPS video will show this.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:56pm

This turned out really well. I'll defnetly come back later and give it another try!

CareForceOne says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:04pm

A game where you ram bigger ships with your ship? YES

Spit Tex says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:45pm

It was hard to know if you had enough speed when ramming the ships however overall this was a really fun game.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Really a fun game! I enjoyed playing it, great work.

MintArcade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Cool. Those red destroyers are tough.

Covenant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Very cool and innovative! :)

colludium says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Great concept but actually quite hard to get right!

vilya says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Cool idea, liked it!

tinykidtoo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Very good it is really fun to play. But the red ships are really hard to kill.

marccspro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Cool Game !

maffydub says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Nice idea and graphics. The camera was a little fiddly, but generally a lot of fun.

AlbertoSM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Cool concept... I keep messing the controls though :P

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:14am

I like how the game encourages you to be stealthy, but I definitely had a tough time with the controls. I like the design of the player's ship! Very cool, especially with the low poly style you used for the game.

dusho says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:08pm

when diving you can't really see anything cause camera is pointing to the bottom of the see, not really helpful
also controls are hard to get into

Lyje says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Really hard - but I love the premise of it. Tried several times but I think I wasn't near the surface enough. Love the low poly style, my kind of graphics :)

DarkEngineer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Really cool concept but hard to kill armed ships

wdebowicz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:16pm

It take me a while killing the first sheep, but it was fun!

wdebowicz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:17pm

It take me a while killing the first ship, but it was fun!

dook says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:03pm

I had a hard time figuring out how exactly to approach the ships without getting hit, and I never found a way for the stealth to make sense. The overall idea seemed alright, though, it might work well with a few tweaks :)

Aaants says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:42am

Nice work :D

DustyStylus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:44am

Hi guys, thanks for the comments. Yeah, unfortunately I never found a way to make the stealth aspect work properly (other than initially escaping from the destroyer range).

dusho: I forgot to put a depth limit in that would've prevented that. :(

Lyje: Thanks, I started to get a little nostalgic about an old Activision game called "Hunter" as I worked on this which had some nice simple geometry in it (by necessity!).

rorycooke says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:15am

that was fun, I liked the controls they felt good.

DarkMaster says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Seeing how good some of the Unity's features can be, it could be a lot better. Is hard to understand the main point of the game, even after reading the tutorial: you just run and get shot by the ships until you're dead and there's no way to play again without refreshing the page.

The main idea is okay, but is very unfinished. :/

Oye Beto says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:09am

You could scale the "[+]" indicators depending on the distance to the ships.

elefantopia says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:28am

Graphics are very cool. It's difficult to control, but still had fun driving the stickleback. I rammed those red ships quite a bit, but no luck. Great game!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]