Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mini Metro Subway Tycoon

by ripatti - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a mayor of a small city. There are living exactly 1000 people.
Every day all of them travel to thier work and back to home.
It causes huge traffic jams on roads. And it's a major trouble of the city.
Your goal is to construct metro subway system to decrease average load of roads.

to play run "bin/metro.exe"

HOW TO PLAY <= read carefully before play!

The game field is divided into squares, every of them may contain some buildings
of two tipes: residential areas and workplaces (or maybe some mix of them).
You can see types of buildings moving mouse over such squares.
Also you can see places of residential area and workplaces in "Residential Area"
and "Workplaces" Tabs. Residential buildings are homes of people and workplaces
are places where people do thier job. Every of 1000 people have home
in some residential building and a job in some workplace.

Between some squares there are roads. People use roads to travel to work and back.
Every of people choses quickest route. From time to time every people reviews
his route and if he finds more quick one, he changes it.

A lot of routes on same road slow down throughput of the road.
You can see loading of roads in "Traffic Jams" Tab.
That's why people sometimes change routes travelling along less loaded routes.

To unload traffic jams of roads you have to build your own metro subway.

Intersections of roads are junctions. They are only places where you can build
metro stations. You cannot build stations in the forest or on the coast of the river.
You can see type of junction moving mouse over it.
To start building your metro click on any junction to build your very first station.

Now you have the following tools to build metro lines:
1. Click on station to create a line. Chose type of line ("/" or "\").
2. Click on the end of any line to extend it. Chose new place of line end.
On every step you can extend the line only if bend will be no more than 45 degree.
Lines can intersect only by diagonal segments (you will get "X").
3. Click on diagonal segment of line to build new station. Click again to confirm.
Note: you can build new stations ONLY on DIAGONAL segments of line. Be careful!
Also you can build station only if on the sufrace there is road junction.

Every station costs $1000 and every line segment costs $100.
If you will spent all your money, you will get GAME OVER.

Your goal is to reach average Load of roads no more than 12.
At the beginning this value is about 20.

CONTROLS

Left Mouse Button - interact
Right Mouse Button - move camera
Middle Mouse Button - set default Zoom
Mouse Wheel - Zoom In/Out

Enjoy!


***UPD***
POST COMPO VERSION <== try it if you liked compo version

- Added beautiful music created by my friend Zuick.

- Sounds

- Added "Train Occupance Rate" Tab
Now you can see load of your metro subway lines.

- Changed economic model
Station costs $1000 and spends $40 per second if in use.
Line segment costs $100 and spends $8 per second in use.
Station/segment is in use if at least one route goes through it.
Every route going throuth metro system gives you $3 per second.
All info about your economic state you can see in the right panel:
Income = 3*routes_using_metro
Expense = 40*stations_in_use + 8*segments_in_use
Cashflow = Income - Expense
Changed initial amount of money to $10000.
Now you'll get GAME OVER if your balance will be -$1000.

- Added Happiness parameter
Every of people calculates comfortable travel time between home and work.
This value depends linearly on distance between home and work.
If real travel time actually no more than this time, this man is happy.
Happiness parameter shows how many people are happy over all of them.

- Achievements
1. Well done! [complete game - get load less than 12]
2. Excellent! [get achievements 4, 5 and 6]
3. Brilliant! [get achievements 7, 8 and 9; almost impossible to get]
4. Optimizer [get load less than 11]
5. Richi Rich [earn $100000]
6. Santa Claus [get Happiness at least 95%]
7. Perfection [get load less than 10 (yes, sometimes it's possible)]
8. Millionaire [earn $1000000 (not so hard, but really long)]
9. Messiah [get Happiness 100% (don't know it's possible to get it or not)]

- Clouds in main view mode.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#50Theme3.98
#78Overall3.87
#86Innovation3.94
#96Fun3.72
#241Graphics3.70
#374Mood3.19
#887Humor1.97
#943Audio1.85

Comments

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:53am

The control are unwieldy. I mean, of course a transport tycoon / simcity -like requires a more complex interface than your average plateformer, but the way to place station is really not intuitive. It's a game about making metro lines to relieve the surface from traffic jam, so it fits the theme. Couldn't hear any sound, so no points for that. Graphics are nice, and the game is overall polished.

Foofur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:10am

Wow! I loved your game! Concept is original, nice to have some alternation from shooting/running games! Some sounds would have made it even better though. Well done!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:13am

Very complete game. I didn't have any problems with the controls and the game has a nice difficulty.

rubna says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:24am

Very elegant game! It takes awhile to learn how to do stuff, but the actual game is simple enough. Very polished and clean, controls were as intuitive as they could be and the idea is simple but effective.

VERY nicely done!

xevozfighter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:11pm

I could not download the game. The site would not load.

Dramentiaras says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:29pm

This game feels very polished! It feels complete, and the lack of sound was a relief to me. The difficulty was just right.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:34pm

I can't build lines, because I've got a German keyboard and I don't have keys for "/" or "\" (I use Shift+7 for "/" and Ctrl+Alt+ß for "\"). Could you please add alternative key bindings like A and S for the different types?

ripatti says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:44pm

@xevozfighter, I use this file hoster already the 3rt LD and it's the first problem with download. Try to download the game a bit later.

@Green Lightning, the game is fully controlled by mouse. For building metro lines you should change view mode (you cannot build metro lines seeing things on ground).

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:42pm

I also could not get to the game. Alas.

ripatti says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:59pm

@xevozfighter, @Lacaranian, created mirror on Dropbox

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Scratches that OpenTTD itch ever so slightly. Cool to see some traffic modeling in action! The procedural map generation and graphics were well done too.

Ellian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Awesome idea. Very well made. I'll definitively play this again :O
It's amazing what you managed to achieve in such low time. Congratulations! I hope you go further with this. :D

Marcellus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:37pm

very good entry, a bowl of fresh air between all those platformer / shooters / submarine simulators

spartangeek says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Can't believe you've coded this game in 48hours, it is incredible. This reminds me the old-school simcity that I loved. Congrats!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:37pm

I love the idea, and the graphics are sufficiently SimCity-ish to buzz those nostalgia centres. An impressive implementation considering the time limit.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Game concept is good and it plays like you'd expect. The controls however take a little bit of getting used to. Finished well though and obviously well thought out. Nice job.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:17pm

This game is too much fun! Think I played for an hour. After several tries got just under 13. Grr!

TobiasW says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:33am

In the end, I played 4 rounds:
- 1st time: Lost with 14 average load. I blame the city design!
- 2nd time: Won with 2 stations and ~$3000 to spare.
- 3rd time: Barely won with ~$300 and 1 station to spare :D
- 4th time: Lost with 13 average load :(

...and now I'll stop because I want to play other games too, haha. Now let's start with the mini-review though!

I watched your tutorial video before I started playing, so I don't know how self-explainatory it would've been - but I had no problems with the controls after a few seconds of trying. At first I thought "If you have to do a tutorial video, I wonder if the complexity of learning it is worth playing - after all, this was made in only 48 hours, right?" - but soon I was drawn in. Take my doubts as a compliment: You've made a polished and complete game that is complex AND works well!

The graphics are cute to servicable/nice to look at. Definitely getting a Sim City vibe from this, which might've been what you went for. After the tutorial video, the UI was really easy to understand too.

Also a good use of the theme with all those mining and ocean games around.

All in all: Great, great job, especially considering the time frame!

May 2, 2014 @ 5:04am

Very cool game :D i love tycoon games they are really fun, and is very complete, Great work!

byExclusive says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:05am

Great idea!!!

MintArcade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:11am

Nice difficulty level. Hard and feels complete. People from OpenTTD need to contact you to discuss collaboration with you. Very nice.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:43pm

congrats! such complex task and made pretty awesome, has a lot of potential!

strong99 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:31pm

This reminds me of the good old Transport Tycoons :) I loved it.

Stuffie says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Oh man, I'm a big sucker for 'Tycoon' games and this definitely has that vibe. I didn't do very well but it was really fun to play, great job !

osthekake says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:09pm

This game was pretty decent, but I was unable to create "loops" with my tracks. (Like shown in the screenshot) This foiled my plan somewhat, and I was unable to win. :(
I wasn't able to make tracks with different colours either. (Also shown in screenshot.)

ripatti says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:23pm

@osthekake, you should take into account diagonal segments of the lines. Only on diagonal segments you can intersect line segments and only on diagonal segments you can create new stations. Also you can create new line clicking on any station. Be careful: you cannot fuse two lines into one. To connect two different lines (and make "loop") you should buuld a station on intersection of these two lines. To see lines painted with different colors you should pick "Metro Subway Lines" Mode in the right panel.

euske says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:38am

In the tutorial video it looked very easy, but I found that it's actually challenging. Impressive that you made this in 48 hours!

mr_tag says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Impressive! I managed to win with only 400$ to spare, so I'd say it is even well balanced :)

Katamori says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Fantastic game.

Watch my video for some gameplay-commentary!

JaJ says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Very cool concept! A bit hard to get the hang of at first, but a really good way to use the theme!

loxo says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Awesome game! The idea is great and the implementation also, a lot of work done in 48 hours. The UI could be a bit improved and some sounds would be nice. I like that you made a video tutorial.

udo says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Wow, how did you do all that in time for the compo? This is simply amazing. Congrats on a job excellently done!

zorfmorf says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 4:25pm

One of my favourite entries so far! Too bad you didn't manage to put in some music/sounds and a tutorial to make it more accessible.

Now I'll check out the post-compo version.

JavadocMD says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 5:59am

Great concept and nicely executed given the time constraints. It was a bit difficult to judge how effective my choices were. Perhaps if I could see the utilization stats of the subways themselves, I could use that to improve my decision making.

ripatti says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:03am

@JavadocMD Utilization stats of the subways are implemented in post compo version (I wanted to add it into the compo version but had no time).

mikea1985 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:03am

I'm quite interested in trying this, but I don't have Windows (I only have Linux). I downloaded he source code from the Ludum Dare site that the description links to, but I'm unable to compile. I use "g++ *.cpp -o outbinary", but get errors about FL/gl.h, FL/Fl.H and AL/al.h missing. Am I compiling incorrectly, or will this just not work on Linux?

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]