Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Inside Look Activity Book

by rylgh - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Tip #1: It will be more coherent if you go slowly
Tip #2: Use a tablet if you have one handy

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#32Theme4.07
#80Innovation3.96
#168Humor3.24
#505Mood3.04
#532Overall3.20
#626Graphics3.05
#772Fun2.77
#828Audio2.21

Comments

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:45am

Original, but not very fun on a pc

jrap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:49am

that's okay, i didn't need any sleep after making games for 48 hours anyway.

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:49am

Was the "why is my head hurting?" autobiographical? Because parasites are no laughing matter. Good entry!

Colorvade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:15am

Well that was novel. One of the more original and accurate takes on the theme.

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:20am

Awesome, I thought it would be cheerful and happy, but then I looked beneath the surface.

furriKira says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:29am

That was weird... morbid... and somehow comical.
Quite entertaining but quite offsetting for younger audiences as well.

It's good overall.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:33am

I like that you automatically remove the last bits of the top layer if it's empty enough.

JavadocMD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:28am

Wow. Disturbing and satisfying all at the same time.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:42am

That was a whole new level of creepy. :P

Yozz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:47am

Wow!

ahmeni says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:07am

Amazing.

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:24am

Nice one, a little bit laggy

Kar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:29am

That was amazing! Maybe not a real game as it is defined, but the great concept of game/app!

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:53am

Not technically a game, but... It was quite original, I have to admit. :p

John Drury says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:56am

Difficult to scratch with a mouse.

Crefossus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:56am

Great fit to theme.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:58am

This is impressive and creative, but in the "Please seek psychological help" way rather than the "This is a good thing" way. :/ I realize it may be artistic expression, but please consider it.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:12am

That was unexpected

Custard Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:26am

That was.... dark. Yet somehow it really intrigued me. I'm not sure I'll ever understand it... xD

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:43am

As an aspiring psychopath I can see I still have a long way to go. Thanks for opening my eyes

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:52am

I love the children's-book aesthetic! You expect something different from what actually shows up.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:37am

Well that was different and some of the things made me lol.

Nice work.

Chaoclypse says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:45am

Weird and morbid. Interesting!

Druid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Maybe boring, but art is amazing!

Foofur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Disturbing but funny in a way. Really fits the theme.

Caridorc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:38pm

This was so unexpected and 'beneath the surface'... Scary sometimes but very intense and interesting. Very good!

flrn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:43pm

fun, sometimes I went through multiple layers at once though

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:14pm

...I did not just spend 15 minutes just scratching pages off, did I?

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:09pm

It's nice to see a game that uses the theme as a mechanic instead of using it as a context :)
That's a nice graphical effect you have there, removing a layer feels right. Also I like the (rare) sounds effects :)

Korwegian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:51pm

WHUT?! WHUT?! WHUT?! O_O Can you make the cocaine scratch 'n sniff?

Tanner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Nice! How many pictures have you made?

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Neat ! It's really fun and addictive ! It reminds me Molyneux's Curiosity : what's inside the cube :) Great job !

lamphj says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Creepy! nice job :)

mollymus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Pretty cool tech, but could've used some actual gameplay:p Extra points for your approach on the theme!

MidCry says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:11am

Some how remind me of Cube (22 Cans) ... Good Job

TomCooper3D says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:22am

nice work! i felt the urge to scratch through to the bottom and erase the whole game all at once. damn your layer limit

Newt_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:04am

Well, that was...unique.

shuanDang says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:45am

...I saw an apple and got hungry... Way to ruin my appetite!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:18am

I played in fullscreen at night... now I can't sleep hahaha
I lol'd many times though
Awesome mechanics!

Lost King says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:44am

Haha, wasn't expecting some of the things I found inside. This was great. Good job!

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:01am

That was a really freaking cool concept. For a second I thought there might be some sort of secret confidential war document under there or something and the game was gonna take a huge twist... THAT would have blown my mind. But yeah, take this concept and make my dream game. I'll be waiting.

danidre14 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:12am

Ahhh I liked it. Spiders! Worms! Very fun indeed.

Skywilly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:29am

Very fun and the theme is perfectly respected ;)

Logun says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:43am

Very pleasant to discover all these images ! :) I can't stop digging !

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:04am

Pretty brilliant. Love the uncovering effect (will have to dig into the source for this) :) I went through all the pics until the started repeating and assume that was all there was? I really enjoyed myself. Fun on a basic level.

greysphere says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:18am

Cool, you turned my Cintiq into a new gaming platform! That was really disturbing. Good sense of humor ... I hope?

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:54am

Not sure if the scrapping is gonna end or not :v
I choose to end it myself. Might've better if something happened and ended it. :)

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Awesome idea and presentation, although I managed to severely glitch out the game with loads of layers at once several times. Unless that isn't a glitch, but it sure feels like it wasn't intended.

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:58pm

That was really great! Incredibly well executed too! Well done.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:27pm

great concept.. im a sucker for particles :)

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:17pm

This was different- I imagine it's more entertaining and satisfying on a tablet- Nonetheless points for originality and good use of the theme!

Afal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Cool! Don't have a tablet but I can imagine it works pretty well with the revealing mechanic :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Freaky man!

rubna says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:40pm

very original! Scratching stuff away was very satisfying :3 Maybe it would have been cool if there had been some sort of underlying narrative thing, but that's just an idea.

Great work!

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:11pm

That was really unique gameplay mechanic. Great take on the theme, kept me interested. Good job :)

GFM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:52pm

This was really interesting and funny... but it got tiresome with a mouse...
Still, I played until it started repeating and the some more. Really nice game!!

Boodog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:16am

Good job! Pretty original :)

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:35am

Oh wait, I didn't realize that there was more to it than just that first and second layer! Alright, this was pretty great. Glad I played it a second time!

Jake_Cohen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:18am

This was super neat! I wish i owned a tablet

TobiasW says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:58am

Haha - I like it. It's certainly not very fun to play on a computer, but I have no idea how I'd do it otherwise, so who am I to criticize that? The child-book like look and feel is well executed either way.

While it wasn't fun to *play*, it certainly was a lot fun to see all the different unexpected images and the things that happened.

I'd love to have the same with music (maybe something inappropriately upbeat?) - and in a non-random order. Especially not with things repeating before I've seen everything.

Apart from that: I quite enjoyed it. Thanks a lot!

noom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:54am

I thought this was going to be pleasant and almost like a children's story book. I feel very uncomfortable right now.

RyotaRaven55 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:27am

Creepy...yet very good. Good job!

rojo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:25am

Scratching off the surface of each page was pretty satisfying.

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:33am

Great thinking on the theme. 5 stars on that department definitely. :) Those spiders were a really cool addition. Thanks for making this, really happy to have played it :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:18am

Nice concept, the scratching is fun! Not to sure about the message though :)

spotco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:58am

lol wut
(played on a tablet too, so I got the real experience)

randoman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:25am

I liked the animation, but it gets tiresome after some time.

Filecreation says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:32am

Kind of dark humor, but theres nothing wrong with that.
It did bug out the first time I ran it, where it wouldnt stop "cleaning" the slates. Maybe its an idea to put in a button that you need to press to clean the top layer off.

I loved the whole scratch-off-surface though!

ezolotko says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Yeah. This is it.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:03pm

There was a glitch on one of my playthroughs where parts of random pages appeared and disappeared suddenly, and bugs and spiders kept spawning. I was horrified

Gins says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:19pm

This is a book I wouldn't read to my kids ._.
At least not unless they really deserve it :)

orangepascal says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:53pm

interesting take on the theme, could use a bit more gaming elements I guess, but it sure kept me busy for a while :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Great game, keeps you going until you've seen it all, or at least you think you've seen it all...! :) Very creepy, too!

metkis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Interesting premise, I wish there was more of a game to it.

BoneDaddy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:06am

This is beyond awesome. The lighting on the tile is really good. The creepiness of the maggots and the spiders! I LOVE IT! I think it might be a bit glitchy though

SonnyBone says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:56am

I want to crawl inside your skull and eat my way out - 5/5

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:38am

What ??? My family is robots ??? Funniest entry yet ! :D I love it. Perfect dark humour, the scratching mechanic matches the theme perfectly. Perfect for tablet !

conno1234 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:05pm

The scratch off effect was so cool!

recursor says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Very cool effect rubbing away the layers and quite an original idea.

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:21pm

That is very clever. I was surprised by the spiders.

Loneshark says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:40am

Well that was certainly different!

hyouko says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:02am

Delightfully gross.

jacklehamster says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:52am

Interesting idea, but I would have liked some sort of story to follow. The images seem a bit random

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:51am

Great interpretation of the theme. Very original. That parasites one was pretty dark, wasn't expecting it. Well done.

Thorig says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Not really a game, but a nice entry.

petey123567 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Really came alive when those bugs came out! :)

JaJ says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Very unique and great use of theme. Really, really cool!

XenosNS says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Lovely idea

lorniebear says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Good mood, whether or not the mood was disturbing is another question

May 5, 2014 @ 2:15am

AWESOME. I loved the part where that punk found out he had parasites. He was a jerk anyway.

Garris says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:36am

Very good use of theme, and extremely innovative/unique. It felt a little janky on pc, but you some things just work better on tablets. Good job, and that was a rad alligator.

gmaker says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:42pm

its high five!!

wschorn says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:55pm

creepers

May 6, 2014 @ 5:03am

Ha, great :D

I love how you don't explain anything, and you figure it out via going "what do I around hereohhhhhhhhh"

Nezzhil says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Weird, dark , but interesting idea

zebi24 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:02am

I like this a lot, such a cool effect to scratch the surface, really unique, the most interesting entry so far.

c1tr00z says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Very cool and strange. Eat pill bro, i hope your head stop hurting!

BadPaul34 says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 11:52am

Original concept, great way to read tablet books for kids! Clever use of the theme. Would have been great with more noises or some music :)

elefantopia says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 12:21am

Wow, I didn't think I would enjoy scratching off the pages as much as I did. Creepiness with the spiders! Very cool entry.

King_Mew says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 1:03am

Well, that was interesting. It was a bit glitchy for me and I ended up going through multiple layers with one stroke for some reason. Unless that was intended?

Moosefly says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 12:25am

That picture did not prepare me for what was coming! Even though it isn't much of a game, it was a superb experience with a satisfying amount of interactivity. I think it worked really nicely on a computer too, even though on a tablet this would've probably been epic. Now you just need to create more content and wait for while the cash rolls in :P.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

klianc09 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Really great, but scratching multiple surfaces at once can get quite laggy.

Nanolotl says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:46am

Very original idea, and was quite amusing. It would have been more enjoyable if it was limited to only removing one layer at a time though as I feel like I missed things by only ever seeing half of some layers. (That may have been a bug, but I'm not sure)

rylgh says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 6:44am

Yeah... removing multiple layers at once was an ill-conceived feature, not a bug.

Thanks for the feedback, and thanks to everyone else for theirs as well.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]