Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Search for hope

by agmcleod - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Given the theme, what i did first was listen to the song "Beneath The Surface" by Dream Theater. And that spawned the idea of a game, where as the player you need to find hope, and that hope might not necessarily be above the surface and immediately visible.

There is a current bug where if you hold the mouse down to dash back and forth, and combine it with a jump, you will go above the screen (whether under the surface or not) and get stuck. It's something I wasn't able to spend time on to fix, and i thought it was kinda funny. I hope to advance the level design in the future to combine usage of dash jumping.

Tools used:

Game Engine: MelonJS
Map Editor: Tiled
Pixel Art for map tiles: Pixen
Sprite art and backgrounds: Pixelmator
Music: Garageband for the iPad

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#677Audio2.54
#687Mood2.86
#941Graphics2.56
#967Theme2.68
#1111Overall2.54
#1213Fun1.92
#1214Innovation1.96
#1669Coolness41%

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:07am

Interesting game. Love the audio, but it would be better if the music didn't restart every time you die.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:13am

:D the art in this game is awesome :D i like the main character little blue guy. Great job!

wdebowicz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:31pm

This guy really can jump. Nice art style.

Hayawi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:07pm

I loved the art style and the audio. Everything really worked to set the mood of a dystopian world moving to a bright future.

Crooksister says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:58am

I didn't enjoy the music restarting at the beginning of each room. Needs quite a bit of work but you're building towards a nice aesthetic.

agmcleod says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:53am

Crooksister yeah that was a very late bug. I had to rename the files when I deployed it to lowercase, however my dictionary on tracks for maps still had the uppercase values.

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:17am

Game controls are clever, I like the idea of the mouse dash. However the music is a little bit repetitive.

Photon says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:39pm

I think I can kind of see what you were trying to do here, but it needs a little more work. The audio in particular was a little grating in my opinion. The game works and has a certain mood to it, but a little more fleshing out could go a long way.

VictoryGarden says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:48pm

I really like your character's walk cycle. It's smooth and kind of fussy, which helps with characterization.

Dashing and jumping sent me through the roof, and I couldn't get down. There were also a few times when I ended up in a loop based on whether I platformed up or not--seemed a bit cheap. You could put a wall there and get the same result.

And then... I thought that dashing through enemies would kill them, but instead it just drained my health, and there seemed to be no reason for the dash other than being able to move quickly (which wasn't necessary since the game was so short and the character moved fast enough). Since it wasn't one-hit-kill, though, it would have really helped to have had a health bar.

I got to the end, though. It was interesting that the player character moves from one anonymous city to another, and I actually walked up to monsters a few times, wondering if they were the friends I was supposed to find ._. This was a nice effect, and a nice driving premise! Good job.

alexdantas says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:08am

I immediately loved the game. The gray image,
"I Feel Alone" and the sad keyboard tones gave
me chills like no other LD entry has.

But the feeling faded away quite quickly.
Please take the following as critiques, not
complaints:

- At first, I jumped and the user went through
the roof.
- The music kept restarting at each scene change;
It's kinda irritating, specially for people who
like to rush through a platformer.
...but the music was so awesome I decided to chill
around.
- Completely static enemies - come on, it's very easy
to add animations on melonJS. It would've made
a huge difference.
- I like how the lifebar is a counter that follows the
character.
- The ending was great; little fade out with good song.

Overall I think you put a lot of emotion on this game,
but it don't deserve to be given 48h only.
I really think you should work on it whenever you have
time - it's a great work of art and expression.

P.S.: High five from a fellow melonJS user! Thanks
a lot for contributing to it. :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:22am

some potential but there was no heart here - the enemies never move - frustrating when you hit things and I guess I was taking damage? overall it was fun - nice job

CDK says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 5:18pm

music was kindof annoying as it started over a every new "level". but nice short game.. some movement might have been nice.. but i probably just don't understand the whole concept ^^

f7f5 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 7:57am

Nice setting but it needed more of a challenge.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]