Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Digz

by Thingus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Digz! Designed to be a puzzly-type digging game.

Left/right is move. Spacebar digs. You cannot destroy the block you are standing on. Shift resets the room.

Created in GameMaker. Proof of concept mainly at the moment; there are only four levels and an ending room, and only one of them has any real puzzles in. I have ideas for further gameplay elements (falling boulders and explosives), but due to other commitments I probably won't get them done by the end of the weekend.

Known glitches; occasoinally the water blocks won't trigger (so no drips), rarely you can get stuck in the wall. Both issues can be solved by restarting the room.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#544Overall3.19
#1989Coolness22%

Comments

pinion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Liked the promise in the puzzles on the level with the drips.

Covenant says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:45pm

I saw where you wanted to go with this... Very nice, keep it up!

Stuffie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Good job, it was pretty short, but I like the concept of dowsing the flames, even though you sorta have to pre-empt it because if you drop down you cant get back up. With extra time this would be quite fun.

Ismei says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:55pm

I liked the idea, and especially liked the way you could douse the flames. I'd like to see it taken further.

Ellian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Oh man, I wish that game was bigger.
I really didn't expect much, but just that idea with the water was good and innovative. Wish you'd have gone further with this idea and put much more gimmicks like this.

Seme says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:57pm

I really liked the diggin mechanic, specially how the flames were extinguished. Theree's a lot of potential to create other similar mechanics related how the blocks are dug.

mihaivdev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Interesting puzzle mechanic. I like it. A bit short and needs some better graphics + sound and music but the idea is great. Keep it up!

ChuiGum says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Like the puzzle aspect, and love the innovation

May 5, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Wow the concept of the game is awesome! Was very fun to play, i was like why i can’t jump? but that is the point: you go down all the time. Great work :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]