Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Just Your Typical Dating Game

by Shmarah - Jam Entry

It's about 75% done! ><
-No music
-BSed background pictures
-Missing a couple endings
-Not properly proofread
-Ooops


This was a REALLY weird Ludum Dare for me and did not turn out as expected, to say the least. Hope you enjoy what came out of it! It's totally bizarre, but at least I learned a lot while making it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#98Fun(Jam)3.53
#120Overall(Jam)3.63
#232Graphics(Jam)3.73
#316Innovation(Jam)3.13
#1959Coolness24%

Comments

xensky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:33am

bad-grammar-ed the pokemon sentence right away, and I had to google what an "ugg" was, but I LOL-ed so hard and then I got bad ending 2. it was kinda perfect.

brackcurly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:50am

I liked the grafic style of the game but the story was a little bit boring. The humor works sometimes but over all the story feels forced. It would have been nice to have a little bit of ambient noise/music for each of the different places.

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:51am

Great, I actually spend a good time it, but got bad ending 2 :P. Have to replay it to see what else is in stock. Also, you did a good job on twisting the mechanics of dating games, which add to the experience. Good job!

ps: I guess you spent 25% of the weekend cleaning up your room to take a picture ;).

kivifreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:29am

Heh Bad Ending I ^^ I'll try to get all the ending before voting though! I quite like this game and the jokes ^^

Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:45am

Hi. Good entry for Ludum. Just some pointers based on my own experience with the game:

-Writing is the centrepiece of a visual novel, and I think it was a bit lacking. Your tone is very irreverent, but I think the self-deprecation went too far. Especially when things got a little more exciting. Maybe random humor isn't the best technique for this sort of game all of the time. Especially with dating sims, where you're attempting to understand and connect with certain characters.

-The menu at the bottom is a great idea, but you should make sure that it works with the background. The first screen, for instance, made the menu practically invisible.

-Fonts are a little all over the place. I'd try choosing some fonts with a consistent design rather than the sketchbook aesthetic that the title screen goes for.

-Because there was no music the shot effect at the coffee shop gave me a heart attack. Some free distribution ambient track would be nice.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:51am

Needs music. Even crappy midi music. Crappy midi music would actually fit, too. mann...

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:52am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

Oh, sweet! I'm excited that someone did a dating sim for this. My character (Lucario) did not successfully romance the narrator voice in the sky, nor any of the other ladies. Bad endings one and two.

To be honest, the dialogue was kind of all over the place, with "random" humor that occasionally verged on the misogynistic. Characterization was also pulled straight from anime, to the point of using set phrases and scenes. I played a couple of times but I didn't get the sense that most of my choices were meaningful, or even that I could in any way predict the outcome of my actions. Getting the bad endings, which told me to work harder to see what's beneath the surface, kind of shocked me because I felt like the outcomes in the game were not really something I could accurately anticipate (the first time the twist happened, I actually startled out of my seat, the noise was such a surprise).

I really liked your art and character design, though. It looked good, I do commend you for submitting a dating sim, and I look forward to seeing other entries from you in the future.

KirbiKaka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:00am

Ha, interesting game! At first I was wondering if there were any male characters, but the game didn't actually have too much dating in it anyways (at least during my play-through). Interesting use of timed choices in a visual novel :b Keeps you on your toes.
I felt like any errors in grammar or spelling were small and few enough not to have a huge impact. The story did kind of jump from "I don't really know what's going on" to "I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT'S GOING ON" but that's part of being restricted by 72 hours, so I wouldn't blame you for the rushed story :b Nice work!

meszka says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Wow, that good ending took me a really long time to get. Somewhat chaotic but pretty fun :)

GrooveMan says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Shit got incredibly real incredibly quickly. At first the meta-ness didn't really grab me, but as things escalated, I just went along with the madness.

I really like the style you did the characters in! And I can tell you gave Ren'Py a serious work out of its different features.

However, background music would have helped a lot for fitting (and intentionally breaking) the mood, and the font was both a little hard to read, and didn't play nicely with the gradual text effect you're using.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]