Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Playbuck

by Ithildin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Playbuck is a 2D platformer, with additional digging and eeer...mating mechanics. I'm not sure if it should be considered NSFW because of this -_-U.

You're the only buck in the burrow, so your life is pretty busy trying to procreate with all the does in the herd and, if possible, making it a snake-free area. Mating is exhausting, so you can expect some reward at the end ;D

Controls:
=========================
* Left-right arrows: Movement
* Space: Jump
* D: Dig
* F: If next to a doe, mate with her.
* M: Toggle music on/off
* R: Restart game.

Known issues:
=========================
* There's an annoying bug where the jump height at times gets capped, making it impossible to continue on the level. If you stumble upon it, you'll have to restart the stage (sorry about that D:). I haven't been able to determine when it's reproduced yet, but I'll resubmit a fixed version if I manage to do it (or if anyone less tired can help me detect the conditions under which it happens).

* Some collision problems.
* Digging works, but it's not particularly polished. My bad :S
* On the windows executable, for some reason the HUD texts appear at 0 regardless the starting Y position. I haven't been able to fix it so far.
* Repetitive, grating music (I would have liked to add at least some victory/defeat/main menu tunes, but well...time)

Tools
=========================
* Language: Haxe
* Libraries: Openfl, Haxeflixel
* IDE: FlashDevelop
* Music: Famitracker
* Sound: Bfxr, Audacity
* Level Editor: Tiled
* Graphics: Photoshop, Aseprite

Stay tuned for the postmortem!
[EDIT 6/11/2016] Updated web link.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#77Humor3.62
#596Fun2.97
#656Audio2.58
#718Graphics2.91
#798Overall2.93
#801Mood2.71
#855Theme2.89
#872Innovation2.64

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:22am

I feel as I carried on my bunny was hopping with a burden. The more bunnies I sexed, the heavier my heart and self were. Eventually I got stuck in a hole, and couldn't escape. I had to start over, amend my deeds. I humped only one rabbit that day, and then found my way into the hole of bunny fortune. Truly an experience.

Algerator says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:21am

Love it!
Very fun idea, the rabbits graphics and animations are awesome and the music is lovely ^_^
The only suggestion I have is to make clearer that you dig by holding D (took me a while to figure it out, i was tapping D instead >_<)
Great job overall! ^_^

Arkorim says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:49am

Awesome! ^^ I laughed every time I sexed/obliterated a bunny :D

Sodaware says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Well that was...different :)

The jumping and falling is a little floaty for my taste, but otherwise I think it probably captures the life of a bunny pretty well.

Skywilly says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Poor rabbits :( (Congrats, it's very fun ;))

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:42pm

This game was actually really fun to play (and a funny take on the theme) nice!

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:58pm

I always wanted to play a rabbit and get busy! Good luck, fun game!

stvr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Not a bad concept, but it seems like you win by hitting a rather arbitrary point in the level, rather than by, um, 'befriending' bunnies.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Music was funny but got annoying maybe because it was too short xD but anyway nice that you can be a bunny and dig around. Most of my points goto theme and fun. Good job.

Zener says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Great game, full of bunnies and full of love! Very complete, and very fun to play. The animation is awesome, congrats!!

Ithildin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Thank you all for the feedback, I'm glad that you've enjoyed it! :)

@Algerator yeah, digging could be improved quite a bit. You need to keep the key pressed for a bit while bumping against the tile so that the "dig" action is registered, but that shouldn't be necessary :S

@stvr Ouch, you're right. It seems that there's an additional check missing from the goal condition test. D'oh!

dector says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:10pm

:D I though it's good old-style console kid-game... Until I pressed <F>. White rabbit looks like alive. Really.

grozamorei says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:49am

Lucky game

Mythalore says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:30am

Errr.... The theme and story of the game aside, the core platforming mechanics are solid and overall the game is fun.

Covenant says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:00pm

The rabbit "slides" bit while moving, other than that it's a solid entry, congratulations!

May 1, 2014 @ 1:02pm

it was a nifty platformer, i like the rabbit animations a lot

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Haha, love the procreating animation :D

sirdorius says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Left-right controls aren't workign for me. Using chrome and win7

Ithildin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:30pm

That's strange. I'm on chrome and win8, and have played it in on Opera, and Chrome/MAC, too with no problems.

Could it be that the app lost focus? Try to click on the window just to be sure. Other than that, if it happens ingame the only thing that comes to mind right now is that the rabbit's got stuck somewhere :S

May 1, 2014 @ 1:45pm

It is a really fun game. I couldn't figure out how to make D work until I read one of the comments though!
The only problem is that my ladies bynnies vanished after I "F" them!!!

May 1, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Definitely the best rabbit-mating game ever. Always nice to play something a bit different, the animation when pressing F was ridiculously fast!

May 1, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Aww look at them bunnies having their sexy time, so cute! I didn't know you could kill the snakes by jumping on them until I fell over one by accident :P

Anti says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:56pm

I love this game! Nice controls but the music was a bit irratating. Good thing there's an option for that. Besides that, it is a great game for 48 hours!

Gaming_Ray says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Interesting, the digging wasn't really clear/functional though.

hyouko says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:42am

If you're going for the full rabbit experience here, there probably ought to be a button for pooping tiny little pellets.

Ithildin says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:47am

Hahaha, so true. How could I forget?!

mariscal says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Hahahaha I wasn't sure what to expect after reading the description of your game "Playbuck is a 2D platformer, with additional digging and eeer...mating mechanics". I had so much fun playing it... the "dating" animations are hilarious! I have no idea how did you come up with the design of this game, but it is the funniest game I've played so far! Good work!!

May 4, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Fun little game!

matt_j says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Hahahaha! "Press 'F' to procreate"

xhunterko says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 9:27am

Thought the name meant something, different when I clicked. Oh well. The controls felt a little slippery to me, which did not help with the more, penalties, you incurred. Neat differentiation on the rabbit colors though!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]