Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lake Monster

by SimianLogic - Jam Entry

You are the loch ness monster! But not quite what everyone thinks.

Touch the screen to extend a tentacle (it will follow your mouse).
Your tentacle can only grow so long...

Snatch the tourists! Don't get caught!

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I was juuuuuust about to finish better collision, but the deadline has come and I reverted
back to crappy box collision. Beware the sonar/headlight/thingies! They have VERY generous hit rects.


This was my wife's first Ludum Dare! This was a fun weekend project -- got to teach her C# and a bit of Unity programming.
We built it with Futile + Unity + a custom UI toolset that I've been working on.


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#43Innovation(Jam)3.85
#54Fun(Jam)3.73
#95Humor(Jam)3.50
#109Theme(Jam)3.70
#152Mood(Jam)3.58
#232Overall(Jam)3.42
#401Graphics(Jam)3.31

Comments

SIMON_SIMON says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:31am

Great idea, well-executed. Sometimes it's very easy to catch a tourist because of the submarine hitbox.

Nice game, I enjoyed it !

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:37am

I like this color and style (80's?) The gameplay is also feeling fresh. most points go to mood, graphics, theme, fun and innovation.. Good job!

MarsBar says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:37am

Well done, I like this idea very much :)

Hippolyta says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Well executed game! Had a lot of fun :-)

Integershift says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:09pm

A great idea, and nice game. The submarine hitbox was a challenge. I couldn't complete Level 5

TeamFlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:34am

nice Game !!

SlipperyPete says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:11am

Gah, why do people keep using unity, it sucks, & isn't usable on some computers, also old browsers, although most people here wouldn't be using old browsers, it still doesn't work on a lot of computers.

tenpn says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:18am

Nice idea and well executed. Lovely art style as well.

kibertoad says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Great presentation. Simple but fun mechanics. Had a problem with submarine turnings, but otherwise it's good.

Ragzouken says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Lovely graphics! Very challenging game but a lot of fun!

randoman says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:21am

This is so fun! Very nice entry!

DraKlaW says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 6:37am

If you can, take time to make more level, some more gamplay mechanics, and and 2 ergonomic improvement : higlight who catch you when you're seen, and don't instant revert boat, but make a small rotate time and animation. You perhaps have the next angry bird killer :p

rezoner says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 8:31am

5 out of 5 for innovation

kristof says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 9:55am

Very good idea! I had a good laugh. I could not hear any sound. But still a great entry!

EpiphanyG says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 10:18am

I loved this game!

I really like the visuals and the fact that Nessie isn't quite what we expected!

The mechanics are really good and not something I've come across before. Just wish the hit boxes were a bit more forgiving but you're aware of that.

Great stuff. :)

monkeymad2 says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Liked it, one question, as a Scottish person - Newcastle Journal?!

Raiyumi says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 5:33pm

This had a completely different "feel" compared to all the other games I've played (and by no means is that a bad thing) along with the art style. I liked it. :)

May 17, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Great mechanic! Finding the true form of nessy was really funny. Also I might borrow the way you made the tentacle for our game.

neekobus says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Really interesting. Love the press intermedes.
Maybe you should add some more mecanics (kill some boats with temporary powers, moving tourists, ...).

Good start !

Rustam says ...
Apr 24, 2017 @ 10:55am

I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don't know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.
http://umor-super.ru

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]