Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

In Cold Blood: Hatching a Conspiracy of Epic Scale

by Brian Corr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a top-down shooty-puzzler about someone with a secret identity. They awaken deep underground, but in an auspicious location. Help Lars find his way out of the tunnels into daylight, and maybe uncover what the heck is going on! Mouse required (trackpad might be workable, but there is some precision required). Control with WASD and click to spit (shoot). Any problems please let me know! Tools used: - Unity - My own unity basic menu template, available free/open source at https://github.com/stoogebag/Unity-Template - Paint.net - Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Humor4.50
#56Audio3.81
#156Fun3.58
#185Overall3.62
#185Mood3.52
#345Theme3.50
#462Innovation3.19
#686Graphics2.96
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:34am

The music made me laugh, haha. The story and dialog are funny in general. The gameplay itself was pleasantly challenging. I liked how it kept switching back and forth between the game and the communications, kept a really good pace that way. Overall this is an impressive and well-made compo entry.

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:16am

The sound fx and music make this game for me. Great idea!

NTR says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:27am

Pleasantly unique.

Armanky says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:27am

The game's funny and the story is enjoyably weird, but the gameplay feels like an afterthought. The guards can also be extremely cheap with their bullets.

shyupuff says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:30am

The music, the story, the dialogue was hilarious! The music did get kind of annoying after a while though. Had a blast playing it (:

Shivur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:22am

Good mix of shooter and sokoban. Very hilarious!

reheated says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:45pm

This was really entertaining. The music and the puns were great, and I really enjoyed the stealth/combat aspect and pushing obstacles around to get into a good tactical position.

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Hey. I liked the setting and the puzzles - to start with. I got a bit frustrated at repeating the text clicking after dying on a level, which happened a lot once the agents appeared.

matt_j says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Awesome, and hilarious. One of my favourites so far!

baboum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Really nice, we can tell you guys had fun doing the audio!

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:53am

Hi all, thanks for the feedback. I have made a small change that obviates the need to repeat conversations. They will not appear if you die or manually restart.

The feedback has been very helpful, so thank you all :) :) :) if i haven't played and commented on your game yet, then I will in the next day or so.

NeithR says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:12am

small but very fun game ^.^

deadarius says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:21am

Can we have exe?

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Windows version added (just unpack the zip) :)

Mekuri says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:43pm

I liked the concept a lot. I felt entertained all the way through. Maybe the guards were a little to easy to exploit, since you could shoot them from a corner where they couldn't hit you, probably because the shoot after the center of your character- Good game, I played all the way to the end, which means I was entertained.

Snoother says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Funniest game so far. Sound effects and music are just too good. And the gameplay was actually fabulous too, enjoyable challenging.

Figglewatts says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:23am

This is amazing!

okkolobr says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Loved that the guard had friendly fire on :) Nice funny game !

loxo says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Unique game concept with great audio. I like the story, the characters and of course the sound effects. The game is rather challenging.

Bemmu says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Extremely funny soundtrack, good challenging gameplay and an interesting plot.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]