Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Submarine Playground

by Yngar - Jam Entry

Play around with a submarine in this unfinished game! I made the classic Ludum Dare blunder getting bogged down with non-essential code and never got around to making the actual game part.

You can captain this unrealistic submarine around, fight other submarines, and sink battleships! You can't die and there is no win or lose condition, just play around if you like. I'll try to actually add a game mode in the next couple of days.

To control use the mouse to look and click to fire torpedoes. W moves the ship forward, S moves back. Shift makes the sub move up and ctrl moves down. The spacebar will ascend very quickly if you need to dodge torpedoes, get to the surface in a hurry, or do some sweet jumps. The controls can be changed in the offline version so you don't need to suffer mine if they are terrible.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#210Theme(Jam)3.48
#341Fun(Jam)3.04
#404Graphics(Jam)3.30
#453Innovation(Jam)2.81
#566Overall(Jam)2.86
#572Mood(Jam)2.70
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Defiantly got a cool game on your hands with enough extra hours put in.
Loved the models of the ships there was some nice detail in there
I hate having to drop projects because I didn't prioritize my coding XD
Good luck with the rest of the game.

increpare says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:41am

felt more like a dolphin than a submarine, but i had fun hopping about :)

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:41am

looks like a good start, would like to see the game when it is more complete. I have made the same kind of mistakes before.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:44am

Once I found stuff to shoot I had a lot of fun!

illugion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:46am

Man, seriously, flying with that submarine to take out some ships is amazing ! You should totally make that the main mechanic haha

atlantian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:48am

I had a fair bit of fun with my flying submarine. First entry so far where i actually laughed while playing. :)

Yngar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:30am

I'm glad to hear that people are having fun with it. I'll try to expand on it and get it to an actual release.

Stepperz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Although unfinished i can see a lot of potential. Keep it up!! :)

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:29pm

The submarine jumps!!!

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:45am

The jumping was my favorite part :P.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:45am

You should make an MMO out of this (similar to Eve but under the surface! :D)

Sim00n says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:46am

Awesome graphics to complete in 72 hours and a very cool concept. I'd like to see this game in 2 months after you've been working on it for a long time (if you intend too). I has potential!

DustyStylus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:42am

"felt more like a dolphin than a submarine" -- agreed, change the model from a submarine and you could have Echo the Dolphin in 3D. :D Nice shaders!

bitserum says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:45am

I see other people like jumps :D This was fun. I actually sank the small ship by jumping on him. Good job.

May 15, 2014 @ 2:42am

I got to experience what it was like to a dolphin for once in my life. And a dolphin that shoots rockets, no less. 10/10.
~funkeh

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]