Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Shark Cull 2014

by 2HitAdam - Jam Entry

"Sharks have wronged us for the LAST TIME

The year is 2014, the place: Western Australia. Shark attacks are at an all time high, with 2.3 DEATHS OCCURRING YEARLY. Only one hope remains for the human race to survive this onslaught... we take the FIGHT TO THE SHARKS. Kill EVERY LAST ONE, for the SAFETY OF AUSTRALIA!"

This game is a tongue-in-cheek protest of a real policy to go out shooting sharks off the Western Coast, kind of like... what sharks would need to be like for me to be able to justify hunting them.

Made solo by Adam Carr in easeljs. Definitely gonna add some sound/music at some point. If you like the game, say hi on twitter! - @2HitAdam

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#77Humor(Jam)3.57
#90Fun(Jam)3.56
#273Overall(Jam)3.36
#297Graphics(Jam)3.57
#362Innovation(Jam)3.03
#416Theme(Jam)3.06
#442Mood(Jam)2.95

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:23am

Great Shoot, I like the crew/weapon gestion !
Good Job ! :D

Skywilly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:53pm

Ahahah, very fun !

NightShadow0 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Lives saved: 0. Brilliant.

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Great arcade feel, pretty funny.

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:14pm

It's a shame this game doesn't have sounds, this would add A LOT to it. I like the overall tone of the game : the art is nice and the crew balancing is pretty clever.

Good job

bendmorris says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:17pm

This is awesome. It's based around a real world issue which gives it the impact of a "serious game", but it's still incredibly fun, entertaining, and humorous. Great way to make a point. Nice aesthetic as well. Fantastic job. I'm going to be sharing this with some of my marine ecologist friends :)

May 1, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Very good game. I especially liked how you can customize the crew and weapons and how your boat sinks if you have too much stuff on there. Good job.

bendmorris says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Just one more comment, I think the prices should be much higher to reflect the actual spending of your government on shark culling! Maybe every round you can get +N million dollars from taxes or something. Just to make things a little more absurd.

2HitAdam says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:49pm

@bendmorris That's a great idea! Making the link between tax-payer money and the funding for these expeditions explicit will make it hit closer to home for a lot of Australians I think, I am definitely going to do that. Thanks for taking the time to leave your thoughts and I hope your marine ecologist buddies enjoy it too :)

InfectionTeam says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Great game Adam, I loved it. Must have sunk my ship about 8 times by being too greedy with the units xD

Eirikir says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:11pm

It's a really fun game! i liked the shots animations and it was really entertaining to kill sharks. Couldn't keep upgrading the boat though.

illugion says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Memories of Sharknado hahaha This game is really cool man, the art is great and the crew management is really cool, it would be awesome to play a new version of this !!

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:57pm

I felt like I was really being attacked by sharks! Good job!

danialhyatt says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:00pm

This is alot of fun! Great sprites! I miss audio though.. but fantastic nonetheless!

KeyMaster says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Nice job of demonstrating a real life issue in the game! Graphics were really good, sadly the game wasn't really challenging. Only when I accidentally limited my budget to 400 and had to try with only one light crew it was really difficult.

2HitAdam says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:12am

@KeyMaster Yeah, because I was also relearning HTML5 dev I didn't have time to really balance the difficulty. Between crew cost/weight/fire-rate/damage/knockback and shark frequency/health, it was just too much to get right first go haha. I'll try to find the sweet spot in the difficulty curve.

Thorig says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:06am

This made me laugh, great time!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:54am

Nice and fun game! Sharks are quite suicidal in this world :)
It seems having lots and lots of light infantry is the most effective strategy, at least in the first three missions.

Mr. Jif says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:35pm

This was a really fun entry. The crew members mechanic was very interesting. Very serious yet humorous game, I liked it!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:59am

really like the mechanics and gameplay - solid game - great job

SoupWithBits says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:01am

I liked the way you could upgrade your boat and crew. I can see that concept going far.

ehtd says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Cool shooting, excellent graphics

NeiloGD says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:30am

Nice graphics! Not being able to hold the mouse button down and move the crosshair was slightly annoying, but didn't ruin the game play. Some sounds would really make this game shine.

2HitAdam says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:26am

@NeiloGD Thanks, but what browser are you using? You should be able to move the cursor and shoot, but I kinda only tested in Chrome...

JavadocMD says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:50pm

A game with a message: I love it. For nitpicks: the ship's art was a little small, which is a pity because the rest of the art is so nicely done. Audio would be a nice to have.

NeiloGD says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:24am

2HitAdam: Was using Chrome.

NeiloGD says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:24am

Moving the mouse with the mouse button down just activated selection of stuff not in the game.

shadow64 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:12am

I had fun playing it, but it got repetitive pretty quickly. I really do want to hear the sound/music when you finally add it because I think it will add a ton to the game's feel. Without it, it was hard to feel like anything was changing.

I like the idea of the upgrades and that you have to be careful about how many people you put on your boat. Also, the menus and graphics in general worked well.

In short, I liked it, but I just think it needs more polish (which of course is hard to do in 72 hours).

Thanks for sharing and for rating/commenting on mine! :D

May 15, 2014 @ 6:02am

Not sure if the jumping shark is dead or I need to shot it until it dissapeared so it counted as dead. Need some clear instruction on this. Nice game though. :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]