Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Uno The Mind Reader

by blasphemous rumours entertainment studios - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The first version of my game is completed and I'm pretty satisfied. =D

Uno The Mind Reader is a simple puzzle but fun game where you use your magical power to see peoples (a bit strange and varied) wishes beneath the surface!!!

I've managed to sneak in a losing condition, some bugfixes and more stuff in version 1.1.1 with over 2 hours to spare! =D
If you lose, you have to go back to the menu to be able to restart (by using R button) - sorry about that.

My declaration of basecode and dependencies (SDL 1.2 & SDLMixer): http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/04/25/in-for-ld29-3/

I added a link to msvcp110.dll, but it (among with a lot of other dlls you already should have) should be part of http://www.microsoft.com/en-au/download/confirmation.aspx?id=30679... at least that's what information I found when I googled...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#778Audio2.31
#805Innovation2.72
#927Theme2.76
#942Fun2.56
#1136Overall2.50
#1201Graphics1.94
#1823Coolness33%

Comments

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Pressing space crashes the game under Wine (v1.6-rc5 on OS X 10.9)

Kragnir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Nice idea, it gets difficult very quickly. Is the framerate intended to be in the hundreds? As it is the game is very fast but it could be because it was balanced for a slower framerate. The customers only able to eat what is above them make the game quite unforgiving.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Lucariatias:
=/ too bad. Strange. Does it crash on other key presses? Does R work? (will actually start the game too).
Kragnir:
Yeah, the sprite needs to be above in a pretty small interval, and the code only compares the left border of the sprite compared to the left border and right border of the thought bubble, so it's a bit off...

Everything in the game should be frame independent, as you can see on my screenshot, I myself got a FPS on 310... Maybe the calculations are a bit off, but I don't think so. The game is meant to be fastpased, but it's a bit too hard maybe. Got harder at the very end as I implemented the losing condition...

Thx for feedback!

Marcellus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:17pm

missing MSVCP110.dll, could not play

mrbungle says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Surprisingly addictive but as noted above, really hard once you get going!

eerongal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:23pm

interesting little game. It wasn't particularly obvious from the description what to do at first, so it took a few moments for me to get going with it.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Marcellus: Try to install http://www.microsoft.com/en-au/download/confirmation.aspx?id=30679

Vytheros says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:29pm

The game as a whole is not fun, although if the gameplay was more refined and was explained better then I feel like it would be much better

f7f5 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:34pm

It's an original idea and an interesting take on the theme, although I didn't find it very engaging.

It works well under wine-1.7.16 on Linux.

Marcellus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:17am

I installed the program and the same message shows up

MSaul says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:44pm

I love sounds x). I can't restart the game with R, it's a bit annoying. Cool interpretation.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Marcellus: strange. I really don't wanna include dll-files that should be part of some windows (add-on)components... but here my version is: https://www.dropbox.com/s/5cnb31apxhmkuk0/msvcp110.dll


MSaul: Restart with R should only work while inside the menu... Didn't occur to me that you might wanna restart after losing the game as I implemented the restart button before the game was actually losable. R is so close to 4... Well. Try R inside of menu?

sudorossy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Cool mechanic, but that bird tweeting really gets on your nerves after a while haha

MSaul says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:17am

Ok, I get it. I had no idea of what to do after loosing, thx.

Hamsternator says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:19am

This became a lot more engaging than I thought it would =)
It would be good if there was something to make it clearer in which area an item needs to be in order to correspond to a certain customer. Still, this reminds me of my favourite mini-game in Backpacker 2. The fruit/fish sorting mini-game =D

Dreii says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:34am

Funny voices :) pretty nice gameplay too.

romandtom says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 1:24am

That was an original one :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]