Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fortune and Glory

by cptalbertwesker - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Fortune and Glory, kid! That's the life of an archaeologist, or so Indiana Jones would like us to believe!

Like my games for every Ludum Dare you won't be getting award-winning gameplay on offer, instead the game takes place in two different sections, the digging section which has no skill or luck involved, but allows you to dig four holes of a potential eight prepared dig sites.

The main section of the game is convincing your family that you know what you're talking about.

Hopefully it's cute, it's a little silly, and I get to use the spelling 'Dinosaw'

Created in Game Maker Studio, using Audacity and GIMP 2.

Also please note, words are spelled incorrectly on purpose, but I figured a small child with the dreams of becoming an archaeologist would not know how to spell the word!

Please also be prepared for audio not loading as quickly as it should in the web version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#70Theme3.92
#70Humor3.64
#110Audio3.62
#216Innovation3.57
#221Mood3.46
#278Overall3.47
#427Fun3.16
#504Graphics3.24
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

louiscarl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:58am

Like it a lot! It is a very cute and pretty game!

zeh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Nice one!

ezolotko says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Fun

Caridorc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Small and nice, but there isn't much gameplay

LewisW says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Really liked it. Like you said, not the most award-winning gameplay but it was a fun couple of minutes that I don't regret using!

j_peeba says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:53pm

A straightforward with a cute presentation. Very different from what is usually seen in LD!

Filecreation says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:00pm

It is nice and homey, as if I was talking with my younger self about archaeology!

vilya says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:02pm

I love the music and the voice acting & it's a really innovative idea. Top stuff!

liamtwose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:19pm

My kids will be playing this later, I know they will love it. Great work at an educational title.

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:47pm

This is so cute. How hasn't hummed the Indiana Jones theme tune while digging something up? :) I nearly blew it was I said something was from the future but apparently I'm an actual archaeologist. Yay!

KayZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Great soundtrack :)

Catmoo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:31pm

It's totally awesome, fits the theme and is super cute! I love telling a story, although I've gone for more safe stories rather than crazy over-the-top future stories :D

The childish spelling is also a great though and your bg singing is great :D

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:52pm

This is superb work! I really laughed so much when they started to whisper to each other. I think you have done a great job with this, well done. I am a great archaeologist by the way! ;)

thinkster says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:00pm

I really like it, cute and unique. If there was something interactive about the digging I think it would improve it a lot!

Lucio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:09pm

The voice acting is glorious!gloriousvoice

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:32pm

That was not what I expected. Good job.

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:41pm

YAY I got my archaeologist badge! Really liked the idea here, and it was so much fun trying to think how a child would describe what they imagined they'd found. This game really put a smile on my face.

ioboi says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Very cute game :D

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

This is cute! As you said--not amazing gameplay, so I won't cover that, but I liked the audio and it was overall a sort of positive, emotionally enriching experience. Really well-done mood, nice job melding audio, graphics, gameplay experience, and story. It was a nice break from some of the darker titles featured in the jam.

Gazok says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:52pm

I loved this! The mood created by the voice acting and the spelling was great.

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:31am

This was adorable! I found a toy horse fossil from the future that was used to hold things haha!

May 3, 2014 @ 11:37am

This is fun :D
I love the voice acting!
Good job! :)

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Hi. That was lovely. Like the show and tell... I'm a SuperArchaeologist ! Woot!

ThingoStudios says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:29pm

The gameplay itself was minimal, but I found the game's core concept so adorable that I can forgive you for focusing on the hilarious voiceovers and drawings.

joe40001 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:04am

The boy is funnier if you think is nostrils are his eyes and his eyes are his eyebrows.

Also I love that the baby is part of the consulting.

May 9, 2014 @ 5:48am

nice, I like sound acting in this game

Candyhandy says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Very nice and educative game.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]