Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Heavy Man

by timtipgames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Heavy Man.
---------------------
I spent most of the weekend learning Freeform-Deformation-Animations in Spine (esotericsoftware.com). Thus gameplay is lacking a bit. Difficulty only ramps up at difficulty level 4-5 .
---------------------
I fixed a bug after deadline where the UP key wasn't working.
---------------------
I would like to thank Tomski who helped me working around a bug in the Spine runtime despite working on his own LD game, which you can find here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=30523
---------------------
Used
Spine for animations
libgdx for rendering/sound
universal tween engine
Inkscape for graphics
Reaper and my e-piano for music
Audacity and me for sounds

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#30Humor3.94
#103Audio3.64
#260Graphics3.66
#390Fun3.21
#391Innovation3.30
#412Overall3.32
#431Mood3.13
#939Theme2.74

Comments

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:58am

This is the bestone I have played so far! Nice!

Shire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:02am

Not much depth to the game, getting the timing right for the tanks was hard at first but after that I felt like it needed more variance.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:59am

Curvature of the planets helped me avoid most of the danger, but eventually things ramped up to a challenge. I'm impressed with how you tied the music and sfx together! Plus who doesn't like potatoes.

bzizizi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Nice animations.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:01pm

It was really funny! Nice game play / sounds!

pandamicro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Really funny game!

rincewind_cz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Actual game gets repetitive pretty fast. But main character is looking great and music is simply wonderful :-)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:07pm

I like the little quotes. Great humorous game, good all round.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Nice! I like the 'ass attack'. Pretty well polished and some nice audio. Good job!

andreaswitzen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Got to love that jazzy tune!

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:36am

Haha, the sound effects are hilarious , and really nice to see someone not just use SFXR (like I and almost everyone else did). The game is really cool, but I found one bug in the game that initially made it very frustrating. While you can use both WASD and the arrow keys to control, the up arrow key doesn't work the same a W. Once you land once the up arrow will let you take off but not let you go any higher than a few pixels from the surface, which made it super difficult to attack without getting hit. Once I switched to WASD, it was a lot easier to control.

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Yeah like dalbinnlue said, it's easier with W rather than the up arrow, I finished a few more levels when I discovered it. ^^
I liked the idea of breaking the planet's surface to reach the core, the gameplay was a little repetitive but the animations were great, the sfx were hilarous too, so the game was fun to play on the overall! :)

GamerTaters says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:49am

I wish I could have been able to skip past the intro screens between levels. Charming audio and voice over sound effects. Nice work. Loved the humor of the game. :)

Rad Star says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Fun game. A bit hard to kill the tank though as i couldn't fly up again but hiding behind the planet saved me most of the time. The difficulty grows nicely. Good job :)

mrfriedfish says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:28pm

This is an interesting concept. Graphics-wise it's great and it's fun to smash those humans. if you do work on it I would say maybe more gameplay mechanics or achievements. overall great game!

May 1, 2014 @ 3:30pm

haha..ass attack.. nice game man.. smooth gfx.. are all those shaded polys realtime in java ?

Simon@LD says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Very polished, nice soundtrack. Really liked the sfx! Played this with a smile on my face :)

Thorig says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:12am

Fun little game. The tanks are a bit too easy to beat. Still the idea is great.

whilefun says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Pretty fun entry! I found the sounds the heavy man made to be pretty funny. Crushing the things and chasing down the humans was fun. Good work :)

sam101 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Funny idea, the gameplay is a bit weird however. Still, the graphics and the audio are nice.

mutilator says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:19pm

I really enjoyed the graphics and the sound effects.

KevinWorkman says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:44pm

The graphics and sound were great, and it's cool to see a Spine game on here! But like others have said there isn't much gameplay here. You're invincible when you're attacking, so just spamming that seemed to be an automatic win. I'd definitely play a game with this style though.

rfgpfeiffer says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:02am

It was difficult to aim the ass on a tank. I often hit one tank but missed another one next to it, that then drove onto me. I liked the music.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Very nice! Well done animations and general visual "feel." Did he say "I am the danger," because that's amazing if he did.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 4:29am

great game - loved the ass attack - gets a little repetitive but enjoyable - nice job

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]