Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Drip

by savethejets1 - Jam Entry

Drip

By Paul Orton and Kyle Reczek

Art/ Programming : Kyle
Music/ SFX : Paul

Controls:
arrow keys - move
Space - jump
E - remove all water from yourself

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#23Audio(Jam)4.14
#37Mood(Jam)4.12
#71Overall(Jam)3.75
#74Innovation(Jam)3.76
#111Graphics(Jam)4.14
#176Fun(Jam)3.33
#192Theme(Jam)3.51
#361Humor(Jam)2.59

Comments

eugman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:42am

Error: Data Folder not found.
There should be 'Drip_Data'
folder next to the executable

savethejets1 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:19am

Is that the windows build? I've taken it down for now. Web should work.

misterwalter says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:23am

This was cool! I like the idea of it, going underground to find water to bring life back to the surface. Tracking down what I needed was interesting as well, as far as I got at least. Well done!

mark.goetz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:26am

Love the graphics and gameplay idea, but I got myself stuck in a wall somehow. :(

demonshanker2 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Great puzzle platformer!

hoqjed says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Damn, those graphics and the are polished. An interesting puzzle/platformer.

demonshanker2 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:50pm

I loved it! So good for a game made in three days :)

Sim00n says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:52am

A simple cool concept. Unfortunately I got stuck in a wall. A cool, old style game overall. Good job.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:56am

Wow great game! I loved the atmosphere of it and how the music changes with the progression and by touching things! good job!

spotco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:59am

Really great indie-style puzzle platformer (mechanics are slightly annoying, did I ever say how much I didn't like the megaman dissapearing puzzles levels?)

Also amazing music

robcozzens says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:59am

Pretty cool.
But the controls were a little tough... you'd keep moving further than expected after releasing key.

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:59am

Great aesthetic and the music fits well. The plants popping up when you win are great.

Sometimes that platforming controls + some floor collision were annoying. I got pissed at the start of level 3. I was in that first place with the blue water for a very long time.

zillix says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:06am

wonderful aesthetic and sound integration! the mechanic was rather unique as well.

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:45am

Not a valid Win32 application.

elefantopia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:55am

Cute graphics. Interesting idea.

João Kucera says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:00am

Great graphics!

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:18am

Very well designed. Minor gripe - the platforming was a little more difficult than it needed to be, but other than that, wonderful art and music.

Pixlexia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:27am

The pixel art is really really beautiful especially when the plants start growing. Love the drip mechanic too. Great job, keep it up!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:35am

Neat.

kidder says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:44am

Neat idea with great ambiance, but I found that the sometimes-frustrating platforming interfered with what otherwise would be very zen.

baboum says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:13am

I was stunned by the audio! I loved how each element of the level was somehow synced with the main tune, and played notes when interacted with. The graphics are great too, and the game in itself very pleasant. Nice work!

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:28am

The controls feel very 'janky' for lack of a better word, and it's really hard to tell what is a wall and what isn't sometimes. Can't really give the gameplay points for polish, but the mellow mood created by the artwork and sound is great and distinct, and the idea is pretty interesting.

v_n_j says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:08am

Awesome ambiance and cool puzzles. Audio is great in general, but some tracks seems a bit off-key.

Controls and clipping issues are annoying in some places. And game feels laggy sometimes.

Good job anyway!

EvilObjective says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Excellent aesthetics, provides great atmosphere. A fantastic little puzzle platfomer!

Elforama says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Fantastic job. The musical interaction was well done and the gameplay was tight.

trueyomic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:18pm

I couldn't figure out what to do initially, but I got it. I did get stuck in a pit in I think the third level (the one that introduced yellow) and couldn't jump out. Neat little mechanic. I also liked the sfx the drops made that fit the chords of the BGM.

M4rw4 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:07am

very nice idea, i like the character and the graphics very much, very polished level design. Great Work! :)

May 3, 2014 @ 1:43pm

innovative and very fun! top marks for mood as well <3

Chronoberry says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Love the music and music

SimianLogic says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Really impressive graphics/sound. The collisions need a bit of work--the puzzles themselves are pretty easy (but interesting), which makes it quite frustrating when you're struggling with platform collision.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]