Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Up n Down

by syawqy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Aim with mouse
Hold LMB to charge
Release it to accelerate

Reach the surface to win

made with Unity, Pain.net, Bfxr
music generated from http://abundant-music.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#261Fun3.40
#421Humor2.63
#562Innovation3.06
#614Overall3.13
#659Audio2.57
#844Theme2.91
#892Mood2.61
#1032Graphics2.43

Comments

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:00am

Some nitpicks: When I first played this game, I thought it was buggy because it scrolled through the entire course and I though I just wasn't able to start! You should make it move faster. Even better, move it so fast the whole thing just blurs out. This makes the player anticipate the game, and he doesn't know what's coming.
You should also consider adding more incentives to play. For example, a score system, or lava that's slowly rising up. After all if I know what's on top, why the hell would I go through all this trouble just to get up there if I could just stay below?

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:28am

pretty, fun and frantic. i liked it! :)

Lee1121 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:55am

This was awesome.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:57am

I win! Made it to the end and had fun doing so.

Good game.

lantto says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:43am

At first I was very sceptical since it looked half-finished but when I started playing it was actually very fun! The physics are great and I love that it's not about how many moves you do but just about getting up up up. It's a very satisfying feeling just pushing the ball upwards through the blocks.

I think the ray behind the ball is very nice and would love to see the rest of the graphics in the same style. It's a bit annoying that clicking sometimes highlights the page.

Jools64 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Pretty fun game. I ended up just spamming clicks and flying through but it was enjoyable to interact with the physics. I didn't really notice much in the way of a challenge but still fun to bounce my way through the level.

Good job!

tiffi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:27pm

This was short but great! +1 for the mute button.

Thijsku says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Haha, it was awesome to break through everything! Too bad there is no challlenge, but I had fun with it. :)

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Nice. Some sort of time pressure (@madhoe's suggestion of rising lava is a good one) would have made it more interesting. The fact that you can move even when airborne makes it a little easy to play.

lamphj says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Fun game with cool physics. I also like how it scrolls through everything at the beginning and the tail on the ball to show the path.

mir007 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:11am

I love the mechanics of control on this one. Pretty innovative.

darkflamejam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:13am

Surprisingly fun. Although those squares pushing you down! Grrr gave up there!

Pitoum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:07am

Weird gameplay on mobile but it was fun enough :)

DanEEStar says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Great game. I had way more fun than I anticipated.
For me going up alone was motivation enough. But it was very hard to fall back to areas which I already climbed.
Sometimes I couldn't "reload"
The music was also quite catchy!

clearlyspam23 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Pretty fun. Felt a little to easy though after I realized I could just keep clicking to fly. Maybe there should have been a longer cooldown between jumps? still pretty fun.

garygreen says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 11:18am

I'm really glad I decided to rate "just one more game" in Ludum Dare. :-) This was really fun and tricky & I do like a squidgy synth soundtrack. Nice work.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]