Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Deep Sea Mission

by xandy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Game instructions:
Steer your submarine to the target in each level. Avoid rocks and mines.
Shift energy between your systems to get the right properties for each situation.

Systems:
Engine: The power of the engine sets your maximum speed
Sensor: Increase your viewing range by powering your sensor
Air: More air improves your cooling to allow for more acceleration

Controls:
Arrow keys to navigate
q / a add/remove engine power
w / s add/remove air power
e / d add/remove sensor power

f3: reset level
f11: next difficulty
m to mute
escape to exit

Running the game:
Mac and windows versions are not tested yet.
Love version:
This game requires love2d( https://love2d.org/ ) version 0.9.1.

Source:
Just unzip the .love file and run away because this code is horrible :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#432Theme3.40
#579Mood2.96
#626Innovation2.96
#750Audio2.38
#884Overall2.85
#924Humor1.90
#963Graphics2.53
#972Fun2.51

Comments

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:56am

Nice concept, feels good!

Zerkruemler says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Cool idea and solid implementation. Quite challenging to control at the beginning. More narrow levels would be a good challenge to really shift the energy. I was happy with a almost evenly distributed setting.
Greetings to the Raumzeitlabor.

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:09am

I liked your lighting effect, really added to the mood!

danbo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:14am

I like this, reminds me of space shooters where you have to assign power. Little bit slow and I kept expecting a jellyfish to eat me

Also for some reason running the love file directly didn't work out for me. Windows build worked fine though

Almost says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:15am

Engine and sensors made sense intuitively, but I wasn't able to figure out what air did without reading here (I had it on the minimum nonzero value on the assumption that my crew would die if I didn't have any air)

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:12am

I like the concept a lot! I do wish the game moved a little faster.

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:16am

Good entry, wish the submarine was a bit faster. Even with power redirecting it was difficult to steer, but maybe this was intentional.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:37am

Enjoyed the atmosphere, especially when it was almost pure darknes.

muramasa says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:09am

Now let's see... I really like the concept. But I got lost very easily. The first 3 times I tried playing the game were me being lost.
Then I found the first target, and the second, and the third. IDK, but those three are at the same place, but with variations.

But as soon as I left the safety of the tutorial section, I got lost again.

I feel all this needs is a little guide at the start. Or maybe smaller areas...?

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Good light and mood, nice work,
but i did not undersant what am i doing ):

kbm says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:46pm

enjoyed the concept and mood, could use some work on the graphics. well done!

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:48pm

i like it! the hitbox on the sub could be better, kept hitting a rock without hitting it when i was trying to go under it

fyi your .love version crashes love for me, think it must be a love2d bug since it's a crash not an error

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:50pm

It is an interesting concept and I enjoyed it for that. Managing the energy distribution on a submarine is very cool and original idea, but once I got them right there was no reason for me to change them, so it felt like a gimmick rather than a core mechanic. Also the collision is bit off.

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:40pm

I wished that it was easier control wise to quickly switch between different systems.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:32am

Very unpolished when it comes to UI, but in the end, a very good game! Great job!

Menesetsu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Interesting energy managing mechanic. Thanks for lua sources!

Joshua_Burr says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:17pm

This didn't work for me on OSX. I just saw a man saying "No Game".

xandy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:26pm

mac build should be fixed now(i can't test it because i have no mac)

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Cool idea. I couldn't find the target though, and had no idea how fast I was going because the background is a solid color. Great atmosphere, very relaxing.

whalebot says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:30am

Good mood and everything. I honestly had no idea where to go though... I just dived and dived... Didn't see any targets, rocks, or mines.

Gazok says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:11pm

I felt that the green orb was a big ambiguous at first - followed by a warning about rocks, combined with what looked like a sudden level reset, it made me think it might be a rock.

Making the submarine faster would have been nice. Other than maxing my engines, I didn't really see the point of the power management.

ZYXer says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:48pm

I like the game mechanic of having to balance the three systems.
The pace of the game is a bit slow though, I think the difficulty would actually be higher if the game was a bit faster.

Cirrial says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 12:49am

Couldn't run.

Error

shader.lua:20: Attempted to call field 'newShader' (a nil value)

Traceback

shader.lua:20: in main chunk
[C]: in function 'require'
main.lua:13: in main chunk
[C]: in function 'require'
[C]: in function 'xpcall'

Cirrial says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 12:54am

My bad: had an older version of LOVE and didn't realise, whoops!

Interesting idea with the power balancing, although it felt like a very slow game with the amount of total power given. Neat concept! Reminds me of FTL for reasons I'm not sure of.

pikkpoiss says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 5:02am

Reminded me of having to balance energy to different systems in TIE fighter. I wish moving around would have been a bit smoother, and I really wanted to upgrade my ship, but I liked how the levels progressed with new challenges to overcome.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]