Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Temple of Ra

by Split82 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This time it was quite hard, because I spent 6 hours learning how to create proper models in Blender and another 6 hours on UI which I didn't like and deleted it. Otherwise I think I put almost everything I wanted ;)

Post Compo version is almost identical to normal one. I just made few performance optimisations.

Engine: Unity 3D
Code: C#
Models: Blender
Textures: Photoshop
Audio: Logic Pro

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#10Mood4.35
#10Overall4.30
#11Graphics4.54
#35Audio3.94
#37Fun3.95
#211Innovation3.58
#588Theme3.23
#734Humor2.19

Comments

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:18am

Very very well done!
The gameplay mechanics were clever, the graphics good, the level design great. I loved the ambient sounds! It created a great atmosphere.

Impressive that this was done in 48 hours. ;)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:51am

Great atmosphere, I'll play any game where I can walk around a dark temple. Simple but satisfying puzzle premise.

nesis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:04am

Holy crap, just... wow! I love the graphics, sound, and gameplay. Really nice effort!

shotiris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:48am

This one's a stand-out for me from all I've played. Love the concept, great stuff!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:24am

Great!

loadx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:25am

Love the gameplay, level design is good, graphics are great. What more is there to say.

Very hard to believe it could be this polished after 48hrs.

Very well done :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:31am

Great gameplay. Fun and challenging at the same time.

Great work.

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:34am

Awesome atmosphere and idea :D
Best graphics so far and one of the best mechanics i have seen in this ludum dare :D

Crabman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:57am

Oooh, that's pretty. And puzzly! Love it! :D

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:22am

This games is NICE!!! :)

mtrc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:27am

Fantastic game. Just the right length.

Jack says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:34am

This game was absolutely fantastic. Simple puzzles, but completely solid mechanics and a really nice style. I'd recommend disabling the jump though, because I accidentally got myself stuck with it and had to glitch my way through a pillar to get out

recursor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:36am

Simply wonderful! This is pro work, and I enjoyed playing every minute of it. I'd love to see a post-compo version with more levels.

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Nicely done. Great puzzle design, and executed well.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Great puzzle, AWESOME atmosphere! Very impressive.

Christophe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Very nice! Great work!

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Had a great time playing this game! Puzzles were solvable, but also not too easy. Great atmosphere, too. Really amazing job!

skymarionsky says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:08pm

This is really great!! The best game of LD29 so far for me!!

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:08pm

This could be the winner game!

cageinabird says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Wow. Amazing effort!

SojaBird says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Nice

Greg Power says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Incredible polish for one weekend. Great atmosphere - it felt dank. Great work!

tiffi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Perfectly polished, great sounds, graphics, gameplay. Wow

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:39pm

I enjoyed this, and I think it's a great game for a 48 hour event. But the puzzle doesn't get any more clever that 'what is the most complicated way I could arrange these objects', rather than anything truly puzzling. Curious to see if you continue with this!

zinfandel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Very, very nice!
Kept me captivated all the way till the satisfying end. Mechanics are easy to grasp, love the in-game instructions, and gets harder along the way, while staying approachable. Good work!

devince says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:06pm

The atmosphere is great

Korwegian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Dood, not fair. XD

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Very cool mechanic although in Chrome under Win7 I am having a lot of trouble aiming the light beams accurately because they move so fast.

Skywilly says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Gameplay is not really original but the level design is really good o_o

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:49pm

@BallpointPress - the rotation is always + or - 45 degrees. No need for precise rotation. Or is it something different?

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Nice lighting!

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:13pm

wow! love it. Not a fan of puzzle games, but this one is pretty cool :)

7Soul says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Cool game, the last puzzle was pretty interesting to solve ^^

Detocroix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Excellent mood and visual style! Such as pretty little game :)

Attention to details... nom, this earns you a lot of points <3 I really loved how the tables shook when you pushed them the wrong way. Really nice!

MintArcade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:52pm

WOW! This is one cool exploration game. Simple, but cool. Very cool

Tanner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Well done!

WraithOne says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Amazing work!

kratorspore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:37pm

I've seen many many versions of this puzzle before (I just played basically the same puzzle in Skyrim recently) but this is beautifully produced and art directed with a wonderful ambient soundtrack. Great level design too.

icereci says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:39pm

wow atmosphere was really cool.

John Drury says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Overall fantastic. Enjoyed the mooding and the puzzles were cleverly done.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Really nice for a compo entry! The art looks good, the sounds are great, the mood is pretty fitting. Really nicely polished. Good job on puzzle elements too because I know how hard they can sometimes be to create. Overall really nice job!

Thijsku says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Wow, this is really good! The graphics are amazing and the game concept is really fun. Good job!

quade81 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:14pm

This is a great game. Very good use of 2 days. I think it got my highest rating yet.

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Damnnn! Very solid for a weekend. Well done.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:40pm

I have searched THE good word to define your game and finally I find - just amazing. It's for the LD29 my favorite. All is great - design, atmosphere, concept and darkly environment. Friend, thank you for this amazing journey. I want more ++

Seraphina says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:35pm

I love pretty much everything about this entry. Fantastic job friend.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:37pm

This is nice. Very pretty.

Almost says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:13am

The game is pretty well made and pretty, but some of the pieces are hard to see when they aren't illuminated.

coquinounet says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:14am

I love this game ! And it was done in only 48 hours !

Larzan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:56am

Georgeuos, you should make more levels and publish it, i had a blast playing it, great idea for a puzzler!!!

DMinsky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Great, just great! Very holistic game.

Jeremias says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:33pm

This is a very well made entry - fantastic! Was fun to play through the puzzles and finally, I got it! You created a very moody atmosphere. Just wow!

Blokatt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:45pm

You left me very impressed.
This. Was. Great.
Everything about this is awesome.

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Nice done!
This game has awesome athmosphere. It's a pity that puzzles too easy for me...

loxo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Quite good for a game made in 48 hours, it looks and feels very polished. I wonder how you made the sound effects, because the sound familiar. More levels would be nice, work your way up to the surface.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Awesome game! Amazing that you could do all this in 48 hours. It is extremely well polished, and the graphics are great! A post compo version with a good story and more levels, could make it far ;-)

Roman Kornev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Great game! Amazed by the atmosphere! Everything from artstyle to audio is great! Too bad it was kinda short...

fserb says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Really enjoyed this one. Great idea. The puzzles were fun and rewarding. Good job! :)

LTyrosine says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:35am

Impressive polished game for such short time, nice sounds amazing mood.

marccspro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:40am

Very impressive game !The idea is awsome ! You realy did a great job :D

samooJAM says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:17pm

I was not smart enough to beat the game but I managed to break the light chain. Include hints? Very moody and fun to play.

May 1, 2014 @ 1:31am

B&W, represent.

Awesome work. Great puzzle design!

raulincze says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Awesome game! Clever puzzles and amazing mood. Too bad it was so short :(

mortus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Great game and great mood! Would have played it for hours were there more levels (and more mechanics)!

gigitrix says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Outstanding mood, outstanding presentation, and the puzzles were solid. Can't really say much else!

Spotline says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Excellent concept, realization, level design, feedbacks, ambience... we can't ask for anything more :O

zeal says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:37pm

The mood is excellent as it really grabbed me and persuaded me that I'm not in my room anymore and telling me that I'm in this underground and the only way out is by solving the light ray puzzle. The graphics are great as well. I like this kind of games and this one is really well done.

Harsay says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:07pm

This game is going to be on top 10 for sure.
Awesome mood, awesome graphics BUT WHY THERE'S NO SCREAMER!?

Hammervuis says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Simply fantastic!

randoman says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Very nice graphics and puzzle! I had a small bug before the first door, one of the crystals stopped working. Besides that it was a great experience! Congratulations!

King_Mew says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Great! The last puzzle was a bit hard but I finally managed to beat it.

AgentParsec says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Very well done, especially for 48 hours.

Nelly says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Cool puzzle

Thorig says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Nice puzzle, really liked it.

scgrn says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Great puzzles and excellent mood!

Penguincat says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:31am

This was pretty cool, I really liked the look of it, the sound, the atmosphere, the mechanics, and the controls. In fact, basically everything was great! The only problem was I ran into a bug where one of the crystals just refused to transmit the light it was receiving, so I couldn't progress further :/

Ithildin says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Brilliant! I loved the clever level design and the atmosphere, great job! :)

Clavus says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Every atmospheric and amazing visuals. Very solid puzzle game too. Great design and even little things such as the wobbling animation when you try to push something off-track show the amount of polish that went into this.

PriorBlue says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:34am

Great atmosphere with this black/white theme.

Oye Beto says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:16am

I beat the game and I liked it. I think this is a top 5 entry.
It has too much quality for a compo game, good job.
I liked all the small details like the footstep sounds and floating text for the instructions.

Why no PC version? I would've like to play it full screen.

rojo says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:05am

Really great job! The aesthetic is gorgeous.

ActionRemix says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:34pm

I adored this - the best puzzler.

DragonXVI says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Fantastic example of the ol' light/mirror puzzle. Assets perfect and well polished for the time given, controls simple and well explained with good feedback and audio on the reflectors. Puzzles well implemented with the 2 different types of reflector. Overall style very good - Easily one of the best games of the competition. :D

joe40001 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 8:45am

Solid puzzler, good use of unity's pro tools, everything ran smooth and played nicely. You didn't overdo it but you did get the most out of the mechanics you implemented. All around solid game.

Dominator_101 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Really nice puzzle game, with a nice atmosphere.

GFM says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Man, instead of being a simple "game beneath the surface", the mechanic you created from that... it's just awesome!
I really liked it!

PetorialC says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 1:24am

Nice graphics & good concept.
Great effort!!

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:58am

Wow, pretty amazing! It's compelling right from the start, which is a mean feat for such a short time. An export for Windows or OS X would be really nice, since I had problems with the web player losing mouse focus and it would be nice to play this full screen.

jerombd says ...
May 27, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Great puzzle-game with sweet graphics! I would like to see this kind of puzzles into a bigger game like Legend Of Grimrock.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]