Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gnomish Miners

by nimblegorilla - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Gnomish miners are collecting gems. Try to collect as many as possible before the mine fills up.

Inspired by Ingenious/Einfach Genial.

Update: I reduced the board size from 11x11 to 9x9 so it fits better on smaller resolutions. Please leave a comment if the game layout doesn't look right on your screen. Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#202Fun3.50
#360Overall3.38
#372Innovation3.34
#755Audio2.36
#852Graphics2.69
#941Mood2.55
#1212Theme1.97

Comments

eugman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:31am

Very well implemented game. Although I do have to mention that it seems to borrow heavily from the boardgame Ingenious.

Anoarith says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:34am

Really cool puzzle game :D ! Reminds me of the boardgame Einfach Genial.

Too bad it's not color-friendly :(

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:35am

Cool concept, and a polished interface. The rules were still a bit unclear at first (do the colors have to be uninterrupted in the row?), but I still felt like I accomplished something when I finished, even with a score of 0 : ).

Thanks for putting this up!

pichifino says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:36am

Is a good idea and a good game but I do not see the connection between the game that give the topic

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:36am

Interesting game, I like the concept behind it. The graphics are simple, but effective.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:36am

Very creative game!

WhiteVoidia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:03am

The graphics are nice and very smooth. The gameplay was fun, addicting, and sometimes mind-bending. Great job :D

HybridMind says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:42am

I've never played the games you mention inspired this, but the concept seems interesting. The random number generator screwed me a bit though on the score system. Since it produced very little blue hexes during my playtime, that was my lowest scoring gem. This is well polished, but I find the connection to the theme very missing. Yes, you called this a mining game, but that seems like merely a nod to the theme.

GreatBigJerk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Very cool puzzle game! I hope you keep going with it. It'd be really slick on mobile.

ZQMony says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:22am

This is a addicting fun puzzle game.

Ellian says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:27am

Very well made. Nice concept, especially how the final score is calculated. Simple and effective!

uRLgR3y says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:27am

Simple and fun.

ruerob says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:19am

It was really fun to have an eye on the numbers to raise the lowest color and not to block the other colors at the same time. Nice game. Thank you for that entry.

Cambrian_Man says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:07am

Well, sure it's a cool puzzle game, but where are the beards!?

petrih says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:03am

Well done!

lowcade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:18pm

was very similar to the real game.
I didn't get where is the theme?

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:18pm

A good, single player interpretation of Ingenious. I liked that a lot. A little off theme, but that doesn't matter. Nicely done.

lorniebear says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Very fun, and easy to play

Chronoberry says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:34am

Great puzzle game

May 6, 2014 @ 2:21am

Very well-implemented; the game played quickly and beautifully, and was a very interesting concept.

I found the theme to be a little bit of a hindrance in understanding the game -- I wasn't really sure why gems were being re-mined, why the sources tiles don't get included, or indeed where the gnomes were. Certainly a game I'll enjoy coming back to, though.

eskivor says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:27am

good potential

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]