Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sepsis

by berareu - Jam Entry

In Sepsis, the battle underneath our skins between an antibiotic and a strain of bacteria is recreated as a fast side-scrolling shooter! Kill as many bacteria as possible and try to keep the infection level low by collecting white blood cells. Will you be able to stop the infection and complete your mission? Instruction: -WASD or Arrows to Move -Space to shoot Tips: -Hold Space for maximum damage! -If the infection level is too high or there are way too many enemies, don't engage in combat and avoid the bacteria! -There are three levels in the game, even if their only difference is the difficulty and the color. Made by Berareu & Laustar!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#362Humor(Jam)2.58
#364Mood(Jam)3.07
#388Fun(Jam)2.97
#401Graphics(Jam)3.31
#403Overall(Jam)3.15
#416Theme(Jam)3.06
#535Audio(Jam)2.60
#710Innovation(Jam)2.16

Comments

misterwalter says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:45am

The art was excellent, but the gameplay felt a bit repetitive.

Cambrian_Man says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:07am

I totally blasted like a million evil cucumbers. Looks, sounds, and plays pretty well.

danbo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:23pm

I like the greening of the screen when you start messing up. Game has quite a slow start, though...

A very shiny game!

BigGiantHead says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:25pm

The art is really nice, just the gameplay is really simple.
The controls work perfectly though, and it is really fun blasting cucumbers :)

Nezzhil says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Very good! You must add content and levels!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:36pm

The art was nice, but the game play got a bit stale after a while. Not bad though!

MSaul says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:53pm

I stop the infection ! Really nice graphics, and audio. Cool gameplay, I love the ennemies. More bonus would be greatly appreciated. Great job !

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Nice game ! Good graphics and songs. My score is 2600.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Woo I stopped the infection! Are was really well done, a cool style to it. A little more variety in power ups / enemies would be cool, but given a game jam time frame, this was awesome.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Really nice.

Dreii says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:28am

Love the particle effects and the idea! Im terrible at bullet hell shooters, though I made it to the boss!

iambored2006 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Can't go wrong with a shmup! It would've been really satisfying to have sounds for every hit you give or take, maybe even some screen shake. Good game!

JavadocMD says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Getting this error in Win 8:

FATAL ERROR in Vertex Shader compilation
ShaderName: shd_green

D3DXCompile failed - result

at gml_Object_control_shader_Draw_64

DavidErosa says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Nice shooter! The antibiotic could go past the left side of the game screen but it wasn't a problem for the gameplay.

Harsay says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Liked the art, but this game's not challenging.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]