Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath The Sea

by renatopp - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Beneath The Sea!!!!!

In this game, you are the captain of a battleship and must defend the surface against the danger from the deep sea. Kill the summons of an ancient god and resist as long as you can!

Instructions:

- Mouse to move the ship.
- Left click to shoot.

Simple!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#258Theme3.61
#308Graphics3.58
#371Audio3.04
#415Fun3.18
#544Overall3.19
#687Mood2.86
#849Humor2.00
#1123Innovation2.21

Comments

Mincemeat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:23am

Very fun! The special weapons were really frustrating though, Would have been nice if they were bound to a different key then your main attack. I found myself spamming through them to get back to the normal attack (Especially the mines).

renatopp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:30am

Yes, I know, It was a mess the weapon system. The only way to change weapons manually is by clicking on the top bar, but that is kind of useless.

renatopp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:32am

*However, you also can choose not to get the special weapons.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:51am

Why would you want to destroy all those delicious lobsters T_T

hanoth says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:54am

l love the look of this game!

Shivur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:01am

Good gameplay and smooth graphics.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:12am

Enjoyable music and audio feel, the game made me smile. The bombs also felt powerful. One minor thing that would make it even better would be if the bombs made some sort of explosion sprite (or at least some sort of effect) when they kill a summons. This might also help differentiate between the normal weapon and more advanced weapons.

The main problem I saw, which also got me killed multiple times, was that sometimes the ship randomly stops firing. It's not overheated (I got the whistle noise when I overheated, and I'm pretty sure I had an empty meter in this case), and I had ammo (or an infinite weapon)...but mouse clicks no longer register.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:58pm

good intro... that's all

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:15pm

haven't seen many "complete" games, this is one :) simple but very nice! and fun to play

xgeovanni says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:25pm

A simple game but executed well, nicely polished for the time limit.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Wow, this is a slick-looking game!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Nice graphics. I like the screen layout and general idea. I think it has potential. I would recommend working on the "jucyness". Some particle effects for the ship breaking into waves, air bubbles under water, enemies dropping dead instead of disappearing and so on would go a long way. Keep up the good work!

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:30pm

It's good well polished game with nice visuals and audio, but I wish there was something more to the mechanics.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:39pm

This is really fun :)
The mines are a bit annoying though...

jorgemoag says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:39am

challenging but when you play for a long time, it becomes repetitive

alexdantas says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:24pm

One of the best entries so far.

What I liked most about it was the art - It got me so in the mood!

It's really addictive because it gets challenging and you really want to see what the other power-ups do.

CiderPunk says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:43pm

love the silhouette style!

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Nice twist on the Deep Scan.

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:03pm

*type of game.

MintArcade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:26pm

That's fun game. Looks interesting and slick. Nicely done.

alexdantas says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:10am

Hello, there!
FYI your game was featured on this blog post:

(9 Gems from Ludum Dare 29)
http://alexdantas.net/stuff/posts/9-gems-from-ludum-dare-29/

Thanks a lot for making this awesome entry :)

May 5, 2014 @ 3:11am

Pretty awesome game!

SimianLogic says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:17pm

The theme music kind of reminds me of Terminator. Is there a way to switch weapons? I was doing pretty good until I got the mines and then got murdered.

paps says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:28pm

nice graphics and sound

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]