Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeon Auto-Crawler

by Threef - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's bugged rogue-like.

Controls:
Mouse - Movement and attack
Z - Auto crawl
R - Restart game
Space - Debug pathfinding

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#641Fun2.93
#733Theme3.06
#843Innovation2.67
#850Overall2.88
#963Graphics2.53
#1930Coolness26%

Comments

dartsdev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:03am

Fun game, fairly simple design. Pathing needs a bit of work as does AI. Some soundfx or music is needed to complete the atmosphere.

Lafie says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:26pm

This game is missing some important audio-visual cues when the player gets hit. Currently, I die rather unexpectedly if I don't watch my HP like a hawk.

The random map generation is interesting, though. And the combat is nice, albeit simple. It is a true rogue-like, and I had the most fun juggling multiple enemies by using specific moves to manipulate their pathing.

byExclusive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:01am

good

romandtom says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:23am

You could make the shadow look better I guess, I didn't really know what to do so I just threw random clicks on the coins till i died.
When I clicked Z I think it restarted the game.
I just checked out the CPU and its pretty high for this game ><

it looks cool , not perfect of course

Threef says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 11:31am

@romandtom you've must not seen enemies near you. They killed you, and after death game restarts. When game restarts it generates dungeon, and that takes some time and of course CPU works.

Z key works as intended. You press it and character runs looking for something interesting.

pichifino says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Like it

MokuJin says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Like the dungeon crawler part.

It miss some UI informations, like when a mob touches you.
Otherwise it's pretty cool.

I'm impress by the dungeon generation part.

Matt Hartley says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Actually very fun, well done!

May 18, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Great Job! -Mallot1 GameGrape Corporation: www.codingrevolution.blogspot.com

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]