Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the Surf-Ace

by FatJoe - Jam Entry

Beneath the Surf-Ace is a game of a cheating Surf Ace, who's being dragged around by Dolphin called Quacky, you!

Jump through the golden hoops to collect them, boost forward with the Left-Mouse-Button and make sure the Surf Ace stays alive!

Code & Gamedesign by Filth
Pixels & Gamedesign by JoiSigurdss
QA & Gamedesign by Marco Bancale
Music "Rainbow Run" by FlashJockey

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#40Overall(Jam)3.90
#55Graphics(Jam)4.36
#60Fun(Jam)3.69
#77Theme(Jam)3.79
#89Humor(Jam)3.52
#144Audio(Jam)3.59
#198Innovation(Jam)3.38
#246Mood(Jam)3.34
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:40am

I got an error of "Bad File Length" and couldn't play it.

eugman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:41am

I also got a "Bad File Length" error

atlantian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:43am

Good game, i played a few times. A count of rings may of been nice so you can compare your attempts. I also like the graphics. Well done

FatJoe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:11am

Thanks for the heads up @carrier_signal & @eugman.

The "Bad File Length" issue has been solved, moved the build to a more stable web host. Also has Windows, Mac and Linux versions now available.

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:33am

Guys, you have clean, nice looking game. I love that sunny beach style, it's interesting to explore new obstacles! Like it

danbo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:33am

This is really cool. It's like Ecco the Dolphin : REVENGEANCE. Lovely style.

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:39am

The graphics on this are extremely polished. I also really like the clever take on the title. The gameplay is simple but goes smoothly.

mechabit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:50am

Very polished, better than most diving/swimming flash games and in less time!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:19am

Wow! very impressive. Reminds me of the game Tiny Wings but on water. Great game play, art and music! Wish there were more rings, but that's being nitpicky.

ninjascript says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:21am

I love the graphics. Very impressive!

Pickle says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:45am

Nice job! Gameplay is great as well as the graphics. Though, Wish I knew how many rings I picked up, otherwise I feel they are pointless.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:35am

Awesome graphics, gameplay felt pretty smooth and enjoyable. I could cheat a bit by making the dolphin ram into boats and swim along the surface - I had a 6 boat pileup going on at one point.

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Great audio! I really thought it fit well with the mood of the game. I also think the rings give very little purpose, since I had enough fun just trying to get as far as possible without screwing up. :P the motions of the dolphin with the rider feels really good. My one little critique is that the game window is pretty big, which made me feel like the rings would mean a little more to me if I could see them coming up. Overall, great work! I had fun playing it :D

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Really fun and polished, the pixel art (especially the dolphin) is amazing. I also wish the rings could count in final score.

Luis Anton says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:29pm

I hate that surfer, I want to play just with the dolphin, it's great how it moves, dives and jumps!

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:57pm

oh very nice! really love it from the looks to the hectic gameplay.. pretty sure I barely grabbed a ring, but it was fun just to be a dolphin :D

mollymus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:19am

Best take on the theme so far! Nice job! Also, god how I hate them boats.

zkenshin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Really liked the art style, and interesting mechanic. Nice job. :)

local minimum says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Great tunes and fun game being that dolphin. I bet controls are much more intuitive with touch, but worked fine with mouse.

One comment on the coin/rings. What did they do? As for the score it seemed like only meters mattered. So if coins were to boost speed or just add extra joy that would make them understandable, make you make the surfer do cool tricks. Get applauds. Yay!

Second thing was that it would have been nice to get a warnings about the oxygen level of the diver.

And finally, at least add a personal high-score.

Great game! More dolphins!

Thorig says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:14am

I just like to play as a dolphin and make crazy jumps. Too bad I can not make flips and other tricks. This a good entry!

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:04am

The controls feel very good, and both the art and audio are awesome. I just hink the game was lacking some metrics or feedback

May 1, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Very cool, love the style.

May 1, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Very nice game. I like the easy to learn controls and the colorful graphics.

JavadocMD says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Fun concept that just needs a little more development. Underwater and sky obstacles would have upped the challenge, and the rings need more purpose.

davidcollado says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:35pm

I really liked your game! Loved the art style!

BadgerPriest says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:05am

Unfortunately, the web link doesn't seem to work.

goerp says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Well done on the title of course ;)
You made the pun into a original game.
I liked the graphics (good waves) and the music fitted this type of game I think.

The steering was a bit odd for me. The mouse is somewhere on the screen, which makes the dolphin go in a certain direction, which makes the surf ace move and you have to scan where the surf ace is going and try to score points by jumping the hoops. It all was a bit much for my old eyes :) Wchich is a shame, because that way I miss some of the nice graphics.

So, good game but for me a bit too difficult.

romandtom says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 12:09am

I didn't understand what coins are for ><
Oh and I found a funny glitch, if you just swim forward and do not leave the left mouse button you will never die haha
Great graphics
I loved it :)

FatJoe says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 11:35am

Thanks for the amazing comment guys!

Yes, the coins are completely useless (except for the *pling* sound) as we forgot to display how many you got before end of the competition.

I'm going to write a Postmortem soon for more interesting stuff.. Like, did you know that you can fly? Jump out of the water and press spacebar.. a hidden FlappyDolphin feature, because why not. Uncompleted though :\

@BadgerPriest - That's fixed now! Thanks for letting me know!

@romandtom - Good spot, we'll have to fix that for the "High Tide" Post Compo version of the game :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]