Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

SURF ACE

by mrhill - Jam Entry

Explore the diversity of three worlds in spectacular eyepopping 2D!!! Who will be the mightiest flipping fish-spear-rider in the land. Only this game will answer this long forgotten question. Will you be the next SURF ACE..or will you be the SURF LACE, who wants to be a Lace.. not me.
XOXO oskar and samuel special thanks to kalle, stefan and david

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#20Fun(Jam)4.00
#53Innovation(Jam)3.83
#53Humor(Jam)3.73
#77Overall(Jam)3.74
#124Audio(Jam)3.66
#129Theme(Jam)3.66
#186Mood(Jam)3.48
#303Graphics(Jam)3.56

Comments

lajos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Looks awesome and super fun to play!

lukepilgrim says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:09pm

great game :D there are actually a lot of sharks in the water. no good place to surf...

robopossum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Nice idea, and good music too.

tehryanx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:31pm

super fun and pretty challenging. Great work :D

Myyyvothrr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Sound and Music is great!

DazKins says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Nice really fun idea, great fun to play. Maybe a few to many sharks but definitely and interesting and enjoyable concept, good job!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Awesome game. I'm liking the colourful retroey graphics and the sound, and its pretty fun to play.

jujule says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Grpahics and sound are ok, but is is the gameplay and its original take on the them and the perfectly responsive controls that really shine. I like it very much. You should keep working on it. Definitely.

dector says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Game looks simpler on screenshots. But it's VERY VERY fun in action!

magicdweedoo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:25pm

my favourite so far very good

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:09am

Funny lol. Good Jam guys. :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:18pm

hahaha, YAHOOO!! i love that sound , great music and a very fun game. i really enjoyed the ride! great stuff , keep on jaming (- :

jsspiegel says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Really fun game!

pkenney says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Whao, I expected something crazy from the screen shots, but this was even more nuts than I thought it could be!! A slick, wild ride... well done!

I wish it showed me the number of fish I speared at the end of the level, so I could feel like I needed to ride the wave better just one more time.

javierecf says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:01am

Funny, weird and really well done.

pjchardt says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:53am

I love it! Great fun. Impressive amount of content given the time. Nice.

Katamori says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:48pm

I'm speechless. This is the No. #1 at Fun for me. Seriously, Even Diggity Dig (or whatever it's called) can't be better.

Check my video for helluva lot of laughingwhile playing your game :D also, thanks for recommendation.

mrhill says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:49pm

I would love to, can not find it though. Have you uploaded it yet
Or do you have a link :-)

jsmars says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Nice work, fun game and nice presentation! Sound effects and music felt a bit off for the style of the game tho.

May 9, 2014 @ 11:05am

Nice play on words! Great game, very fun and funny! I included it in part 16 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/ruvs0qoO4zU

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]