Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Escape From Guardian (Fixed link!)

by Pheonise - 48 Hour Compo Entry

* Fixed with real link this time! Windows, Linux and Mac builds also included (compressed 7z), if you're into that. (Any problems on Linux or Mac won't be fixed - I don't have those platforms to test on).

** Due to the competition being over, no changes will be made to fix obvious issues (like the end of the game). It should work mostly, though.


Stay on the platforms; don't touch the sand; make your way to the temple on the other side; do not feed the ancient stone beasts.

The goal is simple; get to the temple. But there's a lot of sand.
And there's something, or some things, underneath the sand...
(That's the theme part right there, if you missed it!)

Difficulty ranges from 1 to 9; not saying how it makes it difficult, but if your computer isn't too great, it might have problems at 9. Or it might not, I haven't been able to test.

Web Player build seems to introduce some... 'Interesting' behaviors from the guardians. If they start acting weird, try jumping a couple times on the sand.
Or don't; you could use it to your advantage instead.

All assets were created from scratch, with the exception of the player controller; that uses Unity's sample controller. But all the sounds, textures, scripts-that-aren't-the-player-controller, and models, were all made by me from scratch (if it wasn't already obvious!)

*Source and Windows build will be uploaded later.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#74Mood3.84
#157Theme3.75
#318Audio3.14
#322Graphics3.55
#332Humor2.80
#350Fun3.28
#384Innovation3.32
#388Overall3.34

Comments

Apr 27, 2014 @ 1:52pm

The head movement on jumping is a nice idea.

myachin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:57am

Link is broken (follows to this page!!!)

Taugeshtu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:58am

Yay, recursive gaming! :D

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:02am

Is the game... this page. Woah.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:08am

Can't really play it, due to broken link.
But the image is nice and reminds me of Shadow of the Colossus!

furriKira says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:09am

The game is outstandingly like this exact same page! Woah.

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:09am

Err, yeah, it looks like you put the wrong bit.ly url there.

Pheonise says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:15am

Link fixed! Sorry about that!

Reinkout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:25am

I felt like Kevin Bacon in "Tremors"! I was fun running there. :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:41am

It was really good a,though I found the movement to be really slow at first. And I think you made me watch Dune later. :D

r0x0r says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:47am

linux build.. please?

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:52am

Now I can play.

It's DUNE-ish!

lief says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:04am

I liked the head bobbing and movement, felt natural.
The starting difficulty seems a bit easy though, I just ran to the other side. I'd make it slightly harder with the option to turn down the difficulty.
Nice use of the theme.

The spice must flow.

Pheonise says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:33am

Thanks everyone for the comments! I guess I need to go watch Dune and Tremors, since I haven't seen them yet :P

@r0x0r: Your wish has been granted! Don't know how well it'll run, since I can't test it on Linux, but Unity is pretty great, so it should work fine!

saiato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:36am

VERY cool! I really like the idea of the sand creatures. It kind of reminds me of Shadow of Colossus, except you're running away instead of fighting. I was very scared of the monster, so mood was extremely successful. Would have been nice for something to happen at the end when you reach the temple.

Zyper says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:38pm

So scary! :)
One of my favorite LD games!
Reminds me of Dune and Sandworm http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sandworm_(Dune)

AgeNt_ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:45pm

This had me wanting to punch my screen... in a good way.. Good job!

zell2002 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:32pm

This is excellent. Its like SOTC meets Dune and Tremors
I'd say, make the walking a bit faster.
The sounds are terrifying when the monster appears - great stuff!

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Hahaha, this made me jump a lot. :)

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:23pm

The guardians look badass! I loved the camera motion when you jump too!

elefantopia says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:06am

Cool graphics and sounds! I got sick from the jumping, but it was the only way to move fast.

jorgemoag says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Good graphics, a liitle creepy, but very good

DarkEngineer says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Nice game!

moonmagic says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Uneasy feelings knowing that Terrors await under the sand; quiet, plenty of time to anticipate Eating. Nice! Sand sound effect works; wish it changed to Rock sound effect when walking on rock. Crumbling rock sound when worm attacks seems incongruous? A whooshing roar with lots of falling sand would be better. Crossed first waste, entered first temple (are there more? Nothing happened once inside), stopped.

bombjack says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:00pm

simple but effective graphics!

tenpn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:18am

Nice concept, but the movement felt a bit too slow, and I couldn't seem to end the game. Liked the mountain ranges and general atmosphere though.

May 2, 2014 @ 11:39pm

I like this idea. This game is surprisingly tense when the sandworm pops out, good sense of atmosphere. Pretty cool.

Garris says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:02am

This game terrified me. The screen shake and the sound effects of the stone beasts made did a great job of creating a sense of paranoia. The camera angle wobble while moving made me a bit dizzy, but it was worth it!

Kate Kligman says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:29am

The mood was great: I was nervous inching aross the rocks to the temple. I finally made it on the second try.

It reminded me of the old Tomb Raiders in spots, particularly when I couldn't climb the mountain on the right side of the temple. I had to work my way around.

The temple swayed a bit in the distance when walking as though the player might be drunk. This seemed funny given the serious mission of avoiding the sand worms.

Very fun, great concept and execution.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]