Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Deep Sea

by admung - Jam Entry

it's a bit rushed but here it is!!!
code by @admung
art by @blabberf

(we weren't able to include a lot of the things we wanted but the core mechanics are there. we're going to work on it more!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#155Theme(Jam)3.59
#164Graphics(Jam)3.93
#186Mood(Jam)3.48
#369Audio(Jam)3.08
#381Overall(Jam)3.19
#423Innovation(Jam)2.88
#492Fun(Jam)2.77
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

eugman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:33am

Very beautiful. I would totally play it if it had more variety and weapons. It could also be an interesting mobile game.

Tweak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:18am

Loved the particle effects and the art style! I feel that maybe if you would have made the jellyfish move the game would be a bit more challenging, but it's still great regardless! Congratulations!

Tosic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:06am

Can get boring, but great work! :D

ruerob says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:10am

I like the graphics and I hope you will continue the work on it.

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:35am

Nice entry, the controls are fine :P
The only "negative" thing is that isn't much of a challenge :(
With some updates it can become a great title!!!

RetroEpic says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:25am

I really enjoyed the mood and audio on this one, and those particle effects are awesome! Could definitely do with a bit more depth (he he) though.

klianc09 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:48am

It really looks nice and the audio really captures the feeling of being underwater. The gameplay is unfortunately lacking a bit of depth, but I guess it could get really better when you get around to implement your planned features.
The dying animation was funny to watch though.

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Yay I got to the end ! Well... it was easy. Beautiful art and sound, nice color choices.

hbocao says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:35am

Aww man... if only made the enemies move would be so much better. The art is amazing and I loved the zones hehe I think I spend a few minutes playing with the bubbles when you click. Well done!

Garris says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:46am

It's very pretty, and the sound is great. It felt like it was over too quick, but what was there was really nicely done.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:38pm

very neat art and funny gameplay!

NicoM says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 12:39am

Sleek art, would love to see animation, especially since I've seen what your artist can do;), also fairly fun gameplay, although I always found it easier to dodge than to shoot, and never actually used the gun, but great job!:)

romandtom says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 3:16am

Wonderful :)
I expected to see more enemies

Tititesouris says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Very nice little game, no challenge at all, but a very fine work on the art and animations, you should continue working on it, that could make a good finished game.

May 14, 2014 @ 10:31pm

I love the particle effects *w* nice graphics and the background sound its just awesome. The game is very short but its ok. Great work :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]