Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sinking Feeling

by Gwinnell - 48 Hour Compo Entry

SINKING FEELING is a game where you fall through space and time... sort of. It's mostly glass! (INVISIBLE SURFACES).

INSTRUCTIONS:
- Use arrow keys to SMASH THAT GLASS.
- Avoid the sharp bits (AKA the sides and ends).
- New content for every 10 panes smashed.

NOW AVAILABLE:
- Browser version!

FIXES:
- OSX: Game no longer crashes when hitting glass.
- Windows: Audio no longer plays once the game window is closed.
- Windows: Missing dlls msvcr120.dll and msvcp120.dll are now included in the download.
- Windows: Added error message if your computer does not support OpenGL 3.2.

TODO:
- Mobile version?
- Super speeeeed!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#72Fun3.81
#115Audio3.61
#205Graphics3.77
#214Overall3.57
#276Mood3.34
#362Humor2.74
#855Innovation2.66
#1058Theme2.46

Comments

Skencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:57am

when I click on the Windows link it takes me to a bad link page.

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:00am

@ Skencer, fixed!

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:45am

So hard! :)

embero says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:35am

Crashes on OS X after ~ 10 seconds (passing 3 - 5 gates).

Stack trace

Process: LD29 [1555]
Path: /Users/USER/Downloads/Sinking Feeling.app/Contents/MacOS/LD29
Identifier: org.forceofhabit.LD29
Version: 1.0 (1.0)
Code Type: X86-64 (Native)
Parent Process: launchd [270]
Responsible: LD29 [1555]

OS Version: Mac OS X 10.9.2 (13C64)
Report Version: 11


Crashed Thread: 0 Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread

Exception Type: EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGSEGV)
Exception Codes: KERN_INVALID_ADDRESS at 0x00007fff5407e000

VM Regions Near 0x7fff5407e000:
Stack 00007fff5387e000-00007fff5407e000 [ 8192K] rw-/rwx SM=COW thread 0
-->
__TEXT 00007fff6aae5000-00007fff6ab19000 [ 208K] r-x/rwx SM=COW /usr/lib/dyld

Thread 0 Crashed:: Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread
0 libsystem_platform.dylib 0x00007fff8bdcec65 _platform_memmove$VARIANT$Unknown + 357
1 GLEngine 0x00007fff96ed2031 glBufferData_Exec + 539
2 libark2d.dylib 0x000000010bcb5e3c ARK::Graphics::QuadVBO::setData(float*) + 76
3 libark2d.dylib 0x000000010bcb3f7b ARK::Graphics::Renderer::fillTriangles(float*, unsigned char*, unsigned int, bool) + 347
4 libark2d.dylib 0x000000010bcb3c10 ARK::Graphics::RendererBatchItem::render() + 304
5 libark2d.dylib 0x000000010bcb565c ARK::Graphics::RendererBatch::render() + 76
6 org.forceofhabit.LD29 0x000000010bba36ff InGameState::render(ARK::Core::GameContainer*, ARK::State::StateBasedGame*, ARK::Graphics::Renderer*) + 223
7 libark2d.dylib 0x000000010bd0fac7 ARK::State::StateBasedGame::render(ARK::Core::GameContainer*, ARK::Graphics::Renderer*) + 103
8 org.forceofhabit.LD29 0x000000010bb8495c DefaultGame::render(ARK::Core::GameContainer*, ARK::Graphics::Renderer*) + 92
9 libark2d.dylib 0x000000010bc72715 ARK::Core::GameContainer::start() + 1397
10 org.forceofhabit.LD29 0x000000010bb83b11 main + 385
11 org.forceofhabit.LD29 0x000000010bb83984 start + 52

Jeremias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:52pm

I like the audio and the visual presentation fits well, too. The game is quite hard but still very addictive! For a post-compo version, I would make it a little, little bit easier by moving the player a bit to the top so he has more time to react. My record was 22. The music kept playing for a while after I closed the game :D

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Hm. It says that MSVCR120.dll is missing when I try to launch on Windows.

AlbertoSM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:41pm

I got dizzy... gets really difficult (and fast!) early on xD

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:43am

Crashes for me as well, but I was able to get a good feel for the game before it happened.

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:52am

woop, pretty fun!

i think the game is still running in the background after i close it, i can still hear the music haha

embero says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:23pm

New version works now. Thx :)

23 so far

Aske says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Totally worth downloading ;D

Boodog says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Awesome job! Really fun! :D

KyleDAudio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Ah, I found your game! I think it's really well-designed in a deliciously simple way! Nicely done!

Joshua_Burr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Well designed and fun.

dector says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Seems like complete game. Is Android version planning? It would be very cool.

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:01pm

@dector: Is that something you'd be interested in?! :D I'd need to balance it a whole lot more before a proper release though. :)

Newt_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:21pm

When I click the link, it says account suspended? D:

Spaceoff says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Same here, account suspended. Use dropbox or hostr or something - some web hosts don't appreciate actual traffic >_>.

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:35pm

@Newt_ @Spaceoff -- WHOOPS! I didn't go over the bandwidth limit, I somehow missed an invoice from my hosting provider. All fixed now!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Cool little game. Seems like it'd be a great fit for mobile. I like the glass breaking effects.

mimic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Visual and audio are top notch. Best I got was 28.

Eirikir says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:16am

Hahaha I was playing it a lot unitl i gave up. Awesome work, i loved the GUI. Simple and really really Fun!. :D

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:08am

Great audio and nice gameplay.

Celt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:18am

Fast paced, hard as fuck and brilliant presentation...

Ellian says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Doesn't fit the theme that much, but definively that kind of addictive and simple game that works very well.

I had some glass panel not being destroyed when I hit them (but still added to the score, so I guess it's okay), but really well done anyway. :)

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Awesome job! great graphics, I was rockin to the music, and really nice risk/reward gameplay. Its allot like the games I make in that regard, could be a great mobile game!

petey123567 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Straightforward, immediately fun. Awesome!

Wakka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:58pm

very fun retro-style arcade game with flappy bird like addictiveness

geekdrums says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:33am

Oh it's really addictive... enjoyed a lot! Web version seems a little buggy( I fall through a grass but sometime it just not counted ), so I tried download version and finally got 21.

May 1, 2014 @ 10:31pm

OMG this is sooo good I'm going to spend all night playing this!!! <3<3
You really nailed the addictive and frustrating gameplay, and on top of that it's visually stunning and the audio is perfect. 5/5 one of the most fun games this LD!

Crooksister says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:58am

Very difficult but enjoyed :)

tomvert says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:57am

I love it ! It reminds me of solipskier.

May 3, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Super colorful, super fun game! I included it in part 11 of my Ludum Dare compilation video if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/-vf2U372Ego

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:41am

really good but so hard - give some more indication where the glass will be - nice job

May 6, 2014 @ 4:55pm

this feels great :D

ohsqueezy says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:59pm

I love this game. It's a head falling through panes of glass in space. I played a lot of times and finally got to the white screen and will play more. I think the idea of going for or avoiding the glass is great.

Myyyvothrr says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Fast and difficult, liked it! Great job.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]