Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gorilla 2100

by leparlon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Remember that old Gorillas game? Now its the year 2100, and apparently the water levels rose a little bit.

Play as angry birds, reversed, half underwater.
Try the multiplayer (IT WORKS! Man, that wasn't so easy to do)

Tools used:
Construct 2
Sfxr
Artrage
Paint.net

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#149Humor3.29
#358Fun3.27
#773Innovation2.76
#812Overall2.92
#816Mood2.70
#859Graphics2.68
#875Audio2.08
#944Theme2.73

Comments

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:04am

simply awesome

DavidErosa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:11am

Nice one. Sometimes the controls get a bit "choppy" but overall a funny game.

NicoM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:13am

Interesting, I was surprised that there was always someone for multiplayer:D, although It seemed some situations were unwinnable for one of the players... but nice job:)

Sestren says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:38am

Nice take on a classic game. I'll keep trying back every now and then to see if anyone hops on for the multiplayer.

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:09am

gorillas.bas forever! But seriously the water mechanics make for an interesting take. And the multiplayer is just gravy.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:32am

I feel the theme was really shoehorned into the game, besides that the gameplay is good enough but there was a problem with the randomly generated levels where the gorillas would often spawn behind a wall that made the game a lot more difficult than it should be. I never managed to hit an AI player, they always managed killing themselves. Online is a nice feature though, and an interesting thought.

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:40am

The other monkey threw his banana, it spun like a frisbee, came back down and blew himself up... This game is amazing. haha, would be really fun with more people online, great job! :)

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:25am

Yeah, there were a few situations where I couldn't shoot over the wall that was spawned in front of me. I also agree that the theme feels somewhat tacked on.

The online multiplayer feature definitely caught me off guard. Not a feature I would expect from one of these games, so kudos for that.

Tanner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:28pm

I'm a big fan of multiplayer games. It is really to see such a game here on LD :)

leparlon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:04am

Glad to see you guys having fun :)
@Halbernacht and @AestheticGamer about the theme, I agree with you guys. I had such big plans for this water... then the time was up (underestimated multiplayer) and it ended up as an extra feature instead of the main thing of the game.

atlantian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:58am

Had a fair bit of fun. Good job

ruthiepee says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:59am

Good fun game. Nice work on the multiplayer. I like the added physics of the water; it makes the game much less predictable.

Akihidas says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:06am

Played it online with my mate for about half an hour, so fun!

DrMelon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:06am

Had fun playing this with a friend! The water surface really makes the bananas less predictable!

pedro.thiers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:43am

I got sad when I tried to blow up the moon and nothing happened =/ Nice job on the multiplayer!

João Kucera says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:55am

Really funny!

moonmagic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:29am

The underwater friction is hilarious, grand banana fun. Computer killed itself with errant banana and I laughed all night.

jeffz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:08am

My heart soared when I saw what this was. I think you should definitely add the terrain destruction. Very cool idea and execution.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Awesome idea but hard to play it.
Trying to understand why the gorillas are in water?

leparlon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:23pm

@PaperBlurt global warming came too fast

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Unique graphical style!

koe415 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:30am

Simple game but very fun. Played a few rounds against the AI. It seemed to randomly get close to me and then be completely off in the next shot. Visuals were pretty unique and it sticks to the theme well. Good game overall.

May 5, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Weird, simple, fun game! I included it in part 12 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series! http://youtu.be/O5O979VlwyY

edibletoaster says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Gorillas.bas was the first game I ever tinkered with so I had to try this out. Nobody was playing multiplayer when I tried but nice touch that you added that in. Good work.

Nice take on a classic

Erkberg says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 12:00am

The water mechanic makes this a lot of fun, good job! The first time I won was by suicide of the AI. :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]