Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Legend of the Thunder Fish

by BMacIntosh - Jam Entry

Controls: WASD+mouse

A game about life as a submarine fisherman. Make your living catching fish in the great blue sea, interact with friendly townsfolk, and explore the unknown.

An HTML5 game using ThreeJS.

Made in 48 hours by Brian MacIntosh and Justin Britch.
Music thanks to NGXMusical.


-4/29/14 Fixed a physics problem

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#63Theme(Jam)3.84
#146Fun(Jam)3.42
#212Mood(Jam)3.43
#242Innovation(Jam)3.30
#252Overall(Jam)3.39
#317Audio(Jam)3.18
#320Humor(Jam)2.70
#487Graphics(Jam)3.07

Comments

ky533541 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:04am

Great visuals, looks really polished. Nice work!

Mihael Medan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:09am

Can't figure out how to actually catch a fish? I figured it had something to do with that harpoon but couldn't figure out how to fire it. So I was just colliding with fish. Other than that, I really like the light effect, sounds are good. I like it! :)

dartsdev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:24am

Nice game. Fun playing over and over again. Issue on death with reset but good otherwise.

GagaPete says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:30am

Nice game, awesome music.

kasarun says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:13pm

I really enjoyed it. It just need a few minor adjustment (submarine hitbox, and automatic reload)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:33am

This game is perhaps the most realistic adaptation of the 1995 film 'Waterworld' currently available on the PC.

The stark philosophical premise of humanity living in a world submerged by ecological ruin permeates this game. Its ideas, its story, surround the contrast of human attempts to continue life in this desolate ocean. They float by on scraps, making a living from a single man in his submersible. It is poignant, and horrific.

Jyrkface says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:39pm

All I'm seeing is a black screen with $0 at the top?

Tweak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Once I turned that music on, this game was a fun trip!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:04pm

You win man. I thought this was cool for the first few minutes... then I figured out how to fish. Great work!

davidwparker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Neat little game- any reason you decided to use Three.js to make a 2d game?

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Oh man, it's pretty dark down the bottom... GIANT SHARK! I like how the submarine has different sprites dictating health rather than a health bar! The music - once untoggled - was funny, but fitting.

BMacIntosh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:08am

Great to hear, all!

@davidwparker: I used ThreeJS because it's more efficient than drawing 2D with so many images (especially if they need to rotate), it is much easier to manage the visual depth of things, and it let me do some fun tricks with changing the UV coordinates of the planes (like the parallax particles and the waves).

HybridMind says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:54am

This game was really cool. A bit hard down at the deeper levels but it kept me engaged for quite some time. It did take me a bit to figure out that I could reel the harpoon back in and hold more than one fish at a time though! :D Nice job creating a strange little water world system.

MintArcade says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:57am

Really enjoying this game. Idea is original to. Very well polished.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:10pm

I liked the harpoon mechanics

starpixie says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:48am

Fun game. Never figured out how to upgrade the town or show that I killed the shark. Ended up going into the endless depths to be alone :).

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Loving this mechanic, I am also a sucker for fishing games. Those damn aggressive tuna!

May 1, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Nice fishing mechanic and solid game play, good work in 48 hours. Game should start with music on as default, the music adds a lot and I thought at first it didn't have any.

LTyrosine says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:34am

I've been playing for the last 20 minutes and liked it a lot. Greate game.

jujule says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Very moody thanks to the good musics. I like the hook mechanic and that the gameplay has 2 alternate sides. Nice work.

PaperBlurt says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:15pm

I wanna be a submarine fisherman now!

Tomski says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Good fun to play, the town stuff is a great touch too, overall a very nice polished game, well done!

Cambrian_Man says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:33am

The harpoon mechanics work really well. Would be cool to see this expanded on after the jam.

ZYXer says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Great game! Funny little background story, comfortable physics, fun gameplay and great music. I'm just not sure what happend when I gave money to the town folk.

demonshanker2 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:43pm

I like the idea of coming back to town for selling fish and getting repairs. Cool that its in HTML5!

gre says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Nice concept. I like the moral aspect of the game.
The gameplay in the water is quite good, but the gameplay in the platform could be improved.

berryhermans says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Wow, you have the EXACT same concept as we have. Only you worked it out a lot better! Loved it!

KuGrou says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 7:59am

While probably not intended, I liked how I was able to maintain the momentum from the knock-back when hit by a fish or shark. It allowed a way to sacrifice some ship health to make a quick escape to the surface, and could even be used the other way to quickly reach deeper areas.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]