Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Cube

by kevincorrigan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

TO PLAY:
Extract the zip file and double click on "The Cube.exe" and enjoy

Your an investigator investigating the reports of a mysterious cube by the canyon road. Find the cube and investigate. Then try to escape!

Controls:
WSAD to walk around,
SPACE to jump
LEFT CTRL to crouch
MOUSE to look around
LEFT CLICK to interact

You win by getting out of the cube:)
Source files is the same zip as the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#395Mood3.17
#428Graphics3.35
#506Theme3.32
#544Innovation3.08
#679Humor2.27
#1048Overall2.65
#1112Fun2.29
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

Clinthoney says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:05am

Started downloading it instantly got a notification that it may be harmful sorry but im not downloading it or rating it.

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:20am

This was interesting

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:47am

I won! I'm not sure exactly what happened but I won!

kevincorrigan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:11am

Ya sorry, didn't exactly have enough time to make it clearer, but you win when your depth is back up at 0(getting out of the cube).

MaesK says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Hey, we picked the same name for the game :P

Your cube is interesting, but it got a little confusing when I entered it and there was no light at all.

After retrying I thought it was some kind of puzzle with the paintings on the wall, but it feels like there is only two options on each floor. Maybe a little more of explanation would be useful, and some sound too, but that costs time, I know. Well, maybe there is audio, but it didnt work for me somehow.

By the way, good work with the visuals outside. Even with those inside the cube, because it got a bit claustrophobic, which helps the mood and theme. It must be hard to create good 3D visuals in so few time. Nice job!

(.py files... I miss Python a lot)

kevincorrigan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Thanks! ya there is another button, but its hidden and it makes you move back up and out of the cube

dook says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:27pm

This was really glitchy on my computer :/ I had to move the mouse really carefully or it would just jump around, and I fell through the world at one point. I Didn't get very far, but I liked the pretty, surreal little world :)

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Hehe,...to be honest I didn't get it. But I found it interesting. Not sure why but after the thrid try I did get in the cube with lights on! Then it was like in a David Lynch-Videogame. Like I know there is some sense in pressing the buttons, I don't get it, but also get excited :D
Since I'm a linux guy I played the game from within Blender.I do like to see people not using always Unity.
Good job,...

pumpkin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:19pm

I was unable to run it. Is it 64 bits?

kevincorrigan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Yes its 64 bits, but if you have blender on your computer, or if you feel like getting blender you could open and play the game through blender on mac/win/linux 64/32 bit

klianc09 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:25pm

I'm sorry, but I had no idea what I was doing, because it was completely dark inside the cube and then I mysteriously won. I'm not sure if it's a bug or intended.
I didn't know you could make games with blender though.

ultramailman says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:18am

Nice. I got to level 33, then died. Not sure how to go back to depth 0.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]