Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dino Digger

by Kimau - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Unearth fossils with minimal damage, carefully chipping away the earth.
Practice - No Limit
Timed - Time Limit
Recover - Reveal 90% of the Dinosaur

I wanted to make this into 3D geometry but lost a bunch of time to silly Unity stuff. So I kept it 2D in the end but for post compo I will make a DX11 version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#25Theme4.11
#68Innovation4.00
#240Overall3.53
#374Mood3.19
#504Graphics3.24
#780Fun2.76

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:37am

Looking forward to a 3-D version!

NeiloGD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:42am

Love this. Looking forward to seeing a 3D version as it would be easier to spot how much damage is done to the bones visually. What would be kinda cool is if it worked with a graphics tablet and the pressure affected the tool strength.

SzRaPnEL says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Great gameplay! I wish dino parts could stay visible if not damaged and make nice TRex bones shape :)

AngryPriest says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Cool game, feels very authentic. I agree with the tablet suggestion, that would be awesome

Seraphina says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:44pm

I had a lot more fun with this than I thought I would. I started out really peaceful, but got more stressful the more of the dino I had uncovered lol. Great job!

callidus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:36am

Nice, defo would like to see this in 3D with a graphics tablet! Nice fine brush controls for when ones "Huge Hard Tool" proved to be just too much.... sorry but someone had to bite :-)

kunzbe says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Cozy game!

Dreii says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:22am

Very cool idea! never played anything like it! :D

drnick says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Nice game, something that would make Pirulla proud!

Fragsteel says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:33pm

I applaud a very original concept and good execution. I will be honest, I didn't feel compelled to play after I got the basics of how the game went, but looking at the other comments I think it's just more about my preference of game. I also agree that a tablet version would be wonderful as you could use your fingers to chip away. Good job!

Ragzouken says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:34pm

nice idea! took me a long time to find the dino as i was using too light a touch

Delca says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 5:39pm

I really liked this game, it was unique and very pelasant to play. Only real downside was the lack of sound, and it was still playable (and enjoyable!) nonetheless.
Great job!

CiderPunk says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Excellent idea, looking forward to the 3D version, as it stands though, the reward for the patience required isn't enough, as you can already see the end result perfectly in the xray.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]