Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Stars Beneath the Sea

by Mclogenog - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Collect the stars, avoid the monsters, and create constellations.

To play
"W,A,S,D" to Move
"F" to toggle Fullscreen

If you're using windows XP, the background does not draw correctly (sorry!).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2134Coolness10%

Comments

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:30am

I don't have windows, but watched the video. The idea and mechanics look really hot. Good job :)

Julgodis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:51pm

I havn't had time to try it yet, but the video looks awesome :D

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:55am

I got the game to work and I really really liked it. The constellation aspect was very interesting. Would love to see this game flushed out!

Simon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:21am

Nice entry. Too bad the constellations are not of use or at least I did not get it...

Mclogenog says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Thanks for checking it out, guys! It's not very clear, but making constellations is how you get health back.

Mclogenog says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:45pm

I should also give credit to Rod Humble's "Stars over Half Moon Bay" for the idea of the constellations, and Ian Snyder's "The Floor is Jelly" for buoyancy/gravity feel.

cr2crstudios says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Love the colors! Couldn't totally figure out what to do, though. . .

Pitoum says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 9:28am

It takes some time to understand, but you get there a nice first prototype. Moving is really smooth!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]