Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dark Depths

by jwin - Jam Entry

Another great Ludum Dare finished!

This was our second team game, and we had a great time making it. We spent less time learning Unity this time around and a lot more time making a game! We're pretty happy with how much we were able to add in, and feel like the game is pretty darn polished for 72 hours.

Update: We've added a post-competition version of Dark Depths! You'll be able to move and fire torpedos at the same time, so things should feel a bit faster, but you'll still have to head down the ladder to reload once you run out. We've also tweaked a lot of the gameplay and effects. Check it out!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#45Overall(Jam)3.87
#59Theme(Jam)3.85
#87Innovation(Jam)3.72
#89Fun(Jam)3.57
#132Mood(Jam)3.63
#226Graphics(Jam)3.74
#362Humor(Jam)2.58
#393Audio(Jam)3.00

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:04am

Pretty good. Smooth gameplay and nice aesthetics, nice job!

snickersnacks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:19am

I like the look & feel! Cute simple style. :) Key press commands were a little unresponsive, don't know if it was the web player or what.

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Pretty smooth, good gameplay and really nice graphics.

olkeencole says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Very nice gameplay. I like switching between the different functions of the sub. Small details like the seaweed really add to atmosphere. Well done!

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Fun concept! It took me a while to understand the mechanics, but luckily it was pretty straightforward. The graphics are nice, reminds me of the very first games that incorporated 3D models. :)

Tesrym says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:27pm

This is very interesting.

vilya says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:27pm

I like the idea in theory, but in practice I found it really irritating having to run back and forth between the different terminals to control the different functions. Also, having to switch between mouse and keyboard all the time.

The graphics & sounds are good and you've got quite a lot of game in there, but I couldn't really get into it because of the controls. Sorry!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Cute designs and liked the way the periscope turns whichever way you're moving, nice little touch. Also the explosions effect is great.

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Love the look of the game. Good job!

Tuska says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Good visuals and sounds. Gameplay vice It's starts to get irritating to move from station to station, but overall good and solid game with good polish.

xandy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:33pm

this game is great! the art style and music go hand in hand with the theme and the game play is fun too!

TheGameFather says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:34pm

The game is very interesting! Gameplay is innovative, instruction is great, also you have simple but nice graphics.

though if u can support 2-4 players that would be awesome!

Btw, the transition between micro and macro environment reminds me of a game called Lovers In A Dangerous Spacetime.

starfeesh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:34pm

This is one of my favorite submissions so far, it's very polished. The art is really nice and simple. I really enjoyed the gameplay, especially once you started taking some damage. Good job!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:36pm

haha that was fun. I got hulled and didn't get treasure but made it back to the ship. It still said I won even though I didn't collect treasure lol Nice 3d modeling. Some of it could have been smoothed out though.

graebor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Pretty cool game, definitely feels quite polished for a 72 hour project. I like the look of the environment and the small details like the periscope facing your direction of movement, and the leaks/drips appearing inside and being visible through the windows. Good job!

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Looks really nice, and I like the over all tone. I don't think the switch back and forth mechanic is totally working. Got frustrating when a sub started shooting me and I had to jump back in and switch to my torpedos. Overall though, nice job!

MintArcade says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Very nice idea. Smooth and cool.

DMinsky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Lovely game. Great concept to expand.

ZYXer says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Wow, great game! Love the gameplay and graphics.

Pete_H says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Really enjoyed this! Great game with lots of interesting elements!

Vandash says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Interesting idea! It'l be quite nice if there was a way to move between stations without breaking rhythm

lucidlarva says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:38am

Really loved this, really dang fun.

icereci says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:59am

I really liked the gameplay. good job.

TyrusPeace says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:51am

Very well done! Manning the sub on your own is a bit frustrating, but a very nice way of conveying the isolation of it all. It did end up being a bit odd to get the 10 million point cat and then feel like I didn't have much else to do but make the long trip home. It was cool to find it, though!

SnoringFrog says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:35am

Awesome game! I barely made it back alive with the big treasure, but I made it nonetheless. :)

kevinAlbs says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:37am

Great job! I don't think I can say anything critical of this. And that guy can really hold his breath.

RowdyGhosts says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:55am

Haha, this was pretty cool! I like the subtle parallax effect from using the 3d in a fairly 2d way.

pikkpoiss says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:57am

Wow, this was a fantastic entry! I love the way the mood and tension ratchet up the further you go. The art style was perfect and managed to seem bright and cartoony up top and scary and dark lower down. I did wish for a more streamlined switching mechanism, but running around the ship did add to the tension. Great that you were able to put in a polished menu/instruction system too.

NickZangus says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Awesome! I love it!

mortus says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:34am

Great entry! Maybe too slow and too... inevitable, but really cool. I love the mood of the game, nice graphics too, especially bubbles.

May 11, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Super well done game!! I included it in part 23 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/yJ4mg8nxxfM

misterwalter says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 7:09am

Very nice! I really like the look and feel, and the maze of loot was fun to navigate.
The biggest problem I saw was that the money was kinda worthless, and the win condition was way too easy. I was expecting the ship to be an upgrade/repair station, and I feel like that would be much better.
Of course that's not terribly viable during the jam, but if you wish to continue, that's where I would take it.

hirngespinst says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 3:00pm

This is my favorite LD so far. Very polished and really smooth and nice. Great job!

Waterman7 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 6:41pm

I have to admit, I was expecting another one of those uninnovative submersible shooters. But this really was a pleasant surprise. Managing the different functions was really enjoyable and I really liked the somewhat slower pace of it (I didn't play the Post-Compo version)
Great job!

May 18, 2014 @ 10:56am

Great stuff.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]