Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ocean RESCUE

by MerlijnVH - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are the captain of a rescue ship. Search for survivors in the ocean and tow them back home.

There is a large creature that stalks you from below, don't let it eat the survivors when it emerges from the water!

You are limited by fuel, though you can refuel at the dock.

http://mithragames.com/2014/04/28/ludum-dare-29-ocean-rescue/

Known Bugs
- Ship turns very poorly with low FPS
- Ship sinks below water on collision
- Ship has super backwards driving capabilities

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#139Graphics3.91
#308Overall3.44
#322Fun3.31
#340Mood3.24
#354Theme3.49
#419Innovation3.26
#456Humor2.57
#807Audio2.25

Comments

Slader16 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:59am

The web link wants me to download a zip file :/

MerlijnVH says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:30am

The game edit page noted that a "Web" link was required, but it turns out it isn't. I've changed it to a "Windows" download.

jorgemoag says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:40am

I like it!

I think with a countdown and a limited amount of fuel to refuel you'll add a lot of pressure and improve the game. Whales are a point :) and I miss a second gear on the boat (second gear uses more fuel).

Moreover, the theme is well implemented, the atmosphere, the graphics ... thanks for making it!

FREEZX says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:59am

Awesome! Whales were cool! Very good atmosphere :D

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:02am

Really really moody.
That big fish thing is well implemented, it is clearly visible when its going to come and is neither too strong nor too weak. Really well done, one of my favorite games so far.

V0ID says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:03am

The game plays nicely. First the WSAD from the viewpoint of the ship instead of the camera was a little unused but that works fine. The lighting is decent and the creature looks sympathic :D

What I did not understand: Why does the ship sink below the water surface? Bug or some kind of health display?

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:08am

Also: You can go super fast when driving backwards. Holy hell.

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:28am

It's a nice concept. I like the graphics, especially the whale. The steering's very hard though, and the sound effect is a bit irritating. None the less it was fun to play.

Druid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:29am

Nice game! I like this cartoonish 3d graphics!

PixelMind says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Me likes! Love the big fish.

MintArcade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Big fish tried to eat lighthouse - that was fun :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:36pm

I liked it! Very fun and polished for a weekend game. Seeing the monster shadow under the surface was cool. Great art. Would have perhaps liked a little tighter steering on the boat or faster speed (more arcade-y in feel?) Terrific job. Loved the lighthouse, too.

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:13am

one of the few water/monster games in this LD where I don't get to play the monster :p refreshing! very nice graphics, altho a bit sluggish on my old Macbook

Nizar89 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Sympathic game, but the rythme is too slow. You should try to accelerate it, or you should add event that makes the trip interesting. Nice minimalist graphism !

rpgwhitelock says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:50pm

The sea creature is very effective! Could definitely be faster paced overall and would really benefit from some added atmosphere via sound. I found myself wanting a radar to get a hint of where survivors are, and to get home too.

Khaldrin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:25pm

We're gonna need a bigger boat :). I liked that big fish thing. The controls need a little tuning though, mostly I circled around survivors instead of rescuing them (and then they were eaten by Mr. Fish). The graphics were really nicely done.

May 1, 2014 @ 3:08am

Super cool game! I included it in part 5 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) youtu.be/HquvNllyc50

longshorts says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Was not expecting that big a fish! Really needs a pointer so you know where the lighthouse is though, got lost a couple times hoping I could find the lighthouse before running out of fuel... BUT if this is intended that is fine, because can be quite realistic :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]