Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Contagion

by Kiyaku - 48 Hour Compo Entry

MORE PLATFORMS COMING SOON!

It is done!

What is this?
This is a rogue-like game with randomly generated levels and items.

Controls:
- WASD/ArrowKeys to move
- Left click to attack
- Space to skip a turn
- I for Inventory
- C for Character Stats
- M/Tab for Map

Goal:
level up, gear up, go down and kill "it" - that simple!

Special Thanks to Jessartisan and Tankertype!

Note: game source needs NGUI to run!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#53Overall3.93
#104Fun3.70
#292Mood3.32
#441Humor2.59
#544Innovation3.08
#602Audio2.67
#630Graphics3.04
#746Theme3.04
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

minism says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:04am

Nice little roguelike! I'm impressed, I really like the item hover popup system like from WoW. Took me a while to figure out that walking into someone doesnt attack them though, you might want to implement that for roguelike players like myself that may expect it!

Kiyaku says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:06am

Thanks @minism! Attacking by walking into them sounds good. I actually don't have much experience with roguelike games, so i'm surprised i felt the urge to make one this weekend. So getting tips like this are much appreciated! :D

Armanky says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:14am

Very interesting game, impressive that you got a roguelike structure going in just 48 hours. Graphics are charmingly minimalist, I like it.

Theme felt very shoehorned. Seems very easy to become overpowered, but it's still fun to lay waste to enemies.

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:35am

Nice graphic style and many features in this short time, respect.

Brunodev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:35am

Nice work bro!

jessartisan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:35am

So very impressed! Watching you create it from scratch was great. Well done! <3

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:21am

So many windows, but the concept is good, you need to write a better tutorial!

Wakka says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:29am

Pretty cool game and very much features. I didn't understand the inventory though (I could wear some items, but some other items not)

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:21am

Speed is OP stat, especially when combined with the XekeDeath weapon...! 6 attacks at 66 damage each... :D Played it through twice, Needs New Game+ so I can make use of my epic OP gear from defeating the boss...

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Nice! You evoked a lot of atmosphere with such simple graphics.

Tankertype says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:52pm

God damn that armor!! Absolutely epic creation in such a short amount of time and lightning clean coding.. Good Job!!!

leonalchemist says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:24pm

finished it, quite fun, very impressive for 2 days worth of work, if anyone else is wondering, u can only wear 1 weapon at a time.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:45am

Nice game ! I absolutely love the UI, I wish I was able to do user interface like yours ! Great work !

thenmal says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Fun game and good UI, but it was larger than my laptops screen, so I had to change computers to play it.

otato says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:58pm

Solid roguelike. Liked the consistent graphical style throughout.

malmazuke says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:00am

Pretty generic roguelike, but actually surprisingly fun to play. Spent a good 20 mins on it

Danman9914 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:07am

Really well implemented roguelike!

May 3, 2014 @ 12:52am

very fun game, played it through to the end. definitely one of the better ones i have seen

kevinAlbs says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Wow, this is really extensive. Awesome work! I had a lot of fun with this one. Thanks for including the source too.

FGM says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Really fun. A bit unbalanced. Speed/sight/range are preettty overpowered.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]