Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Behind the Bookcase

by Fib - Jam Entry

As you were walking home on a dark and gloomy night, you stumbled upon a house tucked away in the woods. You decided to take a look since you've never noticed it before. As you walked closer to it you noticed a piece of paper, a note, stuck to the front door. You can barely read the handwriting on it. The ink has faded and the paper feels rough. It is as though the note has been there for a while. It begins to rain suddenly. The door is ajar so you call inside. No one answers. For fear of getting soaked you step inside the house for refuge from the rain, and to see what has happened.

In the hallway you see a bookshelf. Something looks very strange about it. You walk towards it to take a closer look. There seems to be a dim, yellow glow emanating from behind it. You grab the corner of the bookshelf and you push with all of your might. It begins to move... and a door... a secret door... is revealed.

Controls
W/A/S/D or Arrow Keys - Movement
Enter - Select on title screen
Escape - Exit menus

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#588Fun(Jam)2.54
#632Graphics(Jam)2.65
#633Humor(Jam)1.72
#677Mood(Jam)2.32
#677Innovation(Jam)2.27
#684Theme(Jam)2.29
#690Overall(Jam)2.50
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

Fib says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:44am

Woohoo! This is the first Ludum Dare game that I've ever submitted! I worked on this with one other person.

eugman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:46am

I think it's a really great start. I like the idea and the art. It could be a really good game with a full story to it. I was disappointed it was so short.

tanner101010 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:49am

Fun concept! I seem to get stuck after I touched a yellow note that said it's a placeholder image that'll contain the story later. Couldn't move after that. Does it only have 1 level? I was hoping to keep going!

Fib says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:01am

Sorry.. I added controls to the description. Press the escape key to exit the note. Thanks for the feedback!

H3nry248 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:08am

This game was fun to make! Thanks for the feedback everyone.

kyyrma says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:08am

Congrats on finishing your first LD! It's a bit too easy to get stuck on corners, and I can see there is still a lot of placeholder stuff there. Still a solid entry :)

XrXr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Congrats on finishing your first LD! It was mine too :D

DazKins says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:40pm

this is a good start but needed more levels really to be fun. There's definitely room for improvement but still a great entry for your first LD. Congratulations and welcome to the club!

sandbaydev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Congraz on your first ludum entry submission! Concept is solid. Nice placeholders for story texts. I believe there can be tons of different type of traps to get much to play.

Controlling the chap could have been bit faster without the acceleration portion.

Anyhow, a nice entry. Well done.

Fib says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:39pm

@sandbaydev Thanks for your feedback! We actually built more traps, such as skeletons that throw bones at you and fire pillars that spin around. There sadly wasn't enough time to include them in a level. The character movement does need to be seriously improved. Thanks for your comment.

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Good concept and with more time this would be a great game of puzles, keep working on it!

Neonlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Congratulations on your first LD! It's not bad at all especially for a first entry. Concept is solid and could easily be built up upon. Good work!

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:18pm

The colors used in the game are nice on the eye, good job there. The controls could probably use a little bit of work though.

sink_t says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Sadly, this game doesn't seem to have received enough love. The most jarring aspect of it is how short it is, considering that it is story-driven. The story isn't communicated in the game in any way either, with the description giving the only information on what is going on. Presumably you've had too little time, like me.

danialhyatt says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:36pm

'Twas okay! would've at least liked some sound and was expecting some story. The description lured me in.

roaet says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:13am

Indeed. Quite a decent game for your first! Grats and welcome!

It was a bit short as others have said but that's okay! It's a playable game with definite direction. Good job.

copain says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 11:51am

Good (short) start. Maybe the movements are a little slow... The note made me laugh.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]