Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the GRID

by xehbit - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Ran out of time to add more levels and extra shader codes and more stuff, hopefully i will make something awesome next time :-)

Have fun playing this simple game.

!!WARING!! You need a browser with WebGL support (i prefer firefox or google chrome).
I've tested this game in google chrome.

How to play, check the ingame instructions.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#68Innovation4.00
#178Theme3.71
#278Overall3.47
#340Fun3.29
#545Graphics3.18
#2054Coolness17%

Comments

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:19am

Really like this idea. Would love to be able to see some indicator of the current block direction and some nice audio. Great job tho.

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:19am

Very interesting gameplay mechanics. God job with this.

ovenchips says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:42am

Very nice - you have the structure in place to generate lots more levels now. I found it hard to remember which direction both blocks were facing at first, but then I realised that that was part of the challenge. Good job and a nice use of WebGL!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Nice game, its a bit hard though to figure out where the cube will be going which can also make it more fun.

Afal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:23pm

This is really cool. I like the idea. Took a bit of trial and error to move the cube halves though >_<

tomvert says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Really nice concept and presentation, the difficulty ramps up too quickly though, but I love this minimalistic style.

mtinkerhess says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:45am

I won!

Really nice presentation, clean graphics and the rotation of the camera plays well with the disorientation of keeping track of both squares at once. Clever puzzle game!

Agree with the other comments that a direction indicator would be useful. And more levels because I want to keep playing!

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:12am

Cool, really nice concept. Would love to see a polished version, and maybe some more levels. Nice job!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:28am

Fun and original puzzle game. Well done for 40hrs. Would continue to add to it and polish and consider mobile release. Some sort of direction indicator, maybe, or non spinning grid? I do like the spinning and seeing things closer and it being more dynamic, though.

TeamOmni says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Interesting concept, i feel like it did need some indication as to which way the block were facing. Otherwise pretty good!

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:00am

Lack of an indicator of which direction we are facing really made it difficult to play xD

Skencer says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:54pm

that's a nice game. I agree with previous comments though. some indication of direction would have been useful. I've never played a game quite like this.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:23am

really kool idea - block direction indicator would have been great as well as some small sounds when moving, etc - excellent theme - nice job

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]