Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Infantile Oceanic Feeling

by andreimarks - Jam Entry

Just use your mouse. Left click, scroll wheel, right click.

It's an ecology game. Place lifeforms and see how they interact.

Escape to restart, force quit to quit (I'll change that...).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#33Innovation(Jam)3.92
#58Mood(Jam)3.95
#81Graphics(Jam)4.24
#86Audio(Jam)3.80
#269Fun(Jam)3.17
#305Overall(Jam)3.32
#364Theme(Jam)3.17
#2196Coolness0%

Comments

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:12am

The immediacy and vibrancy of the graphics is really fun, and the music is nice. I didn't have much sense of progress, but it was a fun click-stuff-see-things-happen game.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:04pm

That was fun, really enjoyed seeing what the creatures did.

Maniulo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Astonishing game. I think I've managed to build a self-sustaining ecosystem on all but the deepest level.

Hyoga-3D says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:17pm

I liked the art, simple and effective, but I didn't understand I had to do on the game, maybe I've missed something.

mrexcessive says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Hi. Great toy. Love the music and visuals

goerp says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 9:52am

woah, there are really not many reactions to this. maybe you haven't played many yourself, because this is interesting.

Not sure how things work, but it is intruiging and the looks and sounds of it make it worthwhile to play around for a while, even if I don't understand it.

What added to the confusion is that the icon for the animal/plant you're placing is quite different from the thing you see when placed.
So some instructions mighyt help.

Pitoum says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 11:05am

Wonderful entry. So poetic!

Waterman7 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 1:23pm

I really enjoyed experimenting and observing how the different lifeforms behave and interact. Nice visuals and audio, too. Great job!

May 14, 2014 @ 4:47pm

The idea is great! And the production is stunning. It lacks of difficulty (maybe limit the number of beings X resources)
Its a shame this is not compo, I would love to check the source.

GFM says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Interesting experience. Graphics and music were great!
But sorry, couldn't really get what I was doing... I placed some of each lifeform, saw some trees grow, flowers blooming and withering and fishes... swimming... I also saw a some flowers dieing after a while... But that's all I could see/understand.

Bruno Massa says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 2:09am

Great man. I is very abstract at the beginning than it become even more abstract! eheh

I love it

mechabit says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Not sure what all the things do, seems like only the eyes have any direct influence on energy levels deeper down? What do the plant and fish do?

Managore says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 12:48pm

It took a little while to work out what was going on, but when I did I loved it! Awesome work!

zebi24 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Beautiful.

Kerdelos says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 6:37pm

This looks amazing and that's why I'm so frustrated about the lack of explanation. I wasn't quite able to figure how each form of life influenced the system =/

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]