Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Behind Mirror

by SaintHeiser - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a pretty hard adventure platformer.
Story is about reflections and mirror-Surface world.
You'll hate this game because of jumps.


Controls:
Arrow keys - move
Down key - list dialogues
Esc - permanent quit

P.S. Don't forget about double jump in vampire mode. Helpful.
P.P.S. And also low leaps are useful.

Updates(took about hour):
- Dialogues grammar fixes
- Sounds volumes fixes
- Bg fixes
- Unfinished area fixes
- Hard places fixes

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#35Overall4.02
#51Mood3.96
#53Graphics4.28
#86Fun3.75
#90Audio3.67
#92Theme3.89
#295Humor2.88
#388Innovation3.31

Comments

NiallM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Oh, this is gorgeous. Didn't get very far though :( Don't think my platforming skills are quite up to scratch.

VDZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Great game as always.

It might be helpful to some players if there was an alternate jump key, such as Z. I had to use numpad 8 to jump as I couldn't properly short hop using the up arrow key while simultaneously moving my character; it was a bit awkward to play that way.

Also, I managed to reach a place that shouldn't be reached and ran into an invisible wall: http://i.xomf.com/wsrrk.png

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:25pm

2VDZ
Thenks.
I know about wall. It's unfinished area. I had no time for castle reflexion. I'll complete and polish this game in few weeks =)

Sorry for english. I'll fix it in few days.

alvarop says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:48am

Crazy graphics!

BuriTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:51am

Beautiful game!

Lissar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:51am

I particularly loved the graphics and music, I thought they were quite cute. A little too difficult for me though, sadly!

Solifuge says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:00am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

This is really beautiful! I wasn't able to get to the end, possibly because my platforming skills are rubbish, but I love the concept... it's not just underwater, but also on the reverse side of a mirror! That's too cool.

I'm not sure what critique I can offer from the audio direction, since I'm not sure if adding music and more sound effects would add or detract from the mood. Either way, this was a really nice entry. Good luck on the jam!

VDZ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:12am

@Solifuge
You're missing a significant part of the concept by playing only the start of the game. For example, after some point you lose your shadow and become able to move through the mirror (going beneath the surface). The final part of the game also takes place in some kind of underworld.

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:12am

2Solifuge
Thanks!
I'll improve sounds and music. I've spent on this 1.5 hours total. It needs more polishing.
And it isn't jam. I teared my ass to made it to compo from scratch ^_^

fueelin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:18am

Awesome game. Really enjoyed playing (and beating) it, and it looks great too!

aeveis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:55am

Wow, played up to the point where you get rejected (is that as far as you got?) Really well polished, I kept getting surprised every time the "new" thing was introduced. The jumping felt a bit too sensitive to me and the arrows felt a bit unforgiving (they would still kill you when they were blinking). Really hope people are able to get through to the game though and see what changes up!

holgk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:40am

I tested the game on linux and it works very smooth. Nice game.

ezolotko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Good limited palette graphics.

kbm says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Beautiful graphics, very minimal and low-key. I loved it! <3

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Really awesome graphics and the difficulty is perfect, challenging but not frustrating.

DarkEngineer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Great game and graphics!

davidwparker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Looks really cool- can you port to web so I can play?

ComicSans says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Really well done. I had a really hard time making a short jump though, which I felt made it a little less fun than it otherwise would have been.

Marcellus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:13am

Nice use of the theme, good graphic style, a nice entry.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:50am

Hitting it out of the park, as usual! That was pretty hard but I totally beat it. If you give this game a try, definitely play until you get to the purple area. Such a great level design, too!

javierecf says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:45am

Good game, really hard but the controls are really precise, good mood at the start of the game. Visuals are nice and the sound is not noisy, good entry.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:52am

so many ways to die - great game - added to my favorites - awesome job

kirbytails7 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:59am

Aww...sad ending.
Really cool! I'm digging the style, and it's a good challenge to get through. Well done!

Yword says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:24am

The character control is very good! And the graphics is very cool too.

Gazok says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:36am

I hate platformers, so bear that in mind when I say I loved this and played it to the end. The graphical style is great, and wonderfully consistent. the gameplay is solid and the level design is so good, accounting for the return trip; it manages to be consistently challenging without being frustrating.
I can't rate you for audio because openAL doesn't work on my system.
The enemies were generally good - I really liked the jellyfish. I found that sometimes the red enemies blend into the background a bit too easily, though, and arrows really shouldn't kill you once they've hit a wall.

Oh, and it wasn't until I was a vampire that I realised there was a double jump.

angelk says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:27am

The graphics style is top notch. The game is beautiful and responsive, and although it is very difficult it's really fun to play. If this were released on the Nintendo I bet people would remember it fondly. Very good job!

micdoodle8 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:28am

Awesome graphical style. Music and sounds fit the style as well. Great job!

VDZ says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:28am

@Gazok
That's because there is no double jump until you become a vampire.

zaratustra says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:39am

excellent. Suggestions:

- More checkpoints.
- Make candle light more visible.
- Reduce vertical speed if the jump button is released earlier to make jumps more merciful.

May 1, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Very good and very hard platforming game. I liked it, good job

CluelessGames says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:31pm

This Game is amazing it is incredible you were able to squish that much content in only 48 hour this is an amazing game!

Zccc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Perfect game! The level design was somewhat chaotic at first, but when I got used to it, it was pretty fun adventure, I'm glad I could complete it. I was surprised to find that underground world, I first tought it was a secret! And there was a strange hole near the key to the reflection, why?

SaintHeiser says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:03pm

@Zccc
Strange hole like all other strange places will be used for secrets in full version of this game =)

Zccc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Oh cool :) can't wait to play the full version! I found alot of places where you could go but were super hard to pass! This already feels like a complete game tough :P

Managore says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:34am

Great story and environment, I really liked this game! There were some occasions where I would get killed by a sea anemone which I was standing above, and other times where I would briefly get stuck in a wall or the floor while temporarily dead, and these moments were sometimes very frustrating. Overall though, this is a fantastic, fantastic game!

Snoother says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Amazing graphics. The music and sound effects are really well-suited too. But by goodness, you were right about it being hard! Maybe I'm just bad at these games... Anyway, I enjoyed it!

awanegenebayo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Wow, fantastic game! Amazing graphics and music, very good (and hard) level design!

I couldn't find out how to move on when i receive the 'imortality' power, i still can't go through the wall that block the way...

awanegenebayo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Ok, i finally managed to finish the game :D

Dreii says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:18am

Great job really nice graphical style and gameplay.

Lyje says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Yeah so after progression to the V, the Beneath the Surface theme becomes more clear. Then you get to the U, and yet again things turn upside down on you. What a brilliant fucking game. Graphics are quality. Number of save points is perfect actually, and every death feels like its your fault which is a good thing. One of the best on the LD so far! Looking forward to the full version!

pansapiens says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:31am

Love the graphics, and the controls have a good feel (essential, and the downfall of many other 48 hour platformers) .. but hey, you weren't kidding about it being hard :) I made a Twitch stream of me floundering around in my first playthough if you are curious: http://www.twitch.tv/omgwtfgames/c/4187136 .. sadly I'm too hopeless to get up to the bit where the mirror/flip mechanic comes into play. When I play games like this it always makes me want to go and learn how to use GameMaker.

May 4, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Awesome entry! It was hardcore fo sho but dayum, DAT color-coding. Everything was coherent and fitting to the environment. However, I would love to see a better exploration of the "mirror" mechanic.

meszka says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Frustratingly hard but really satisfying. Nice twists keep gameplay interesting. Visuals and sound are also very fitting. Quite impressive for 48h, well done :)
Checkpoint frequency is about right, but it needs a save function... I started playing late in the evening and had to quit early... Hopefully I'll come back and finish it.

May 9, 2014 @ 11:20am

I like the art. Great game for those who love hardcore.

TobiasW says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 11:26am

I have to admit that I didn't get very far because I had problems doing the low jump. Is it intended that controlling low jumps is so hard? If not - this might be a good way to do it: http://meyermike.com/wp/wp-content/uploads/2010/10/SuperMeatBoyJumpGraph.png

Apart from the difficulty (which I really can't complain about with my game, haha) - this game looks absoutely gorgeous with that pixel neon vector style. The music and sound effects work well enough, especially knowing that you only spent 1 1/2 hours on it! And the cutscene in the beginning was great to set the mood.

All in all, disregarding my low jump issues, everything felt really polished and works well. Great job!

PS: I'm not sure if that was intended, but I thought the intro cutscene was hilarious. For some reason, I imagined the characters to be totally deadpan-dramatic about it. :D

csanyk says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Loved everything about this except one touch kills you.

Draknek says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 4:54pm

I really want to keep playing this, but there's just not enough checkpoints for me. If there were twice as many checkpoints, I'd probably enjoy it twice as much!

Looks lovely :)

SaintHeiser says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 9:58am

Thanks all for your feedback.
But, I think, it has some strange lacks.
It will get pretty low rating
After the results waiting.
Promotions are decide everything,
Not quality, I think.
Or this game is really bad,
And I'm feeling that I mad.

Ahahahahah.
I'll be amazing if someone read this. At any case, It's time to work for full version =)
I have unstopable willing to make another one fully useless trash not-game about nothing as usual...

Myyyvothrr says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 10:20am

This looks awesome!

ripatti says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Really cool and so hardcore! Reminded me They Bleed Pixels because of colors, hardcore gameplay and good controls. Well done!

ripatti says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Fully finished the game. It's more enjoyable than I assumed. Increased some ratings to 5 stars.

Ditto says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 5:40am

This is incredibly beautiful! A bit frustrating though, i will come back to finish this one though!

klianc09 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Awesome game. It's fun and looks good. I liked the different phases of gameplay you play through.
Although the ending was a bit unsatisfying.

Almost says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 7:34am

Really nice looking and it seems to have enemy variety as well as a large map. Oh, and different areas as you progress, very cool.

I've been dying a lot and noticed that even though the screen flashes black, the enemies don't reset to their initial positions when I die which means that I can't perfect the timing of passing two monsters since they might be a different amount apart every time I respawn.

If I'm trying to become a vampire just so that I can go below the surface, why can't the dude that lost his reflection just go on his own underneath the surface?

SaintHeiser says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 7:44am

@Almost
Who says that Mirror can't kill anyone except who already dead?

Almost says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 7:56am

Really nice looking and it seems to have enemy variety as well as a large map. Oh, and different areas as you progress, very cool.

I've been dying a lot and noticed that even though the screen flashes black, the enemies don't reset to their initial positions when I die which means that I can't perfect the timing of passing two monsters since they might be a different amount apart every time I respawn.

If I'm trying to become a vampire just so that I can go below the surface, why can't the dude that lost his reflection just go on his own underneath the surface?

I finally made it to the point where I am beneath the surface, it took me a while to realize that the coffins are now checkpoints, since I had previously determined that I couldn't interact with them. I also seem to be able to double jump now, although I don't remember it ever telling me that is possible.

The coffins seem to be too rare now, I end up having to do a lot of sensitive jumps only to die and go way back. I think I ragequit at the first checkpoint in the deep underwater because I can't find another checkpoint.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]