Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Kitsuni

by SecondDimension - Jam Entry

Our Ludum Dare Submission, Kitsuni. A point and click puzzle exploration game.
*** UPDATE - Added a Post Compo Version ***

Original was made by a 2-man team in 72hrs. All gameplay, art, sounds and music was created over the Ludum Dare weekend. The Post-Compo version was created over the 3 week voting period.
There are a lot of sound effects so please be patient with the load time!

CONTROLS: Left Click on a creature to take control of it, Hold the Left Mouse Button to walk the creature towards the cursor. Some creatures have an ability, Press or Hold the Right Mouse button to activate it.

A Walkthrough has been added for the original, here you'll find a map, as well as help with some of the more confusing puzzles. You'll have to figure out the post-compo version on your own!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#11Audio(Jam)4.33
#15Mood(Jam)4.30
#30Overall(Jam)4.03
#36Graphics(Jam)4.46
#89Innovation(Jam)3.71
#133Fun(Jam)3.45
#232Theme(Jam)3.44
#360Humor(Jam)2.60

Comments

Garris says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:43am

This was beautiful. Excellent use of the theme in a literal and metaphorical sense, and foxes are neat!

Kyatric says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:36am

It is a very neat game. The ambiance works very well, I liked that the owl allowed to "help" in giving tricks that was a nice way to involve it in the concept.

The music/audio is delightful and works very well for the soothing/nordic ambiance, the graphics have a nice style.
One notice though on the birds. Until I got to the puzzle where they are needed, I hadn't understood they were birds, I thought they were some sort of crystal I'd probably need later.

The controls work pretty good.
It's maybe a bit tedious to have to go back each time you get a new gem, even if, due to the small scope of the game, I never reach a point where it was outrageous either.

SPOILER:
you've been warned there's a spoiler ahead.

I was a bit disappointed in the end though. Because, to me, the moral is "to beat the game, don't play the game".
I think it doesn't fit to the rest of the adventure.

Nevertheless a good job on all the team, and congrats for making a great submission to the jam !

Valente11 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:04am

What a beautiful game. Really clever use of puzzles. The pace was nice and slow, and the art style and mood really compliments it.

Wertle says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:38am

Fantastic atmosphere, I love the little touches like the sound design on the flowers and mushrooms.

Lucio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Fantastic idea! It opens a lot of possibilites for a great Point-Click adventure!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Thanks for all the nice comments.

Kyatric, What with time constraints we didn't spend as much time on the ending as we would have liked. Hopefully we can go back and work on the game out a bit more when the compo is over and change the ending.

zzorn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Wonderful art color palette. I also really liked the background ambience sounds and all the little details (flowers etc). There's a wonderful sense of mystery to it.

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Really like the artstyle, simplistic but fantastic mood :)

Kuchalu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Unique.. It's very good.

nicotoni says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Lot of sound work, the graphics were cool too. I didn't enjoy the controls, sometimes it felt the character was stuck and I didn't know if it was intended or not. Sometimes too I didn't understand what to do, but otherwise it was pretty great, the atmosphere did a lot.

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Very relaxing game, great music and art design! A very good submission!

StencylTuo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:23pm

It did a good job of setting the mood, but the controls were not intuitive at all. I spent most of my time just trying to figure out what to do. I ended up accidentally stumbling through a lot of it (and yes I did read the intro instructions). Only being able to hold one gem at a time was rather annoying. Perhaps it's just me, but this game was not fun at all, and I did not see how it fit the theme at all either. That being said, it was rather different, and the mood you were going for was mostly captured... definitely a mixed bag in the end for me.

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:30pm

This game has something really poetic. Marvellous atmosphere!

nesis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:31pm

A lovely game, with brilliant origami / paper cutout style graphics. The ambience is best of all.

v_n_j says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Amazing art, puzzles, sounds, everything is so amazing!
Just water sometimes looks a little bit weird imho.

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:16pm

This game is so beautiful,
the sounds are awesome
(i dont solve the enigme with the 4 rabbit, but really good job!)

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:56pm

First of all Great visuals and sounds. Game play was really fun. I love the world :D.

colludium says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Nicely done! Great graphics and sounds.

TomCooper3D says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:22pm

really great entry. great style and sounds very polished. GG

Lama says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Lovely ambiance and cool puzzle, liked the animations on flowers and mushrooms. And the monkey of course :).

mcapraro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:46am

wow! what an amazing creation for three days! congrats! i really loved the visual design of it. the controls were easy and the story was really well put together. i was a little lost at some point and the owl didnt help as much as i thought he would but i think i need to spend more time with it

camlang says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:17am

Awesome sounds and gameplay!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Thank you everyone, we really appreciate the kind comments about the atmosphere. I worked hard on the sounds and music to make sure it all fitted together nicely, and my team mate James did a great job on the art. We're really pleased with how it went and it means a lot that you guys liked it too.

Having said that, I think we agree with the criticism of the controls and the puzzles. I had all sorts of little bugs with the collision detection, and I think the deadzone for moving towards the cursor was way too big (the fox would stop and you wouldn't be sure why).

I was mostly happy with the puzzles, but where we really ran out of time for was explaining them properly and introducing the abilities of the creature gradually. I wrote a walkthrough though if anyone is stuck, link is above. Thanks again for playing

Jexel says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:54pm

The graphics are really good considering the time you had.

7heSAMA says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:25pm

The puzzles were really easy and honestly don't even really deserve the name - especially with the terminals and the owls flat-out telling you what to do. I think it has potential, but you'd have to use the different animals in concert, instead of a bunch of them all clumped together doing the same thing, to make it interesting.
Also the controls/hitboxes, but you already know that.
Graphics look great obviously.

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Wow this is so good! Cannot believe you made this together in just three days! My only complaints are unexpected collision boxes and the ending, which in my opinion was a bit unsatisfying. But yeah great work! 5/5

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Hmm, I guess the idea was meant to be more towards the exploration, so I can see how people who like puzzle games would find it too easy, but then again a lot of people can't quite figure it out even with the hints, soooo not sure. Perhaps the lack of us explaining the abilities properly contributes? It's certainly divisive.
No idea how to get that balance right to be honest, never tried to make any kind of puzzle in a game before!

Hob623 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:01am

I really like the art style and mood. It seems kind of like a picture book come to life.

Moosefly says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:07am

Wonderful mood (some slowly falling snowflakes would've made it perfect), but the controls did feel somewhat wonky. Would've also been better if the current "possessed" animal was highlighted or something. Didn't like having to walk trough the same areas over and over again either. And the ending was pretty meh. And I guess I just said what everyone has already said :D.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

alhvi says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:04am

Amazing! I love the art and the music and sound too. Excellent work. Congratulations :D

Ithildin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Lovely game, very polished and huge in content for just 3 days. Great job! <3

praporomsk says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Nice audio and visual style. Seems like the game is little bit unfinished, it has ended on the most interesting moment :(

Anyway, excellent and very beautiful work!

shane1090 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Really well put together game! The music and audio really added to the ambiance of the game. The graphic style used was also very nice!

The puzzles were very cleaver. Only being able to carry one gem at a time was a little frustrating, especially seeing as it was fairly easy to get lost (or at least I did!).

Excellent work!

cudabear says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Wow, this game is amazing! I can't even think of anything to add, because it seems like you thought of everything! The puzzles were intuitive but still took some thinking, the mechanics were cool, the controls were easy to use. The graphics and audio of this game are absolutely amazing, and all the little detail you added really showed your dedication to this entry. Well done!

May 2, 2014 @ 2:26am

Beautiful, zen-like experience. I love the audio and the character design. They look like origami. Well done!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:13pm

So beutiful and cute art style, congrats! Well done!

GrooveMan says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:07am

Excellent audiovisuals and mood! The mash-up of animals that could in no way survive together in a winter landscape gives it this Aesop's Fables feel that I really like.

Switchbreak says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:51pm

The art and the mood are perfect! There are a lot of problems, but none that killed it for me. One of my favorites so far.

dector says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Wonderful puzzle. Good idea, nice atmosphere. Collisions are the only annoying thing.

ioboi says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Wonderful game. I really dig the overall style and animations. The soundtrack and sounds in general are awesome :)

Lacaranian says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Very nice! Z-ordering got messed up in a few places, but the art and music worked wonders.

dertom says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Brilliant! What a game and what a atmosphere! Nice little puzzles! Just wow! Very good job!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Too bad I got not past the wolf and insects, it looks really interesting!
I like shapeshifting!
The graphics are cool, but they could need some proper Anti Alasing. I especially like the fox! The sound effects of the flowers are cool!

All in all a really innovative game, I sadly got stuck with.

ehtd says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Really good game, but for me, the end was disappointing... It totally ruined the feel it was building up.

May 4, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Thanks again everyone. Looking back we weren't happy with the ending at all, we just really ran out of time and needed to do something. We had this feeling that whatever you were doing was not going to be good, but there was literally 20 minutes to go before the deadline and we just had to throw something in there. So yes a bit disappointed on that front.
We'd be really interested if anyone has any thoughts on where they thought the game was going, or what they would have liked to see.

May 5, 2014 @ 3:27pm

This is the most impressive entry I've seen in this jam.

conormn says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:02am

I love the world you guys created. Very fun puzzles. Would love to see this refined and polished.

Frump says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:24am

Awesome but not without some flaws. Having the level cut off by a river and not being able to carry more than one crystal was very inconvenient and less fun. Some rooms not having crystals was confusing, I thought I was missing something on those ones and resorted to the walkthrough only to find that there were no crystals there.

I loved the puzzles/art/music though.

Thorig says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:12pm

That was really nice

ActionRemix says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:29am

Whose game can top this game's art?

fued says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 3:51am

crazy how similar this is to our game we made for GGJ earlier this year

did you see it before? or just co-incidental game art style and game play? maybe the idea isn't as original as we thought haha

http://blunt-instrument.com/wotf/

fued says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 3:59am

cant edit post, but wanted to add its a really nice game, took things slightly differently to ours :)

May 9, 2014 @ 8:17am

@Fued
Wow they do have similar settings and styles. Bit worried people will think we cloned it or something, but we promise we hadn't seen or heard about your game before; it's just a coincidence. I guess when you use a forest setting then you will always arrive at the same collection of animals, the main coincidence is the use of origami and triangles in the visual style.
We've been working hard on a post-compo version thinking we were original too, but I think they are different enough to coexist. We'll really be focusing on the puzzles and mind-control thing. Plus we will be moving the look even more towards a winter setting with some mystical elements

May 9, 2014 @ 8:27am

@fued
Hi, this is James. I did the art work for the game. Neither of us had seen your game before so any similarities are a total coincidence. The style really came about through a combined love of various artists work, origami and woodland creatures. Your game looks amazing and if we had to look like any game, I'm glad it's yours. I guess with so many jam entries some are bound to look similar.

May 9, 2014 @ 8:39am

...also if you want to talk about it more then feel free to message us on Twitter

Striwx says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Very cool game, good graphics, mood and gameplay. Some collisions were a little buggy and i think clues were too obvious (Experimenting the world around you is very cool)

SaintHeiser says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Good job. Slightly strange game. Game design not obviously because player see strange hidden creatures with owl. Also game mechanic description had given after showing creatures. I mean you see the birds and don't know what you should to do with them. But in the next room you see how they works. The place with dolphin and crystall isn't obiusly what to do with crystall. How push it from water.
lightfly also strange introduced. I find it first time in the room with wolf... And these flowers opened when I fly above them. So player will be confused. Flowers opens, mushrooms light and player don't know hy he nneeds it.
Graphc style is pretty godd but implementation isn't perfect. I have big display and game scretching with pixels. Looks very horrible.
I believe, you'll imprive this game if you'll want =)

csanyk says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:42am

Since I love Swords & Sworcery, I really liked this game. Everything about it is fantastic.

alvivar says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Beautiful, enjoyable ambient & mood. The graphics, the audio. Nice.

I recommend to check the collisions, some of them felt weird, i did get stuck several times on certain places.

May 10, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Really nice concept, amazing graphics! I included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/LetpuBbjABA

Crowbeak says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 11:53am

Creepy hidden things are creepy!

bvssvni says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Excellent!

joe40001 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:11am

This game might have the best mood of any game I played, but the ending did feel like "oh crap we are almost out of time quickly put an abbreviated version of the ending in" I think you had something a bit more in mind for the ending but ran out of time, but that's just a guess. Again though this game had good puzzles, good graphics/sound, and amazing mood. So good work.

Suggestions for improvement: Make backtracking less annoying, improve the story. But otherwise great job! :)

Anoarith says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Awesome entry, I loved the atmosphere and the gameplay. I just find it's too bad that owls give too obvious hints. But a great entry anyway, congratulations :) !

May 16, 2014 @ 4:03pm

You've been highlighted in todays episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H2Xy7wSxizs

gre says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Very cool graphics. Great game mecanism.

loxo says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 7:02pm

This game is amazing, it looks and feels very polished. I like the the beautiful graphics and the unique concept very much. All the little details you put into your game are great and it's much fun to discover them.

Jeremias says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Beautiful entry! However, the collision system seems to be a bit broken (movement doesn't feel good, sometimes. Furthermore, you walk faster while colliding). Had fun to play through all the puzzles!

rincewind_cz says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 9:48pm

I really love this style of graphics! Great audio which fits the mood just perfectly, great puzzles (I didn't need any help with them and I think that difficulty is just right - wish I could say same thing about my game...), neither original nor innovative story but fits the theme. Controls seems and feels bit clunky, but that's only a minor spot. Great, wonderful entry again. I'm impressed! :-)

May 18, 2014 @ 3:51pm

great game: amazing sound, graphics and puzzles!

Brodenino says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 6:29pm

I was very happy to see all the small little neat details that added a lot to the atmosphere in the game. The puzzles were a little tricky but neat, and the guidance system with the owl was clever (and even spooky). I really like the calm music and the sound responses. Graphics are beautiful and it's unfortunate that they weren't in a scalable vector format. It would perhaps have turned out even more beautiful :)

goerp says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Wow, those graphics, the sound, the mood really inviting to play!
Good game and creates a great sense of wonder.
For me it's almost perfect. As a puzzle game I found some things a bit repetitive and too much of a hassle, too many Gems. Or maybe I should play this game at another time.

May 19, 2014 @ 11:23am

Great art style, liked the design of the animals and finding out each ones ability.

travislucia says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Beautiful

May 19, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Great game. I finished it and only had to cheat to find out about the birds (I thought they were crystals). I enjoyed the mood, sfx, and puzzles. Some good stuff in here. Great job. With polish on controls and collision you'd have a neat game here, and if extended, would be worthy of iPad, imo.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]