Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath Me

by Fasox - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Game made with Unity.
Everyone had a time where others tell awful words.
Everyone have a monster inside, that keep telling us "Stop those people, STOP THEM".
But there are other kind of people too.
We cant just keep them all out.
We just have to filter the right words...

PD: There are 3 different finals.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#639Mood2.90
#648Innovation2.93
#700Theme3.10
#778Audio2.31
#1001Humor1.75
#1079Overall2.59
#1153Fun2.17
#1215Graphics1.88

Comments

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:48am

Really cool, relatable interpretation of the theme presented with gameplay that suits the concept well.

amymist says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:24am

I feel like I would have liked this better if I could control it with my mouse. Maybe it's just my computer, but little variations in how laggy the game was could end with me missing like three of the the things.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:54am

Our games actually have very similar concepts, although executed in a very different way.
It's nice to see that kind of thing.
Well done.

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:21am

The title looks like porn. But the gameplay is awesome!

Gins says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Creative idea. It's sometimes quite hard if not impossible to catch all the words though :(

May 1, 2014 @ 3:55am

The filter was a little hard to control. Its an interesting take on the theme, but im not sure how much game there is here.

kmakai says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:00am

This was a really interesting concept, and I think it's executed pretty well. Mechanically it's nice to see a different take on the "block incoming things" genre, with varying strengths you need to prioritize and some reflex/recognition in there too. I think the one thing that I might have done differently (not to say it was bad or wrong, just not exactly to my taste,) was the failure result. I feel like the outcome took away some of the weight for me, and felt a little melodramatic though. That's really my only criticism though. Great job!

Fasox says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:51am

Thanks all of you for the critics.
i didn't thought about the mouse control, maybe fit well, simply it didnt come up in my mind when i was designing the game.
And for the "lose screen", i agree with you, is melodramatic, I am a little melodramatic :P. The atmosphere could be other and leave a message about it instead of "kill them all" .

01F0 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Great idea, poetic and emotional! Not many games has that. It was very well executed.

Snoother says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Beautiful premise. And the gameplay mechanic does a really good job at depicting the overwhelmingness of verbal abuse. Also kind of frightening knowing what the character will do if you don't succeed -- an admittedly melodramatic point showing that hate breeds hate. Well done.

May 4, 2014 @ 8:02am

Amazing. It caught the theme very well. Love how you make this into an interesting game. Good job! :)

VictoryGarden says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:55am

You know, I was actually pretty unimpressed with the game until the last level, which spoke to me. I think it seemed a bit... cheap, in the bad ending, though. The mood seemed to contradict itself between very simple gameplay, a very simple message, and this kill 'em all statement that kind of alienated me from the protagonist (who I'd been identifying with just a moment before).

On the other hand, this contrast between melodrama and understatement may have been the point... I'm not sure. In any case, I really felt that such a violent reaction should have been... beneath him (hoho).

joe40001 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:26am

Very innovative, but I have to say, Fasox, if this is how people around you talk to you, you need to start hanging around nicer people. :P

SimianLogic says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Controls are too sensitive. Wasn't clear if I had to have the negative words pass through the whole barrier thing or if I could just "slice" them.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]