Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Manliest Man : Manly Fishing

by omgnoseat - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Score points by doing flips and hitting fish as the manliest man fishing in his local river. Flips will also grant you with a boos powerup indicated in the top-left corner.

golden tip: For maximum speed, make sure you enter the water head first whilst using the dive trick.

A / Spacebar - Jump / Boost in Water
B / K- Leg hold flip in air
X / H - flex flip in air
Y / J - Dive in air

Left joystick / W + A
- ground, walk
- air, rotate during trick
- water, swim direction

Be sure to check out my upcoming game super smashball:
http://forums.tigsource.com/index.php?topic=38382.0

Note to reviewers:
I'm not sure if it would count as a bugfix, but I added keyboard buttons for walking after the deadline, for some reason those didn't work so I just added 2 hardcoded if statements.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#103Humor3.48
#328Graphics3.53
#375Innovation3.33
#482Fun3.10
#497Theme3.33
#687Mood2.86
#709Overall3.03
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

sharpcoder says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:11am

It looked fun. I Wish I could play it, but unfortunately my computer only has a keyboard :D

JoeProgram says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:09pm

You've got a great title, an awesome aesthetic, and a clear goal. The controls just need to be polished up so they work 100% of the time - it was easy to get stuck dead in the water. Nice work!

omgnoseat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:35pm

@sharpcoder
I put in alternative values in unity's inputmanager, but for some reason they're not working. I'm not sure if that type of bugfixing is allowed, otherwise I will put in a postcompo build.

@JoeProgram
Yeah getting stuck in the water is a real issue, I didn't have time to fix it sadly.

greysphere says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:41am

Funny premise. I liked the variety of fish. I totally want to wrangle and electric eel and get electrically charged for a few seconds and zap all the fish nearby.

Milktoast says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:42am

Cannonball!!!

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:43am

Nice work! It's a fun concept that's a little awkward using keyboard controls. Some sound really would've helped, and wish there were reasons to do tricks after your dive is over, besides being beautiful.

greysphere says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:46am

This is really cute. The controls were definitely much easier with the gamepad.

chipcaramel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:11am

Simple, pretty, over all kinda fun for a small concept. I feel manlier already.

lonewookie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:26am

Love the graphics. The fish are beautiful too.

danbo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:27am

The water effect is really nice. Almost sort of like ridiculous fishing

omgnoseat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:52am

Thanks for the kind words everyone. I actually wanted to make a move where you could hold on to the fish and strangle them haha. You would be able to ride the dolphin that way. Maybe I'll finish the game later.

Stuffie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Haha great premise, really liked the wibbly water! Nothing better than some fish wrestling to make you feel manly :D

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Can't play this, Unity webplayer is not available for Linux OS. Feel free to send me a tweet @tinyworlds if you export a Linux executable and I'll play your game.

TobiasW says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Great variety in the fish art - and while I kind of like the tricks, they didn't feel to pay of enough. Maybe a bit more score feedback would've been nice there, and audio! The swimming feels super nice until you crash into something though, and jumps felt very satisfying to pull off. Good job all around!

Vandash says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Love the concept! Interesting choice of keys for the controls :P

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:03am

It's a pretty neat game, though if you lack a controller it's sort of awkward to hit the controls.

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Nice game, great art style.

Dooleus says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:43pm

If you make it so the bottom doesn't stop your horizontal motion it would control much smoother - that or just lower the bottom way down and make it kill you if you touch it - also have the ocean get darker as it gets deeper. I like the game mechanics and the art. I hated not having a restart button and just sitting at the bottom. I would also recommend making the player do a generic auto-dive if no special dive move is selected.

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Really funny and plays well. Could have used more fish coming from the left side to make it easier to boost between them and jump out of the water for some more manly tricks.

Moosefly says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 7:49pm

1480 points was my record after three tries. Although somewhat hard to control, the gameplay was pretty interesting. Some of the fish seemed to appear out of thin air though, and I sometimes hit them even before I could see them :P. Loved how the surface turned into a sine-wave after the game was over.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]