Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Aqua

by littleball - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's time to dive down and do some treasure seeking. Guide your octopus friend in search of keys that will unlock gates. Can you reach the treasure?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#128Audio3.56
#257Mood3.39
#288Graphics3.61
#340Overall3.41
#483Humor2.53
#531Fun3.05
#723Theme3.07
#1142Innovation2.18

Comments

SleepyRhino says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Love the pixel octopus looks great.

Had a few issues with the collision and fell through things all the way till the end.

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:14pm

That was cool, and strange. Was I supposed to be able to double jump by using both the up arrow and W key? I ended up jumping out into this huge open area, then I found some weird blocks without black edges, then I found the treasure. I won! Yuss

Zutty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:16pm

I found it, yay! Beautiful music. The jumping gets somewhat repetitive, and it would have been nice to some indication of which gate just opened, but otherwise fun.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Like the octopus look but had an issue with collision where I fell through the ground at the start. Nice aesthetics though, good job.

littleball says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Thanks for the comments. I would have liked to add a bit more variety but time was against me. I might do a post comp version with mobs to avoid.

trueyomic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:02pm

If anyone has issues running it in Firefox, it worked perfectly in Chrome. I loved the graphics; very cutesy. I agree that it needs some variety, but it was fun nonetheless.

littleball says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:14pm

The falling platform bug should now have been fixed.

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Nice, calm mood :) Good looking game, I liked the relaxed feel it had.

jayemjee says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:19pm

It's a little confusing, what with the key opening doors automatically vs one having to take the key to the door. Also, towards the end, there were spots where I fell through some of the level (in spots I didn't think I was supposed to be able to). The graphics are good, however, and it plays really well.

AdamCClifton says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:22pm

I quite liked it. I got stuck at a point where you have to jump backwards and forwards between 1 block holes in the wall. The collision was a bit weird wit that.

Maybe making the hitbox smaller than a block and maybe some small physics changes to improve the feel of it would make it even better.

DarkEngineer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Nice game, but it just buged when i changed card in browser. Nice chilling music.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Sweet game! Good work :)

Gap says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:12pm

A basic platformer, not more, not less :) Nice experience!

vilya says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Good attention to detail here. It felt like a platformer should, long press for a higher jump & things like that. Love the piano as well. Good work!

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Love the game and the octopus. Sound is amazing makes me happy.

mikedirl says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Nice game, i liked your style of graphics. The collision issues didn't really bother me, I could just get to the treasure quicker :-). Well done.

grayhaze says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:15pm

A fun little platformer with some nice soothing music and parallax effects. Managed to get to the end without too much difficulty. If you managed to make this and compose the music in 48 hours, I'm impressed!

whalebot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:18pm

I wish the piano track looped, that was a sweet song. It looks like there are multiple treasures you can find. And keys in the walls o_o Overall, nice job, for someone who stresses out about precise platforming, this was a relaxing change of pace.

pfeyffer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Amazing game. The controls feel just right for an under water scenario. Some directional hints would have been nice. Lovely graphics. Fun to play. Perfect.

Delca says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Excellent game! Loved the audio, the graphics, and the control were pretty good too.

Trilby says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Nice music and graphics.

The gameplay gets a bit tedious. :)

vinull says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Loved it - really fun game that shows you don't always need a fail condition. The piano music is perfect as is the pixel art. Was also a lot bigger than I expected! Was there a way to get the keys in the rocks? "I found it" without them but I still wonder...

shadow64 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:46am

I really enjoyed the music, but the unlocking sound was pretty harsh on my ears. I think the gameplay is nice, but at one point I definitely had to use the up/w double jump trick to get to where I needed to be.

If that's not a glitch, then the web version I played in Chrome is having issues with double jump - I couldn't do it with just pressing the up arrow twice.

I think the game is JUST a little long and you can probably ditch the keys stuck in the wall and the extra treasure chest - they're a little confusing/concerning since you don't know how many keys you need for which gate.

Overall, it's well made and fun. Thanks for sharing! And thanks for voting/commenting on mine!

petrih says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Found it!

GFM says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:26am

Graphics were nice and the music was pretty good!
Nice game. :)

KuGrou says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:00am

Really liked the music. Overall the jumping felt pretty good, except jumping into one tile high gaps felt tougher than it should of been.

PapyGaragos says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:22pm

I don't think that this "find the key | reach the door | repeat" gameplay you have here is the best match for the atmosphere you created with the graphics and the music.

May 8, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Pretty visuals, great music. But jump'n'runs still aren't for me, especially the tricky ones... :)

Penguincat says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 9:37pm

This was pretty good! The gameplay was pretty simplistic, but oddly that didn't bother me as much as it usually does. The music was really nice and peaceful, though it didn't quite seem to fit the game, but I think it was the main reason I kept playing. The sound effect when a door is unlocked was very annoying though. All in all it was a very relaxing game to play.

BadPaul34 says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:16am

Very nice game with a good polish and a lovely mood. Excellent level design. Well done!

May 10, 2014 @ 10:26am

very well made game, smooth controls, good graphics that fits the game perfectly and i really love the music

pichifino says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Good job

May 10, 2014 @ 9:23pm

I love the look of this :D
It's a bit buggy at times, though (esp. collision)
Neat game, though! Congrats! :)

namuol says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Nice graphics, really nice background music! Would've loved to see more diversity in the scenery, but you did manage to build a pretty large puzzle to navigate. :)

There wasn't really enough communicated when I found keys; I constantly found myself just shrugging and wandering around until I found a newly opened pathway. It might help to cut a camera to the door opening and then cut back to the player whenever one opens?

By the way, were those "impossible-to-reach" keys reachable?

Muu? says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 9:49am

Great music! I really like the Octupus, too!
On my first playtrough I fell under some platform and basically reached the treasure with no effort.

Alucard J says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Really nice artwork, background music is awesome. Also had collision problems and issue with the door sound. Was fun to play and explore, well done.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]