Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fellow Mole versus Raccoons Thieves

by ramoncb - Jam Entry

Help the mole recover his treasure! Be careful with the thieves! =O

Game made with Blender and running on the Blender Game Engine, also used Gimp and Reaper

Music is not mine, credits:
http://opengameart.org/content/cat-in-space

sorry my bad english
(and the bugs and the animation... was the last thing that I made ^^')

hope you like! =D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#205Graphics(Jam)3.81
#237Overall(Jam)3.41
#329Theme(Jam)3.25
#332Fun(Jam)3.06
#682Innovation(Jam)2.25
#1895Coolness28%

Comments

edibletoaster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:46am

Cool

Sparrow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Looks cool, it crashes when I start so I can't vote. :(

Neonlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Sadly crashes on start up :<

ramoncb says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:19pm

thanks for the feedback

people, can you tell me more about your computers? You are running the game on Windows or Linux? THe game just crash or show some error?

I need to figure out what is up with all this crashes >.<

Empyrealhell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Crashes on when I hit enter, running windows 7 x64. No error, just a dialog from windows saying the program has crashed.

May 1, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Runs fine for me on Linux Mint, except that I got no audio (my audio setup is problematic so it may be my fault). Unfortunately the game played in fullscreen across both screens in my dual screen setup, which made it hard to control.

I couldn't find a way to finish the game, and there's no real danger so it gets a bit tedious after a while.

Sparrow says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Same as Empyrealhell. Running windows 7 x64. Tried using different compatibility modes (winXP, vista) and running as admin as well...
Did a google search about this and ATI cards are a common problem, which I happen to have.
Also running windowed_mode.bat gets me into the title screen but when I press enter it also stops working.

ramoncb says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Ouch, more problems xD

I got now a laptop with the same problem, tried run the game in administrator mode; had installed the Visual C++ redistributable 2008 and 2010 and...none of that solved the problem ^^'

should be no problem with python (you don't need the Python 3.3 to run the game, all you need are in the '2.70' folder, so...)

my last bet is with OpenGL support from the graphics card, but I do have a Radeon 5870, and got no problems here (and that old laptop seems to have all drivers up to date)

I honestly don't know what I messed up this time, sorry guys =(

Sparrow says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:25am

I installed on my brother's laptop and it worked. Also windows 7 x64 with ATI card. I guess it's just my custom blended cocktail driver (cannot reinstall because otherwise other games dont work >.<) that's not supporting blender game engine. So if this game doesn't work, update/reinstall your graphics drivers.

Cool game, got to the end :D. Nice graphics and good music. You should make the camera always work like it does when pressing S for better gameplay, or use mouselook. I would also like to see dynamic jumping (the longer you press the higher you get) like in Mario so some gems are easier to get. The attack animation sometimes gets stuck. Some sound effects would also be nice.

ramoncb says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:19am

thank you Sparrow =)

I also can confirm, is some kind of problem between Blender and the OpenGL support of the card, I have actualized the drivers of the old laptop for the latest and could make the game run... but not very playable:

http://abload.de/img/pictureqlzvs.png

oh boy, a lot to fix in the future ^^'

Dreii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Wow cool that you made a 3d platformer! Like the textures too.

May 3, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Game worked fine for me on Windows 8 x64 laptop w/ nvidia card. Game looks like a nice start, some polish, sound effects and additional content would go a long way. Camera work needs polishing, too.

The attack animation kept glitching out and the only way to reset it was to get hit by an enemy. Good thing I didn't have to actually kill them to beat the game.

Garris says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Cute game. I like the look you were going for, and the mole and raccoon models are pretty good. I feel like this was a little too ambitious though. It feels like it needs more polish and balancing. The controls feel a little muddy, and the camera was a bit annoying. However, it was fairly challenging, and the level layout was interesting.

elliottd says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Impressive art, good look. bad feel. the control acceleration, camera problems (no fault for that), little feedback, and bouncing eating my jump input. Kudos for third person 3D attempt!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:34pm

like the characters!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]